OCUK Ultima Raptor Review

Gaming

OCUK Ultima    Raptor Review

Gaming

The main benefit of buying a rig such as the OCUK Ultima Raptor is that you just take it out the box, fire it up and you're gaming. So of course we'd be foolish not to do so ourselves.

Dirt 2

A 4GHz Six Core processor and one of the premium graphics cards on the planet just screams out for the playable, graphical showpiece that is Codemasters Dirt 2 in all its DirectX 11 glory.

Even with all our settings on a metaphorical 11, the Ultima Raptor has no issues at all with proving just under 75 frames per second average.


Need For Speed Shift

Electronic Arts reboot of the Need For Speed franchise is well loved around the OC3D offices. It perfectly balances on the knife edge that is between arcade and simulation, managing to keep both camps satisfied.

With the tracks and cars being sumptuous to look at, detail and those small touches everywhere you look, and the settings all the way up to the stops we still see just under 80 FPS average. 


Crysis Warhead

Good old Crysis Warhead. Still making systems hide in a darkened room at the mere mention of it. Despite it unsurprisingly being a performance hog it actually highlights a good point that has so far not really stood out in our testing.

With an ATI card all the PhysX has to be handled by the CPU, thanks nVidia, and the extra cores of the Phenom II X6 1090T really shine giving an immense boost to the minimum frame-rate. 34 FPS is the kind of figure that not too long ago we'd have been happy with as an average. It's WAY above any other minimum rate we've seen.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:16:02

tinytomlogan
Youve seen the parts seperately, so how about a looking at a prebuilt system?

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:49:53

I Hunta x
Seems a very tidy prebuilt, and gives very nice results, more or less what im planning for my upgrade in the summer.

Top notch review as allways Mr Tom ,Just a quick note tho bottom of the first page there is a spelling mistake btw it says "4gb or ram"

27-04-2010, 03:53:20

AMDFTW
not bad,the price isent to expensive ither whats OCUK's premium for this?

27-04-2010, 05:51:44

WelshD1K
id be abit ohher abut the psu id expect more psu for the 3 altho i know these corrsair psu's are condiderably the best and can probaly handle it no problem id still expect alittle more punch formy

27-04-2010, 06:00:41

tinytomlogan
650w is more than enough for this system, it will be more economical with this psu instead of a 750w.

If you just want to buy it and use it its perfect.

27-04-2010, 07:01:40

alexhull24
The build quality of their systems never fails to impress me, definitely a pro outfit. If I didn't enjoy putting them together so much I'd choose something like this. They'll even give you phone support for the overclock if it goes wrong (but not if you update the BIOS!).

27-04-2010, 08:49:26

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
650w is more than enough for this system, it will be more economical with this psu instead of a 750w.

If you just want to buy it and use it its perfect.
yep like i said its more than ample / perfect and we both know that but to someone spending that money on a system you'd expect big numbers if you get what i mean? you just expect to see say 1000w !!! or something daft like that

27-04-2010, 09:53:53

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WelshD1K'
yep like i said its more than ample / perfect and we both know that but to someone spending that money on a system you'd expect big numbers if you get what i mean? you just expect to see say 1000w !!! or something daft like that
Not for 1200 you wouldnt, that would eat over 30% of the budget just on a psu. It would be stupid at this pricepoint and also pointless. The funds are better spent elsewhere, as they have been.

27-04-2010, 11:48:35

AMDFTW
ive just speced this rig in Scan and it comes to 1095.80,so OCUK's premium is just over a 100,thats not bad for the build quality pluc the OC

27-04-2010, 13:42:56

cl0ck_ed
Yep, awesome deal imo. Nice to see AMD providing a hex core for that sort of cash, I am really starting to like AMD, there pricing strategy seems much better for the consumer.

The build looks spot on for the budget aswell.

@AMDFTW you forgot windows in your pricing!!

27-04-2010, 13:45:29

AMDFTW
OCUK give you the option of a OS and cooling

if not 1,260ish for that kinda spec and build is a very good deal,especialy good for first time buyers
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.