MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080 Ti Preview

MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080

MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview

MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080

Sometimes if you're not buying the absolute top model you are made to feel small and insignificant by the packaging. As if the designers want to remind you that you've compromised. Not so with the RTX 2080 Trio. You'd struggle to tell it apart from the 2080Ti. We could almost turn this into a spot the difference competition. If we assume that the letters Ti aren't counted we can only spot one.

MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

Just like the Ti the regular 2080 sports three TORX 3.0 fans on a monochrome shroud with carbon accents and four RGB lighting areas all able to be controlled by the MSI Mystic Light. Particularly eagle-eyed readers might just about be able to spot the top of the wave fan design peeking through the gaps in the 14 fan blades.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  
MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

At the business end of the card we have three DisplayPort 1.4 ports, an HDMI 2.0b and a USB Type C connector, should you own a VR headset in need of somewhere to plug in. The jury might be out on whether VR will ever really become the default gaming standard, but there is no doubt that the best headsets combine with the games that are perfectly designed to bring an experience like no other. Be glad we can stop playing Elite and PCars long enough to review things for you.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

Backplates have been a fairly new addition to the GPU world and are usually black, so it's very nice to see this brushed aluminium finish on the MSI Gaming X Trio cardss.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  
MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

As we said on the previous page, the power of the 2080Ti has been beefed up, but the regular RTX 2080 is still capable of pulling 375W from the PSU, so it shouldn't be left breathless.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

Curiously the move across to a gold dragon, and indeed gold True Gaming moniker, is one which blends in very well with the card. It's subtle enough to not dominate things, but classy enough to remind the peasants that your GPU costs more than most peoples first car.


MSI RTX Gaming X Trio 2080 and 2080Ti Preview  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-09-2018, 16:19:00

Eddie long
That looks one beast of a cooling solution , interesting choice to have one smaller fan on one end , i guess so the NV link fits flush to the card rather than sitting proudQuote

17-09-2018, 17:31:37

tolagarf
Somehow I like the cooler design, but then again the asymmetric design is making my head spin when I see it, LOL.Quote

18-09-2018, 01:40:43

Excalabur50
As much as I love MSI stuff I still wish they'ed effing stop putting red on their cards it's totally unnecessary sure you could argue it's only small but still it shouldn't be there or the gold dragon for that matterQuote

18-09-2018, 01:47:06

AlienALX
Been up since 5 with a sore throat, but getting in some headphone/music time before the deliveries start (big day today). Will watch this at 8am when I am back on the speakers

I must say though I like this card the best. Mostly because I have a good idea of how hot RTX will be when RTing so the bigger the better.Quote

18-09-2018, 03:47:28

Warchild
beautiful cooler. Slightly spoiled by the red and the gold dragon on the side, which is pretty much what would be visible when in a case Gonna have to mod that part away.Quote
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.