OCUK Ultima Raptor Review

Introduction and Specifications

OCUK Ultima Raptor Review

Introduction

As you can see from our other two reviews, today has seen AMD return to the fore with a big bang. I'm sure lots of our more technically minded readers are already plotting their upgrade paths and raiding the Internet for the best prices.

But what if you aren't the type of person who has the confidence to build their own computers. After all, most of us weren't to begin with and even now those of us with self-built PCs are vastly in the minority.

If you're going to buy a pre-built computer there mainly appears to be two big routes you can go down. The first is the generic "store" PC which is usually underpowered and overpriced. Sold to the masses who don't know much better and think that 1GB of RAM is plenty. The second is to get a system that definitely has the go and the show, but costs an absolute fortune to get the latest hardware.

So what if you know what you want, haven't got the time or the expertise to build it yourself, but also don't fancy taking out a mortgage to cover the cost?

Enter Overclockers UK with the Ultima Raptor.

Ultima Raptor

Overclockers UK have been providing pre-built PCs for years now, and in the last year the range has really exploded to cover every imaginable pocket from the exceptional value, to the full Monty. The Ultima Raptor we have in today is balanced neatly in the middle of the OCUK range, priced at £1199 at the specifications we've got today.

Often when reviewing customisable items the provided sample has all the options. Anyone who's seen a car advert or road test will know what I mean. But for the test today we've got the vanilla one. The baseline model. That isn't to say it's lacking at all. Let's have a look at the specifications.

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Six Core Processor - Pre-Overclocked to 4GHz
ASUS 890FX Crosshair 4 Formula Motherboard
ASUS ATI Radeon HD5870
2x2GB Corsair DDR XMS3 @ 1600MHz
Western Digital Caviar 640GB
Corsair TX650 PSU
Titan Fenrir CPU Cooler
Antec 902 Nine Hundred Two Case

As you can see it's a hefty specification indeed, with a 4GHz six core CPU, 4GB or RAM and a HD5870 this should munch through anything you throw at it. Also considering the X6 1090T is only released today, you're getting the very latest hardware for your hard earned pound.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:16:02

tinytomlogan
Youve seen the parts seperately, so how about a looking at a prebuilt system?

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:49:53

I Hunta x
Seems a very tidy prebuilt, and gives very nice results, more or less what im planning for my upgrade in the summer.

Top notch review as allways Mr Tom ,Just a quick note tho bottom of the first page there is a spelling mistake btw it says "4gb or ram"

27-04-2010, 03:53:20

AMDFTW
not bad,the price isent to expensive ither whats OCUK's premium for this?

27-04-2010, 05:51:44

WelshD1K
id be abit ohher abut the psu id expect more psu for the 3 altho i know these corrsair psu's are condiderably the best and can probaly handle it no problem id still expect alittle more punch formy

27-04-2010, 06:00:41

tinytomlogan
650w is more than enough for this system, it will be more economical with this psu instead of a 750w.

If you just want to buy it and use it its perfect.

27-04-2010, 07:01:40

alexhull24
The build quality of their systems never fails to impress me, definitely a pro outfit. If I didn't enjoy putting them together so much I'd choose something like this. They'll even give you phone support for the overclock if it goes wrong (but not if you update the BIOS!).

27-04-2010, 08:49:26

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
650w is more than enough for this system, it will be more economical with this psu instead of a 750w.

If you just want to buy it and use it its perfect.
yep like i said its more than ample / perfect and we both know that but to someone spending that money on a system you'd expect big numbers if you get what i mean? you just expect to see say 1000w !!! or something daft like that

27-04-2010, 09:53:53

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WelshD1K'
yep like i said its more than ample / perfect and we both know that but to someone spending that money on a system you'd expect big numbers if you get what i mean? you just expect to see say 1000w !!! or something daft like that
Not for 1200 you wouldnt, that would eat over 30% of the budget just on a psu. It would be stupid at this pricepoint and also pointless. The funds are better spent elsewhere, as they have been.

27-04-2010, 11:48:35

AMDFTW
ive just speced this rig in Scan and it comes to 1095.80,so OCUK's premium is just over a 100,thats not bad for the build quality pluc the OC

27-04-2010, 13:42:56

cl0ck_ed
Yep, awesome deal imo. Nice to see AMD providing a hex core for that sort of cash, I am really starting to like AMD, there pricing strategy seems much better for the consumer.

The build looks spot on for the budget aswell.

@AMDFTW you forgot windows in your pricing!!

27-04-2010, 13:45:29

AMDFTW
OCUK give you the option of a OS and cooling

if not 1,260ish for that kinda spec and build is a very good deal,especialy good for first time buyers
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.