OCUK Ultima Raptor Review

Ultima Raptor Parts

OCUK Ultima   Raptor Review

With any purchase there are always a few elements that sway your decision towards that particular item. So here we've highlighted what we think are the four big products within the Overclockers UK Ultima Raptor.

Firstly, the thing that makes everyone salivate, the graphics card. Here we have a Radeon HD5870 which is pretty much the weapon of choice for any self-respecting gamer, providing great performance and bulletproof reliability. This particular model is from ASUS, although being a reference design it doesn't make a huge difference, nonetheless it's nice to know a major manufacturer is on board.

OCUK Ultima Raptor Review     OCUK Ultima Raptor Review  

Of course, although represented here by the mammoth cooler, the major player is without doubt the new CPU. The AMD Phenom II X6 1090T processor. If you've been impatient and read the review of that before this one, you'll know what a big deal this is. If not the numbers we have on offer here should give you a good taste of how much performance you're getting at a mainstream price.

OCUK Ultima Raptor Review     OCUK Ultima Raptor Review  

Like a house is useless if built on quicksand, the benefits of a great motherboard as the foundation for your system cannot be overstated. Here we have one of the very best AMD motherboards around in the ASUS Crosshair 4 Formula. This Republic of Gamers branded motherboard provides all the very latest hardware bells and whistles along with the famous ASUS reliability and tweakability.

OCUK Ultima Raptor Review     OCUK Ultima Raptor Review  

Finally the Corsair TX650. Corsair power supplies are now so refined that you can pick almost any model from their line-up and know that it will be built like a brick outhouse and just as stable.

OCUK Ultima Raptor Review     OCUK Ultima Raptor Review

Premium parts throughout. How does it fair in the OC3D labs?

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:16:02

tinytomlogan
Youve seen the parts seperately, so how about a looking at a prebuilt system?

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:49:53

I Hunta x
Seems a very tidy prebuilt, and gives very nice results, more or less what im planning for my upgrade in the summer.

Top notch review as allways Mr Tom ,Just a quick note tho bottom of the first page there is a spelling mistake btw it says "4gb or ram"

27-04-2010, 03:53:20

AMDFTW
not bad,the price isent to expensive ither whats OCUK's premium for this?

27-04-2010, 05:51:44

WelshD1K
id be abit ohher abut the psu id expect more psu for the 3 altho i know these corrsair psu's are condiderably the best and can probaly handle it no problem id still expect alittle more punch formy

27-04-2010, 06:00:41

tinytomlogan
650w is more than enough for this system, it will be more economical with this psu instead of a 750w.

If you just want to buy it and use it its perfect.

27-04-2010, 07:01:40

alexhull24
The build quality of their systems never fails to impress me, definitely a pro outfit. If I didn't enjoy putting them together so much I'd choose something like this. They'll even give you phone support for the overclock if it goes wrong (but not if you update the BIOS!).

27-04-2010, 08:49:26

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
650w is more than enough for this system, it will be more economical with this psu instead of a 750w.

If you just want to buy it and use it its perfect.
yep like i said its more than ample / perfect and we both know that but to someone spending that money on a system you'd expect big numbers if you get what i mean? you just expect to see say 1000w !!! or something daft like that

27-04-2010, 09:53:53

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WelshD1K'
yep like i said its more than ample / perfect and we both know that but to someone spending that money on a system you'd expect big numbers if you get what i mean? you just expect to see say 1000w !!! or something daft like that
Not for 1200 you wouldnt, that would eat over 30% of the budget just on a psu. It would be stupid at this pricepoint and also pointless. The funds are better spent elsewhere, as they have been.

27-04-2010, 11:48:35

AMDFTW
ive just speced this rig in Scan and it comes to 1095.80,so OCUK's premium is just over a 100,thats not bad for the build quality pluc the OC

27-04-2010, 13:42:56

cl0ck_ed
Yep, awesome deal imo. Nice to see AMD providing a hex core for that sort of cash, I am really starting to like AMD, there pricing strategy seems much better for the consumer.

The build looks spot on for the budget aswell.

@AMDFTW you forgot windows in your pricing!!

27-04-2010, 13:45:29

AMDFTW
OCUK give you the option of a OS and cooling

if not 1,260ish for that kinda spec and build is a very good deal,especialy good for first time buyers
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.