YoYoTech Intel Spartan 300 Gaming System

CineBench, Peazip & POV-Ray

Cinebench 10
 
Cinebench 10 is a benchmarking tool based on the powerful 3D software Cinema 4D. The suite uses complex renders to guage the performance of the entire PC system in both single-core and multi-core modes. Testing was performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest results being omitted and an average created from the remaining 3 results.
 
YoYoTech - Cinebench
 
 
PeaZip
 
Peazip is an open-source file compression front-end application that makes use of 7-Zip's command line utility for performing the actual compression and de-compression of files. However, Peazip is different from most other archiving utilities in that it is able to accurately record the time taken to perform these tasks, which gives us a reliable method of recording overall system performance. During this test we placed a folder containing a collection of 200 text documents (sizes varying from 1KB to 100MB) on the Spartan's hard disk and performed both compression and decompression.
 
YoYoTech - Peazip
 
 
POV-Ray
 
POV-Ray is short for the Persistence of Vision Raytracer, a tool for producing high-quality computer graphics. The freely available software suite is bundled with a benchmarking scene that uses many of POV-Ray's internal features to heavily test the abilities of the CPU.
 
YoYoTech- POV-Ray
 
 
Result Observations
 
Both the Cinebench and Peazip results were pretty much as expected from a dual-core system with an average performance hard disk. However, the results obtained from POV-Ray took us by surprise, with the Spartan actually managing to beat out a Quad-Core system overclocked to 3.6GHz in a previous review.
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-07-2008, 16:25:31

JN
"How far can YoYoTech make 500 stretch into building a mid-range gaming rig? We find out as we review their latest Spartan 300 Gaming PC."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...183854708s.jpg

YoYoTech Intel Spartan 300 Gaming System

30-07-2008, 17:03:47

Rastalovich
I`ll open by being brutally honest in that I`ve never forgiven YoYoTech for advertizing the IX38-MAX, and it of course not making the shops

However, great review Jim, and I have equally be honest that if some1 came to me with the story we all get "can u build me a pc" - for 500, I`d point them at this. Jim had to technicalities.. but here`s the beauty about it - the person who bought it wouldn`t be on my phone all the time with an issue That my friends is priceless.

Once going and benching is pretty darn decent, and there`s a fair bit of expansion u can add to it in the future - which is the downfall of most pre-made systems.

Good stuff.

http://www.yoyotech.co.uk/demos/Imag...-animation.gif

30-07-2008, 17:04:31

FarFarAway
Cracking VFM, shame about the slight issues. Still, they've stretched 500 a long way

30-07-2008, 20:15:20

BUFF
Several times you mention the mobo as a P45 chipset but it's not, it's a P43.

Rumour has it that P43 has been constrained to ~400fsb (way down on P45) for overclocking which I would love you to test if you still have the system.

30-07-2008, 21:52:31

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BUFF'
Several times you mention the mobo as a P45 chipset but it's not, it's a P43.
Fixed, good catch

31-07-2008, 01:10:02

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BUFF'
Several times you mention the mobo as a P45 chipset but it's not, it's a P43.

Rumour has it that P43 has been constrained to ~400fsb (way down on P45) for overclocking which I would love you to test if you still have the system.
From what I've been told the board that was used in that system is actually a P45 board and MSI have just changed the sticker on it to read P43 so that they can sell it at a lower price.

If you check the pics in the review, have a look at the model number printed on the PCB and punch it into Google.

Maybe MSI have done something to it...but to me it looked like a P45 with a sticker on it.

31-07-2008, 01:40:19

WC Annihilus
Out of curiosity I went to MSI's site and downloaded the manual for those board. By the looks of it, there are three different boards bearing the model number (P45, P43, and G45). From my reading, the P43 is essentially the same chip as the P45, just with a few features disabled (only 1 x16 PCI-E, weaker official memory support). Possibly low-binned P45's. The G45 is just a P45 with an integrated graphics solution. So I suppose you could look at this board as being a lower-binned, feature-capped P45 board

31-07-2008, 03:47:12

Luigi
Thats really strange how they gave you an ES chip :S

Pretty cool if they gave everyone one though

31-07-2008, 11:39:10

BUFF
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
From what I've been told the board that was used in that system is actually a P45 board and MSI have just changed the sticker on it to read P43 so that they can sell it at a lower price.

If you check the pics in the review, have a look at the model number printed on the PCB and punch it into Google.

Maybe MSI have done something to it...but to me it looked like a P45 with a sticker on it.
Oh, I'm sure that P43 & P45 are pin compatible allowing mobo manufacturers to re-use PCBs - afterall that's what many have done with IX38/IX48 mobos, Asus P5N32 uses a Striker PCB etc. etc.

05-08-2008, 08:08:19

cl0ck_ed
This is by far the best budget gaming setup someone possible could get right now. The arctic cooler is great. Very nice choice of components.

35 for them to build it, overclock and RTB warranty!!!! GREAT VFM!!!

1.445v Vcore !! ouch. I thought the 45nm chips were failing at voltage close to that. Seems a bit steep for Yoyotech to get stability?? Intel spec VID up to 1.365v. Very risky imo.

Great review. And hope this pc sells like hot cakes. It is miles infront of other system builders in terms of value!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.