MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview

Test Setup

In a slight change to our regular graphing, today we'll be sorting our graphs by the 4K result. These two cards are very much the flagship nVidia products, and so seeing how they perform at 1080P, when lots of cards already have plentiful performance there, would be pointless. Nobody is spending the thick end of a grand of a GPU to run it on a 15" monitor, and if you are, you have more problems than the way we sort our graphs.

MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 2080
MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 2080Ti

Intel i7 6850K
ASUS X99 Strix
Corsair ROG Dominator Platinum 3200
Corsair RM1000i
Corsair LX 512GB OS
Corsair LS 480GB x2 Raid0 Games
Corsair H100i V2
Windows 10

MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Review  

Overclocking

RTX 2080

With all that power and tremendous cooling on hand the MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 2080 really overclocks well, and without either deafening us or turning the room into a makeshift sauna. It isn't only the peak clock speed that is impressive either, as we'll see on the next page.

MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Review  

RTX 2080Ti

With more hardware under the hood we didn't expect the 2080Ti to clock as well as its sibling and it doesn't. It does, however, reward a bit of time and effort taken with much bigger clock speeds than we saw from the Founders Edition cards, and at a much lower temperature and quieter volume. Given how incredibly tight for time we were reviewing these cards we're sure that this is a great platform upon which to build, particularly if you have more time than us to fine tune it still further.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-09-2018, 20:35:45

Excalabur50
Awesome review Guv can't wait to see the video tomorrow and well done MSI on a great and quiet performerQuote

19-09-2018, 22:23:39

NeverBackDown
Damn she a thicc one! Looks like 3 maybe 3.5 slots
Definitely ain't no ITX coolerQuote

20-09-2018, 02:23:26

Peace
So this comes from a newbie that likes to watch graphs, but doesn't really know much about the technical aspects behind them: Both tested 2080s have higher average clockspeeds than their Ti counterparts, so this makes me wonder if the 2080s have better potential of higher OCs being squeezed out of them and maybe they could end up with better performance than the Tis at a lower cost.Quote

20-09-2018, 03:29:39

Korreborg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace Ð View Post
So this comes from a newbie that likes to watch graphs, but doesn't really know much about the technical aspects behind them: Both tested 2080s have higher average clockspeeds than their Ti counterparts, so this makes me wonder if the 2080s have better potential of higher OCs being squeezed out of them and maybe they could end up with better performance than the Tis at a lower cost.
Nope

2080 has 2944 cores
The TI has 4352 cores.
So its a lot more cores, running at that speed.Quote

20-09-2018, 05:01:08

grand314
When doing 1440p test are you using 2560x1440 or 3440x1440?
And what is cpu clock?
Awesome review, keep them commingQuote
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.