Modding will be heavily limited on the PS4 version of Skyrim Special Edition

Modding will be heavily limited on the PS4 version of Skyrim Special Edition

Skyrim Special Edition PC system requirements

Modding will be heavily limited on the PS4 version of Skyrim Special Edition

 

Modding will be heavily limited on the PS4 version of Skyrim Special Edition, lacking support for new/custom assets and only supporting up to 1GB of mods.  The Xbox One version of the game will be able to support up to 5GB of mods and also support the addition of custom assets, making the Xbox One version of Skyrim Special Edition the most modder friendly console version. 
 
The Xbox One version of the game will be able to support up to 5GB of mods and also support the addition of custom assets, making the Xbox One version of Skyrim Special Edition the most modder friendly console version. 
 
 
Note on Mods: For Skyrim Special Edition, Mods will reserve 5 GB and 1 GB of space on Xbox One and PlayStation 4, respectively
 
Like Fallout 4 the mod support for Skyrim Special Edition is not as complete as the PC version, lacking the in-depth graphical overhauls and support for any mod that uses the Skyrim Script Extender tool. 
 
In theory, all old Skyrim mods will support Skyrim Special Edition, though the mods themselves will need to be converted into 64-bit using the latest version of the Skyrim Creation kit.  
 
Modding on both console version of Skyrim Special Edition will be heavily restricted, though the PS4 version will have by far the least modding potential. Not all existing Skyrim mods will be portable over to the console versions of Skyrim, so PS4 and Xbox One owners should temper their expectations. 
 

 

Skyrim Special Edition will become available to on October 28th at 12am UTC, which translates to the following time globally.  

  • - 5pm Pacific Time (October 27)
  • - 8pm Eastern Time (October 27)
  • - 1am British Summer Time (October 28)
  • - 2am Central European Summer Time (October 28)
  • - 11am Australian Eastern Time Zone (October 28)
  • - 1pm New Zealand Time (October 28th)
  • - 2pm Japan (October 28th)

 

Below are the PC system requirements for Skyrim Special Edition, which will require 8GB of RAM, a quad-core CPU and a minimum of a GTX 470 or an HD 7870. 

 

Minimum
Windows 7/8.1/10 (64-bit Version)
Intel i5-750/AMD Phenom II X4-945.
8GB of ram.
12 GB free HDD space
NVIDIA GTX 470 1GB /AMD HD 7870 2GB

Recommended
Windows 7/8.1/10 (64-bit Version)
Intel i5-2400/AMD FX-8320.
8GB of ram.
12 GB free HDD space
NVIDIA GTX 780 3GB /AMD R9 290 4GB

 

Skyrim Special Edition will release on PC, Xbox One and PS4 on October 28th. 

  

You can join the discussion on Skyrim Special Edition on the OC3D Forums

 

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-10-2016, 08:09:58

Wraith
HA! That is all.. Poor console users will never get to sample the glory of the Improved mesh mod and ultra 4k texture packs.Quote

24-10-2016, 08:45:29

steverebo
To be fair consoles could never handle the mods! Thier tech is behind pc's around when skyrim was first released let alone nowQuote

24-10-2016, 09:34:56

SeekaX
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvGXCisAaR4
Immediately had that song in my head again.Quote

24-10-2016, 12:55:59

NeverBackDown
It's only restricted because Sony said so. It's less to do with the hardware.Quote

27-10-2016, 06:56:20

King of Old School
Hahaha All i have to say to this is #PCMASTERRACEQuote
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.