OCZ DIY Gaming Notebook 15"

CPU & Memory Performance

Sisoft Sandra
 
SiSoftware Sandra (the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a notebook. Each of the benchmarks below were run a total of five times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average being calculated from the remaining three.
 
Sandra CPU Arithmetic
 
Sisoft Sandra CPU Multimedia
 
Sisoft Memory Bandwidth
 
Sisoft Memory Latency
 
 
SuperPI
 
SuperPI is the benchmark of choice for many overclockers as it's lightweight to download and can give a quick indication on how good a system is at number crunching. A test of 8 million itterations was performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest times removed from the results and an average calculated from the remaining three.
 
SuperPI 8m
 
 
Result Observations
 
The OCZ DIY leads the pack in almost every benchmark, mostly thanks to the T9300 CPU giving it a 100MHz and 3MB cache advantage over the T8300 installed in the MSI TurboBook. As we've already mentioned, your mileage will obviously vary depending on what CPU and memory is chosen to power the DIY.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-02-2009, 08:54:54

JN
"Not afraid to get your hands a little dirty and fancy building a notebook to suit your exact needs? The OCZ DIY 15" Gaming Notebook may have the answer."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...071717831s.jpg

OCZ DIY Gaming Notebook 15"

11-02-2009, 09:18:43

AntiHeroUK
Great video Jim. Nice to see you wore some bling for it

The DIY 15" is a very smart looking unit, it's just a shame they didn't add some form of branding to brighten it's appearence up a bit like you said. A backlit logo would look rather snazzy in my opinion.

The one thing that stood out the most for me is the appalling battery life. Although when gaming at LANs you will have access to mains power when you need it, I would still expect 2 hours minimum for reasonably heavy usage this day in age.

It's good to see the addition of an HDMI out, fingerprint reader, bluetooth included in the price and not optional extras.

Whilst OCZ have made a good effort at bringing an affordable DIY notebook to the market, I personally feel it falls short, even if just a little. I hope they listen to criticism and take it on board as they may be on to a winner if they make a few changes here and there.

Good job on the review as a whole.

11-02-2009, 09:54:43

Rastalovich
The idea is nice.

The implementation is fair.

The price is... ok I guess.

I just feel a little short-changed in the amount of things u really can diy with such barebones-notebooks. I know it's not exactly a mobo and a case - and away u go.

Performs pretty well mind, components taken into account, and I'm glad to see some stats there I can compare against the cheap HP I pimped out.

The looks I think are down to the user to mold into their personal tastes. I see people putting stickers/labels over them - to that end a shiny surface is a good 'attacher' but when it comes to taking off the ATI logo, cos u felt embarassed or something, I wouldn't fancy watching jonny scraping at it with an implement.

Don't like the screen size. Very cheap 15" laptops will do x1024 - ok it's squarer, but the key is u've gone over 1080.

Didn't see any emphasis on dvi, although hdmi available, and would be interested in them showing docking options for these so u can be prouder @home with ur build.

Great stuff.

11-02-2009, 12:03:58

Kerotan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Don't like the screen size. Very cheap 15" laptops will do x1024 - ok it's squarer, but the key is u've gone over 1080.
If by this you mean support of 1080p video resolution, that's pointless- a 1280x1024 screen is not going to be displaying 1920x1080 anytime soon.

Far better in my opinion to stick with 1280*800 as they have done so that 720p is within easy reach without the screen having to interpolate the resolution horizontally- resulting in horrible scaling in some cases. It also means the 3650 isn't pushing as many pixels during gaming, which should improve performance.

I have to say that was one of the best reviews I've read in ages, as others have said the addition of the video was great, and I think OCZ are really moving into exciting tech, so respect to them for taking the initial plunge into the market.

11-02-2009, 12:06:56

Rastalovich
I meant 1050 tbh. Apart from HD considerations, I was thinking more of basic web viewing. For just the likes of games I'm not sure whether I'd prefer to go over 800 dots or not.

800 in height for fps might be ok.

11-02-2009, 12:17:29

VonBlade
I still think we need to hire a woman with bright-red nails to do the video

Great review of a, ahem, different product. It's certainly a strange one. The idea is sound, but the battery life is a killer.

11-02-2009, 14:21:49

JN
Cheers for the feedback guys - next time I'll wear red nail varnish just for you VB

11-02-2009, 15:06:20

VonBlade
Lmao. Somehow I don't think that's quite what I meant

I could be wrong

12-02-2009, 15:01:39

FarFarAway
Great review matey

13-02-2009, 07:48:04

Sleekit
Offft i've wanted to build a laptop for ages now, way back when scan.co.uk supplied barebone notebook cases. It would be amazing to build one but isn't it cheaper to buy a pre built one?

Nice video Jim, great choice of music, best song ever IMO :P

One, two, three, four let me hear you scream if you want some more like aaah push it, push it watch me work it, i'm perfect

13-02-2009, 08:06:56

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Sleekit'

One, two, three, four let me hear you scream if you want some more like aaah push it, push it watch me work it, i'm perfect
Oh noes...its the cheesy radio version

16-02-2009, 03:32:08

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Oh noes...its the cheesy radio version
Yeah, that one does my head in.

Was in Ibiza when that tune was first about and it was played everywhere.. A couple of months later when back in the UK, it got released like that..... Mutilated.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.