QuietPC Nofan Icepipe A40-Z68 Silent PC Review

Up Close - The Internals

QuietPC NoFan System Review

Up Close

Of course the Nofan CR100A CPU Cooler dominates the internals. We've reviewed this before and absolutely loved it, both for its silence (duh) but also its ability to keep even a quad core CPU within thermal tolerance limits. It's a beast of a thing but not that much larger than any dual tower CPU cooler you care to mention.

QuietPC NoFan System Review     QuietPC NoFan System Review  

Graphics are provided by a Sapphire HD6670 passive GPU. Sure you're not going to smash the latest titles into oblivion with it, but that's hardly the point. What it's perfect for is giving you a lot of connectivity options, media acceleration and enough power to run some sensible games if you so choose.

Below that is the 400W fanless Nofan PSU, ensuring that when you press the power button you'll be entirely unaware anything has happened until Windows appears.

QuietPC NoFan System Review     QuietPC NoFan System Review  

Mechanical drives are way noisier than you expect them to be, and the vibrations they produce bring havoc to your quest for silence. Hence the 120GB Zalman SSD in the hot-swap bays of the Nofan case.

Even in this fairly large case the CR100 cooler definitely catches the eye. As well as those rather gaudy yellow highlights.

QuietPC NoFan System Review     QuietPC NoFan System Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-04-2012, 08:23:19

tinytomlogan


Sick of the noise of your system? We take a look at a totally passive system courtesy of QuietPC

Continue Reading

17-04-2012, 08:45:40

FTLN
Nice review Tom,, You not gonna try any overcloking on it ???

Would be good to see how far the cpu cooler could go....


Actually I think 86c is pushing it a bit already.....

17-04-2012, 08:47:20

Firat
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post

Nice review Tom,, You not gonna try any overcloking on it ???

Would be good to see how far the cpu cooler could go....
If it hits mid 70s @ stock, overclocked it will cook the CPU heatsink

17-04-2012, 08:47:42

mArTyN
Quite a smart looking pc.....................nice review

17-04-2012, 08:48:36

FTLN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firat View Post

If it hits mid 70s @ stock, overclocked it will cook the CPU heatsink
Yep, but would be intresting to watch

17-04-2012, 08:53:32

Firat
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post

Yep, but would be intresting to watch
Definatly!

17-04-2012, 11:36:27

VonBlade
The release of the magic blue smoke isn't the most exciting thing in the world. Plus with the tight financial times and our desire to always get you the freshest content, the ability to not blow up hardware is about the most vital quality of a reviewer.

17-04-2012, 12:04:25

jackjack
wow i5 2500K 86C max temps.. that's close to toast bro but almost zero noise level, except the sound from HDD (non SSD of course), optical drive

i wonder how max temp this rig if it use a non "K" series intel CPU (sandy & Ivy) ?

17-04-2012, 15:24:36

SieB
Damn that case is ugly, I like the concept of a fully passive and silent PC though.

17-04-2012, 15:43:01

chudley
I think jet engines are cool

17-04-2012, 15:50:18

SEBAR
How much better do you suppose this would work on a I7-2600S or the (yet to be released) 3770S which have a lower TDP then The 2600K or 2500K?

17-04-2012, 16:02:27

Computer crazy
As always nice review, I really like that CPU cooler it looks amazing, I don't really of the aesthetics of the case, but looks a good unit for those users wanting a silent system.

18-04-2012, 03:58:29

Brutos
that's a strange looking cooler

18-04-2012, 08:12:55

Azuka09
I build a Silent Rig a while ago. Used a I7 2600S for lower temps, there is a HD6850 out there that is passivly cooled that i used, got a passiv cooled PSU. It had a SSD and a Western Digital Caviar Green (only part in the rig that made noise). Was amazing to not hear the pc. You can get a nice and silent rig if you want and still be able to play your games. There is a GTS450 out too wich is passiv-cooled. Get two of those and you have enough power for gaming too.

18-04-2012, 18:50:23

fraghappy245
just out of interest what is the highest recommended core temp on a 2500k ? i bloody get twitchy if any of my core's go above 68oc on mine

19-04-2012, 21:25:13

dukeReinhardt
Pretty nice. Though cant imagine youd need to take it anywhere, so maybe a more open case would have worked nicer?

20-04-2012, 09:26:42

mihapiha
This computer is very interesting indeed. But I wonder about one thing. Do you guys think that this rig could possibly become a dust magnet without dust filters?

And another question:

2600k + undervoltaging? Might be even cooler. Tom, you did test with stock voltage correct? You didn't try undervoltaging the CPU

21-04-2012, 10:05:25

Neuromancer
With no fans I doubt it will be a "dust magnet" and filters would impede the natural convection of the cooler.

Temps are still high for me, I suppose fanless computing is not really an option even now.

04-05-2012, 08:23:49

Carl A
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Temps are still high for me, I suppose fanless computing is not really an option even now.
No - Fanless 'High End Gaming' is not really an option now but this is a real step in the right direction.

I think that the point of this piece of tech / review is being missed. The review proves that fanless computing is an option and with what is a pretty high performance CPU. As always with stressing, you are never going to see those high temps with normal usage (When I run prime I see temps of 65o+, when running heavy audio computations my temps never go above 50o). This piece of kit (as the reviewer said) is for those who want a silent PC (not gamers I suspect). I use my rig for a lot of music production - 2600k O/C and WC with low rpm fans and it is very quiet but not silent so loved the review and the way that this tech is moving.

Great review Tom !!!

04-05-2012, 10:33:57

Big WigglyStyle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl A View Post

No - Fanless 'High End Gaming' is not really an option now but this is a real step in the right direction.

I think that the point of this piece of tech / review is being missed. The review proves that fanless computing is an option and with what is a pretty high performance CPU. As always with stressing, you are never going to see those high temps with normal usage (When I run prime I see temps of 65o+, when running heavy audio computations my temps never go above 50o). This piece of kit (as the reviewer said) is for those who want a silent PC (not gamers I suspect). I use my rig for a lot of music production - 2600k O/C and WC with low rpm fans and it is very quiet but not silent so loved the review and the way that this tech is moving.

Great review Tom !!!
fanless high end gaming is possible, you could get a massive fanless radiator unpractical but it can be done

04-05-2012, 11:57:13

Carl A
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lys0l View Post

fanless high end gaming is possible, you could get a massive fanless radiator unpractical but it can be done
True, sorry I should have qualified the statement a little bit better but I am thinking that the majority of people would require something on the reasonably small side. You would need a seriously big passive rad to dissipate let's say in the region of 1000w. I would be glad to be proved wrong though

My experience is based on trying to cool an OC 2600k with a D5 and a BIG household rad (1m x 1.5m). It was ok (ish) when the ambient temps were low but once that liquid heated up the temps were not what I would call good. It was superb in the winter tho when it was mounted outside
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.