OCUK Ultima Raptor Review

Conclusion

OCUK Ultima    Raptor Review

Conclusion

At the start I was saying how end users are split very much into separate camps, and usually with very separate needs. So where does the OCUK Ultima Raptor fit in?

Well firstly let's speak to the OC3D audience. It's very easy to look at any pre-built system and have a derisory sneer at how you can "build a much better system, far cheaper". Hold on a moment there sparky. Sure at a quick glance it might appear to be slightly expensive. But anyone who likes to laud the, undeniable, pleasure of building your own always speaks through rose-tinted spectacles.

No-one mentions the elements that are so familiar to us. Parts not arriving at the same time so you're left looking longingly at boxes. One element not working properly and having to spend a week fault-finding, another couple of weeks waiting for the RMA, and then building again. Maybe reading that manual one more time will ease the pang of not using it eh. Even if everything goes well you'll still going to spend a few days building it, eradicating those little foibles, and getting the overclock fine-tuned. Not so here. Doesn't look quite such a foolish decision after all does it?

To everyone else the realities of the Ultima Raptor are simple. For not much more than you'd pay for some half-baked "internet ready" PC full of generic hardware, Overclockers UK can provide a PC that is crammed full of the latest hardware.

Corsair PSU and XMS3 memory. ASUS high-end motherboard and graphics card. Brand spanking new AMD six core processor overclocked to 4GHz.

Wherever you look you have premium hardware, from premium brands, backed up by the piece of mind that comes from knowing it doesn't need a weeks testing. Or crossing your fingers that you've got the right part.

Open box. Plug in. Play.

It's so rewarding and hassle free we start to wonder why we built our own in the first place.

For sheer performance and for providing a rig that can genuinely be called a gaming rig but without the normal price-tag, we happily award the OCUK Ultima Raptor our Gamers Choice Award.

OC3D Gamers Choice  

Many thanks to Overclockers UK for providing the Ultima Raptor for todays review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:16:02

tinytomlogan
Youve seen the parts seperately, so how about a looking at a prebuilt system?

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:49:53

I Hunta x
Seems a very tidy prebuilt, and gives very nice results, more or less what im planning for my upgrade in the summer.

Top notch review as allways Mr Tom ,Just a quick note tho bottom of the first page there is a spelling mistake btw it says "4gb or ram"

27-04-2010, 03:53:20

AMDFTW
not bad,the price isent to expensive ither whats OCUK's premium for this?

27-04-2010, 05:51:44

WelshD1K
id be abit ohher abut the psu id expect more psu for the 3 altho i know these corrsair psu's are condiderably the best and can probaly handle it no problem id still expect alittle more punch formy

27-04-2010, 06:00:41

tinytomlogan
650w is more than enough for this system, it will be more economical with this psu instead of a 750w.

If you just want to buy it and use it its perfect.

27-04-2010, 07:01:40

alexhull24
The build quality of their systems never fails to impress me, definitely a pro outfit. If I didn't enjoy putting them together so much I'd choose something like this. They'll even give you phone support for the overclock if it goes wrong (but not if you update the BIOS!).

27-04-2010, 08:49:26

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
650w is more than enough for this system, it will be more economical with this psu instead of a 750w.

If you just want to buy it and use it its perfect.
yep like i said its more than ample / perfect and we both know that but to someone spending that money on a system you'd expect big numbers if you get what i mean? you just expect to see say 1000w !!! or something daft like that

27-04-2010, 09:53:53

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WelshD1K'
yep like i said its more than ample / perfect and we both know that but to someone spending that money on a system you'd expect big numbers if you get what i mean? you just expect to see say 1000w !!! or something daft like that
Not for 1200 you wouldnt, that would eat over 30% of the budget just on a psu. It would be stupid at this pricepoint and also pointless. The funds are better spent elsewhere, as they have been.

27-04-2010, 11:48:35

AMDFTW
ive just speced this rig in Scan and it comes to 1095.80,so OCUK's premium is just over a 100,thats not bad for the build quality pluc the OC

27-04-2010, 13:42:56

cl0ck_ed
Yep, awesome deal imo. Nice to see AMD providing a hex core for that sort of cash, I am really starting to like AMD, there pricing strategy seems much better for the consumer.

The build looks spot on for the budget aswell.

@AMDFTW you forgot windows in your pricing!!

27-04-2010, 13:45:29

AMDFTW
OCUK give you the option of a OS and cooling

if not 1,260ish for that kinda spec and build is a very good deal,especialy good for first time buyers
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.