MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Review

Up Close MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 2080

MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview

MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080

Sometimes if you're not buying the absolute top model you are made to feel small and insignificant by the packaging. As if the designers want to remind you that you've compromised. Not so with the RTX 2080 Trio. You'd struggle to tell it apart from the 2080Ti. We could almost turn this into a spot the difference competition. If we assume that the letters Ti aren't counted we can only spot one.

MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

Just like the Ti the regular 2080 sports three TORX 3.0 fans on a monochrome shroud with carbon accents and four RGB lighting areas all able to be controlled by the MSI Mystic Light. Particularly eagle-eyed readers might just about be able to spot the top of the wave fan design peeking through the gaps in the 14 fan blades. Three fans and a much more substantial cooler should hopefully free up even more performance than we saw from the reference nVidia cards, without making us deaf in the process.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  
MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

At the business end of the card we have three DisplayPort 1.4 ports, an HDMI 2.0b and a USB Type C connector, should you own a VR headset in need of somewhere to plug in. The jury might be out on whether VR will ever really become the default gaming standard, but there is no doubt that the best headsets combine with the games that are perfectly designed to bring an experience like no other. Be glad we can stop playing Elite and PCars long enough to review things for you.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

Backplates have been a fairly new addition to the GPU world and are usually black, so it's very nice to see this brushed aluminium finish on the MSI Gaming X Trio cardss.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  
MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

As we said on the previous page, the power of the 2080Ti has been beefed up, but the regular RTX 2080 is still capable of pulling 375W from the PSU, so it shouldn't be left breathless.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

Curiously the move across to a gold dragon, and indeed gold True Gaming moniker, is one which blends in very well with the card. It's subtle enough to not dominate things, but classy enough to remind the peasants that your GPU costs more than most peoples first car.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-09-2018, 20:35:45

Excalabur50
Awesome review Guv can't wait to see the video tomorrow and well done MSI on a great and quiet performerQuote

19-09-2018, 22:23:39

NeverBackDown
Damn she a thicc one! Looks like 3 maybe 3.5 slots
Definitely ain't no ITX coolerQuote

20-09-2018, 02:23:26

Peace
So this comes from a newbie that likes to watch graphs, but doesn't really know much about the technical aspects behind them: Both tested 2080s have higher average clockspeeds than their Ti counterparts, so this makes me wonder if the 2080s have better potential of higher OCs being squeezed out of them and maybe they could end up with better performance than the Tis at a lower cost.Quote

20-09-2018, 03:29:39

Korreborg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace Ð View Post
So this comes from a newbie that likes to watch graphs, but doesn't really know much about the technical aspects behind them: Both tested 2080s have higher average clockspeeds than their Ti counterparts, so this makes me wonder if the 2080s have better potential of higher OCs being squeezed out of them and maybe they could end up with better performance than the Tis at a lower cost.
Nope

2080 has 2944 cores
The TI has 4352 cores.
So its a lot more cores, running at that speed.Quote

20-09-2018, 05:01:08

grand314
When doing 1440p test are you using 2560x1440 or 3440x1440?
And what is cpu clock?
Awesome review, keep them commingQuote
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.