OcUK Titan Goliath Desktop Review

Synthetic Benchmarks

Synthetic Benchmarks
 
SiSoft Sandra
 
SiSoftware Sandra (the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a PC.
 
CPU Arithmetic
 
 
 
CPU Multimedia
 
 
Memory Test
 
The Core i7 LGA1366 platform's Triple Channel Memory controller's capabilities become quite evident in this test, offering a considerably higher bandwith compared to equivlent Dual Channel kits. Note that due to the CPU overclock, the RAM operates at DDR3-1360, 240MHz down from it's rated frequency.
 
 
 
CinebenchR10
 
CinebenchR10 analyses the speed at which a processor renders a high resolution image and outputs a score accordingly. The test was carried out in singlethreaded and multithreaded mode.
 
 
 
Passmark
 
Passmark is an "all round" system benchmark, which puts all core components through it's paces. While synthetic, it offers some insight into the capabilities of a particular system. A near perfect score is a testiment of the Titan Goliath's performance.
 
 
HDTune 
 
 
HDTune shows that Gigabyte EX58 UD3R's Southbridge does not struggle to handle today's Hard Disk Drives. One would be surprised if it did but hey ho...Let's proceed to gaming performance.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-10-2009, 20:45:10

tinytomlogan
Not everyone has the time or experience to build there own gaming PC. OCUK are well aware of this and have released the Goliath prebuilt gaming PC. By Mul.

Continue Reading

13-10-2009, 07:02:22

Datamonkey
Nice review Mul,

Good to see that off the shelf pc's can be good. But near enough a 300 premium on having it built

13-10-2009, 11:01:46

VonBlade
Blimey. Are OCUK in danger of improving their quality? It's tough to fault the cable management and even their old "ramp the vcore to obtain the OC" problem seems to be missing.

Definitely though that's a serious wedge of cash for a mid-tower air-cooled machine. I'd definitely love to see a 750 or 850 Corsair in there (30 extra), a Blu-Ray reader instead of the DVD (another 30) and a 1TB minimum (another 20). I could always live without the Antec cases. They don't make one I find even remotely attractive. Ok they offer a HAF, but that's the only case if you don't want an Antec one.

And using the el-cheapo Gigabyte worries me a little. Especially for that kinda wedge. Self building I could easily slot a Asus P6TD in there, at retail pricing.

So basically it's fine as an off-the-peg product, but to this particular audience it doesn't contain many elements we'd actually choose to put in a system. Apart from the 5870 obviously. No actually only the 5870.

14-10-2009, 07:00:30

Rastalovich
No. No, no no - no.

Great review btw.

Still - NO.

14-10-2009, 08:13:41

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
No. No, no no - no.

Great review btw.

Still - NO.
LOL, Sorry what?

14-10-2009, 08:30:06

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
No. No, no no - no.

Great review btw.

Still - NO.
he means he would never buy iy lmao,but its a good review

and i 2nd that

14-10-2009, 08:35:36

Rastalovich
Cash sum versus items used for me.

14-10-2009, 08:40:33

Mul.
Fair shout.

14-10-2009, 09:39:10

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
No. No, no no - no.
Either I watch too much Family Guy, or someone else read that in Clevelands "falling out the bath during Peters shenanigans" voice too.

Please? Can't just be me.

14-10-2009, 12:00:35

Rastalovich
Have abs-o-lutely no idea what u mean m8.

However I have heard of the Family Guy, just never liked it.

14-10-2009, 12:44:23

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Either I watch too much Family Guy, or someone else read that in Clevelands "falling out the bath during Peters shenanigans" voice too.

Please? Can't just be me.
No it's not just you

14-10-2009, 16:07:13

lasher
I thought he was doing an impersonation of the bloke off Vicar of Dibley!

14-10-2009, 16:21:17

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Either I watch too much Family Guy, or someone else read that in Clevelands "falling out the bath during Peters shenanigans" voice too.

Please? Can't just be me.
Hahahaha now I read it that way too xD

14-10-2009, 20:02:05

Diablo
Great review, but still would build my own for that wedge. At least that way I can specify my own components. Maybe for the 300 difference, I might stick an EVGA Classified in there, a TB drive, a 850HX and a bluray drive instead.

20-10-2009, 16:26:22

Bungral
Nice review Mul...

Gotta say nicely written.

Pre-builts certainly aint for me but as one goes, it isn't too bad.

That said 1300 does seem like an awful lot for some reason.. Spose the 5870 takes up quite a chunk of that.

20-10-2009, 17:20:33

Mul.
Cheers Bungral.

If I remember right, it's on special offer for around 1175 at the moment?

21-10-2009, 08:34:36

Rastalovich
If there's an expectation out there that 1000+ will be paid for a "play anything at high/extreme quality", it may be time to start a business.

To that end, I'd love to see their sold unit figures.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.