OCZ DIY Gaming Notebook 15"

Packaging & Contents

Packaging & Contents

True to the press release shots, the OCZ DIY 15" comes in an extremely minimalistic white cardboard box complete with the orange DIY logo depicting a hand brandishing a screwdriver. Nowhere on the box is there any mention of what is contained within, not even a specifications label affixed to one of the edges or a barcode affixed to the bottom of the box. This possibly indicates that we are either looking at an early pre-release sample here, or maybe that the DIY range isn't going to be finding its way onto the shelves of computer stores, possibly being restricted to online purchasing only.

OCZ DIY Box Front OCZ DIY Box Back

Opening the box, we can see that OCZ have wrapped the DIY notebook in a clear plastic bag and placed it in the centre of two large styrofoam blocks. The accessories have also received a similar treatment, with each and every component being placed inside its own sealed bag and securely stored inside the styrofoam padded accessories box.  The mains lead remains separate (probably so that OCZ can easily change the region of the notebook), but has still been given its own protection in the form of a cardboard sleeve.

OCZ DIY Box Open OCZ DIY Box Contents
 
As expected, everything you need to get up and running is included. From left to right, we have the mains lead and adaptor, software drivers and manual (for both x86 and x64), a 2.5" hard disk caddy, several bags of screws, the battery pack and finally the CPU/GPU/NB cooler. For a system marketed as Do-It-Yourself, there's certainly nothing too daunting here.

OCZ DIY Contents  OCZ DIY Manuals

Going in for a closer look at some of the more important accessories, we can see below that OCZ have provided the DIY with a 4400mAh 11.1v 6-Cell battery manufactured by SMP. This is at the lower end of 'acceptable' for a notebook (even my antiquated Sony Vaio has a 4800mAh) and will probably give around two hours of life when used for general tasks. Interestingly, the battery is also used by several other manufacturers and higher output ones (6000mAh+) that fit the laptop can be found online if you look in the right places.

OCZ DIY Battery OCZ DIY Battery

The cooler, although small, looks quite efficient with a combination of copper and aluminium being used in its construction. Heat is transferred from the CPU by means of a heatpipe connected directly to copper fins, and the GPU and NB chips also receive cooling via direct contact with the cooler's aluminium base. A blower fan set centre is used to push hot air out the side of the laptop when things get too toasty.

OCZ DIY Cooler OCZ DIY Cooler

Now let's check out the notebook in its full glory...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-02-2009, 08:54:54

JN
"Not afraid to get your hands a little dirty and fancy building a notebook to suit your exact needs? The OCZ DIY 15" Gaming Notebook may have the answer."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...071717831s.jpg

OCZ DIY Gaming Notebook 15"

11-02-2009, 09:18:43

AntiHeroUK
Great video Jim. Nice to see you wore some bling for it

The DIY 15" is a very smart looking unit, it's just a shame they didn't add some form of branding to brighten it's appearence up a bit like you said. A backlit logo would look rather snazzy in my opinion.

The one thing that stood out the most for me is the appalling battery life. Although when gaming at LANs you will have access to mains power when you need it, I would still expect 2 hours minimum for reasonably heavy usage this day in age.

It's good to see the addition of an HDMI out, fingerprint reader, bluetooth included in the price and not optional extras.

Whilst OCZ have made a good effort at bringing an affordable DIY notebook to the market, I personally feel it falls short, even if just a little. I hope they listen to criticism and take it on board as they may be on to a winner if they make a few changes here and there.

Good job on the review as a whole.

11-02-2009, 09:54:43

Rastalovich
The idea is nice.

The implementation is fair.

The price is... ok I guess.

I just feel a little short-changed in the amount of things u really can diy with such barebones-notebooks. I know it's not exactly a mobo and a case - and away u go.

Performs pretty well mind, components taken into account, and I'm glad to see some stats there I can compare against the cheap HP I pimped out.

The looks I think are down to the user to mold into their personal tastes. I see people putting stickers/labels over them - to that end a shiny surface is a good 'attacher' but when it comes to taking off the ATI logo, cos u felt embarassed or something, I wouldn't fancy watching jonny scraping at it with an implement.

Don't like the screen size. Very cheap 15" laptops will do x1024 - ok it's squarer, but the key is u've gone over 1080.

Didn't see any emphasis on dvi, although hdmi available, and would be interested in them showing docking options for these so u can be prouder @home with ur build.

Great stuff.

11-02-2009, 12:03:58

Kerotan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Don't like the screen size. Very cheap 15" laptops will do x1024 - ok it's squarer, but the key is u've gone over 1080.
If by this you mean support of 1080p video resolution, that's pointless- a 1280x1024 screen is not going to be displaying 1920x1080 anytime soon.

Far better in my opinion to stick with 1280*800 as they have done so that 720p is within easy reach without the screen having to interpolate the resolution horizontally- resulting in horrible scaling in some cases. It also means the 3650 isn't pushing as many pixels during gaming, which should improve performance.

I have to say that was one of the best reviews I've read in ages, as others have said the addition of the video was great, and I think OCZ are really moving into exciting tech, so respect to them for taking the initial plunge into the market.

11-02-2009, 12:06:56

Rastalovich
I meant 1050 tbh. Apart from HD considerations, I was thinking more of basic web viewing. For just the likes of games I'm not sure whether I'd prefer to go over 800 dots or not.

800 in height for fps might be ok.

11-02-2009, 12:17:29

VonBlade
I still think we need to hire a woman with bright-red nails to do the video

Great review of a, ahem, different product. It's certainly a strange one. The idea is sound, but the battery life is a killer.

11-02-2009, 14:21:49

JN
Cheers for the feedback guys - next time I'll wear red nail varnish just for you VB

11-02-2009, 15:06:20

VonBlade
Lmao. Somehow I don't think that's quite what I meant

I could be wrong

12-02-2009, 15:01:39

FarFarAway
Great review matey

13-02-2009, 07:48:04

Sleekit
Offft i've wanted to build a laptop for ages now, way back when scan.co.uk supplied barebone notebook cases. It would be amazing to build one but isn't it cheaper to buy a pre built one?

Nice video Jim, great choice of music, best song ever IMO :P

One, two, three, four let me hear you scream if you want some more like aaah push it, push it watch me work it, i'm perfect

13-02-2009, 08:06:56

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Sleekit'

One, two, three, four let me hear you scream if you want some more like aaah push it, push it watch me work it, i'm perfect
Oh noes...its the cheesy radio version

16-02-2009, 03:32:08

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Oh noes...its the cheesy radio version
Yeah, that one does my head in.

Was in Ibiza when that tune was first about and it was played everywhere.. A couple of months later when back in the UK, it got released like that..... Mutilated.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.