OCUK Ultima Raptor Review

SiSoft Sandra

OCUK Ultima  Raptor Review

Testing

So with the system fired up and running we installed the standard set of OC3D benchmarks and got to work seeing how well she ran.

Because this is a system that has been pre-overclocked to 4GHz by the Overclockers UK team, our graphs are a little sparser than normal. However after the behemoths that have been the other ones you've seen today I'm sure you'll be pleased.

We'll start with SiSoft Sandra, which tests the calculation abilities of the Ultima Raptor and its included AMD Phenom II X6 1090T. Don't forget that this is a ready to run 4GHz six core system.

The Whetstone and Dhrystone tests give us the capabilities of the system in GigaFLOPS (FLoating point Operations Per Second) and GigaIPS (Instructions Per Second) respectively.

Our Cryptography tests showed a good amount of available bandwidth across the board with only the AES dipping below a GB/s. 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:16:02

tinytomlogan
Youve seen the parts seperately, so how about a looking at a prebuilt system?

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:49:53

I Hunta x
Seems a very tidy prebuilt, and gives very nice results, more or less what im planning for my upgrade in the summer.

Top notch review as allways Mr Tom ,Just a quick note tho bottom of the first page there is a spelling mistake btw it says "4gb or ram"

27-04-2010, 03:53:20

AMDFTW
not bad,the price isent to expensive ither whats OCUK's premium for this?

27-04-2010, 05:51:44

WelshD1K
id be abit ohher abut the psu id expect more psu for the 3 altho i know these corrsair psu's are condiderably the best and can probaly handle it no problem id still expect alittle more punch formy

27-04-2010, 06:00:41

tinytomlogan
650w is more than enough for this system, it will be more economical with this psu instead of a 750w.

If you just want to buy it and use it its perfect.

27-04-2010, 07:01:40

alexhull24
The build quality of their systems never fails to impress me, definitely a pro outfit. If I didn't enjoy putting them together so much I'd choose something like this. They'll even give you phone support for the overclock if it goes wrong (but not if you update the BIOS!).

27-04-2010, 08:49:26

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
650w is more than enough for this system, it will be more economical with this psu instead of a 750w.

If you just want to buy it and use it its perfect.
yep like i said its more than ample / perfect and we both know that but to someone spending that money on a system you'd expect big numbers if you get what i mean? you just expect to see say 1000w !!! or something daft like that

27-04-2010, 09:53:53

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WelshD1K'
yep like i said its more than ample / perfect and we both know that but to someone spending that money on a system you'd expect big numbers if you get what i mean? you just expect to see say 1000w !!! or something daft like that
Not for 1200 you wouldnt, that would eat over 30% of the budget just on a psu. It would be stupid at this pricepoint and also pointless. The funds are better spent elsewhere, as they have been.

27-04-2010, 11:48:35

AMDFTW
ive just speced this rig in Scan and it comes to 1095.80,so OCUK's premium is just over a 100,thats not bad for the build quality pluc the OC

27-04-2010, 13:42:56

cl0ck_ed
Yep, awesome deal imo. Nice to see AMD providing a hex core for that sort of cash, I am really starting to like AMD, there pricing strategy seems much better for the consumer.

The build looks spot on for the budget aswell.

@AMDFTW you forgot windows in your pricing!!

27-04-2010, 13:45:29

AMDFTW
OCUK give you the option of a OS and cooling

if not 1,260ish for that kinda spec and build is a very good deal,especialy good for first time buyers
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.