OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium 2Gb DC Kit

Test Setup

Test Setup

Intel Core2Duo E6600 "Conroe"
Asus P5B Deluxe wifi/ app (Configure DRAM timing by SPD turned off)
Graphics Card:
ASUS EN8800 GTS 640Mb
Hard Disks:
2x Western Digital 80gb SATA-II 8mb Cache (RAID0)
Power Supply:
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Operating System:
Windows XP SP2

The first test involved ensuring that the memory could run stable at stock speeds. This may seem a bit of a strange test, but unfortunately some modules we've tested here at OC3D in the past have fallen over at this first hurdle. I'm pleased to say that the OCZ Titanium passed the stock testing with flying colours, managing to run at 5-4-4-15 / DDR2-800 with 2.1v on our Asus P5B Deluxe test bed.

I would have liked to have run these modules at (1T) but unfortunately the P5B Deluxe's bios doesn't allow setting the Command Rate to either 1 or 2T. Potential customers looking at purchasing this RAM could do well to invest in a motherboard like the ASUS P5N-E as a minimum. I have included 4-4-4-15 (2T) benchmarks in this review, but bear in mind that at 4-4-4-15 (1T), the performance would typically be better by around 3-5% in most cases.

Although I must say, when I first inserted the modules into slot 1 and 2 (yellow on a P5B) my computer wouldn't boot. I then tried them in slots 3 and 4 they fired up straight away. After approximately 30 mins of testing I returned the modules to slot 1 and 2 and they worked flawlessly.

4-4-4-15 (2T) Timings @ Stock Speed (400Mhz / 2.1v)

4-4-4-15 (2T) stock speed memory 4-4-4-15 (2T)

5-4-4-15 (2T) Timings @ Stock Speed (400Mhz / 2.1v)

CPU 5-4-4-15 (2T) Memory 5-4-4-15 (2T)

5-5-5-15 Timings @ Highest Frequency (555Mhz / 2.3v)

CPU highest frequency Memory highest frequency

Without sacrificing the memory latency I set out to find out the maximum frequency that these modules were capable of. I was able to push the modules up to 550Mhz (DDR2-1100) at 2.3v. A great result for memory rated at 800Mhz out of the box. At 3330.2Mhz the modules hit a wall due to reaching their maximum warranted voltage. I felt the modules still had some life in them, but any further than 2.3v would have voided the warranty.

Lowest Latency @ Stock Frequency: 4-3-3-12 / 400mhz / 2.25v

Lowest latency cpu Memory lowest latency

It is well known that gamers prefer to run their memory at low latencies (rather than high frequencies) as this is an easily tweakable setting and provides decent benefits in most games. After a little tweaking the modules managed impressive timings of 4-3-3-12 - not a bad result for modules designed to run at a little more relaxed timings of 5-4-4-15 on a non-EPP based motherboard.

For the benchmark phase of our review, the OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium DC 2Gb kit was subjected to popular benchmarks at OC3D in order to illustrate outright performance. All benchmarks were run three times and an average taken to guarantee uniformity of the results. Now let's head over to the next page to see how the modules performed in the benchmarks.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-03-2007, 07:36:18

Nice review, and some nice sticks too! Thanks for the review.Quote

12-03-2007, 07:42:29

Nice review Peevs Quote

12-03-2007, 07:44:23

Mr. Smith
PV, a quality review of some awesome sticks!

I totally regret splurging exessive ammounts of cash on dominators when for about half the price I could get the same performance with these, well done OCZQuote

12-03-2007, 07:52:54

Thanks guys for the feedback. They really are great little performers Quote

12-03-2007, 08:19:25

Yep, great review PV and great budget sticks OCZ. Pats on the back all round Quote

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.