OcUK Titan Goliath Desktop Review

Packaging & Initial Impressions

Packaging & Initial Impressions
 
Arriving in a retail Antec Nine Hundred box, which was further packaged with polystyrene, foam and another cardboard box, it's good to know that Overclockers UK have done the upmost to ensure that your precious machine arrives with not so much as a scratch on it. Of course, this is not really a reason to get excited as without doubt, the general trauma that a package on a national courier system from depot to depot and from van to van commands such protection. At any rate, the last of any retailer's worries is the thought of a £1000+ machine arriving damaged on arrival.
 
 
Five minutes later, the desktop computer was out of it's protective shell and with the relevant peripherals connected and 650W of juice at the ready, it was finally time for power on. At a press of a button, it's blue LED's lit up, it's fans begun to rotate and like a rather feral Lion of the animal kingdom it roared to life. Well, not quite. It would seem that Goliath does not feature the acoustics of a predator but perhaps more like a sedate household pet...called whiskers...
 
 
This however is a good thing. As eye catching as this Antec 902 housed machine is, it's noise levels are unassuming enough to very quickly forget that you're working alongside an overclocked Core i7 powerhouse. Lacking anything in the way of obvious fan motor noise or hard disk drive vibration/clicking, we already had a fair idea about the system's component selection and build quality. Those key hints of a well thought out build became more prominent as we removed the system's side panel and saw this...
 
 
Okay, so the system can be loud if it must. Every fan's speed on the Antec 902 chassis can be adjusted, however all fans were set to low from out of the box in our sample and even the menacing 200mm exhaust fan on it's ceiling was as quiet as a mouse. The processor is cooled by an Akasa Nero Direct Contact Heatpipe Cooler, which is fitted with a 120mm fan, while the HIS Radeon HD 5870 Graphics Card utilises AMD's reference heatsink module, which is also nigh on inaudible thanks to it's paltry 27W idle power consumption.
 
From a cable management perspective, Overclockers UK have clearly outdone themselves by routing everything behind the motherboard tray and tucking away all unused PCI-Express/4pin Molex/SATA connectors; a trait that is very common amongst DIY systems builders and not so much amongst major PC vendors that will merely cable tie all loose cables in a large bundle in the middle of the case...
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-10-2009, 20:45:10

tinytomlogan
Not everyone has the time or experience to build there own gaming PC. OCUK are well aware of this and have released the Goliath prebuilt gaming PC. By Mul.

Continue Reading

13-10-2009, 07:02:22

Datamonkey
Nice review Mul,

Good to see that off the shelf pc's can be good. But near enough a 300 premium on having it built

13-10-2009, 11:01:46

VonBlade
Blimey. Are OCUK in danger of improving their quality? It's tough to fault the cable management and even their old "ramp the vcore to obtain the OC" problem seems to be missing.

Definitely though that's a serious wedge of cash for a mid-tower air-cooled machine. I'd definitely love to see a 750 or 850 Corsair in there (30 extra), a Blu-Ray reader instead of the DVD (another 30) and a 1TB minimum (another 20). I could always live without the Antec cases. They don't make one I find even remotely attractive. Ok they offer a HAF, but that's the only case if you don't want an Antec one.

And using the el-cheapo Gigabyte worries me a little. Especially for that kinda wedge. Self building I could easily slot a Asus P6TD in there, at retail pricing.

So basically it's fine as an off-the-peg product, but to this particular audience it doesn't contain many elements we'd actually choose to put in a system. Apart from the 5870 obviously. No actually only the 5870.

14-10-2009, 07:00:30

Rastalovich
No. No, no no - no.

Great review btw.

Still - NO.

14-10-2009, 08:13:41

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
No. No, no no - no.

Great review btw.

Still - NO.
LOL, Sorry what?

14-10-2009, 08:30:06

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
No. No, no no - no.

Great review btw.

Still - NO.
he means he would never buy iy lmao,but its a good review

and i 2nd that

14-10-2009, 08:35:36

Rastalovich
Cash sum versus items used for me.

14-10-2009, 08:40:33

Mul.
Fair shout.

14-10-2009, 09:39:10

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
No. No, no no - no.
Either I watch too much Family Guy, or someone else read that in Clevelands "falling out the bath during Peters shenanigans" voice too.

Please? Can't just be me.

14-10-2009, 12:00:35

Rastalovich
Have abs-o-lutely no idea what u mean m8.

However I have heard of the Family Guy, just never liked it.

14-10-2009, 12:44:23

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Either I watch too much Family Guy, or someone else read that in Clevelands "falling out the bath during Peters shenanigans" voice too.

Please? Can't just be me.
No it's not just you

14-10-2009, 16:07:13

lasher
I thought he was doing an impersonation of the bloke off Vicar of Dibley!

14-10-2009, 16:21:17

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Either I watch too much Family Guy, or someone else read that in Clevelands "falling out the bath during Peters shenanigans" voice too.

Please? Can't just be me.
Hahahaha now I read it that way too xD

14-10-2009, 20:02:05

Diablo
Great review, but still would build my own for that wedge. At least that way I can specify my own components. Maybe for the 300 difference, I might stick an EVGA Classified in there, a TB drive, a 850HX and a bluray drive instead.

20-10-2009, 16:26:22

Bungral
Nice review Mul...

Gotta say nicely written.

Pre-builts certainly aint for me but as one goes, it isn't too bad.

That said 1300 does seem like an awful lot for some reason.. Spose the 5870 takes up quite a chunk of that.

20-10-2009, 17:20:33

Mul.
Cheers Bungral.

If I remember right, it's on special offer for around 1175 at the moment?

21-10-2009, 08:34:36

Rastalovich
If there's an expectation out there that 1000+ will be paid for a "play anything at high/extreme quality", it may be time to start a business.

To that end, I'd love to see their sold unit figures.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.