OcUK Titan Goliath Desktop Review

Introduction

Introduction
 
With Christmas soon to be among us once again, I'm sure that many of you are in the process of setting aside funds for those all important gifts. Amongst the list of clothing, homeware and appliances, your attention then turns to your existing computer. While some might be pointing you towards high end offerings from Dell, HP and Acer you are left feeling as though you're paying a little too much for what you get and aside that, feel a tad uneasy about the quality of after sales support with large corporations that may also outsource their technical departments. On the other end of the spectrum, you may have been advised to embrace the “do it yourself” approach by ordering all of the individual components of a system and assembling it, yet all you want is a well built product that will offer competitive performance, works as stated straight out of the box, an enticing price tag and be backed by quality after sales support. This is by no means a particularly high set of expectations and are qualities that you would want to see from many of your purchases, be it a car, television, washing machine, or arm chair...
 
Overclockers UK is a well established e-tailer that have recently begun to offer wider ranges of prebuilt and also “built to order” systems, positioning their offerings squarely at the big guns of the industry from the entry level/business segment all the way to the niche gaming and home theatre computing segments. Boasting the use of purely “quality” parts, plenty of choice and an on-site technical support team, Overclockers UK believe they have exactly what it takes to establish a brand of high reputation. Today however, we have been given the opportunity to place one of their systems in the spotlight...it seems like a good'un...meet the OcUK Titan Goliath Core i7 Desktop Computer.
 
The Titan Goliath starts at £924.97 is specified without an operating system, a more modest nVidia GeForce GTS 250 1024mb GDDR3 graphics card and a rather basic Coolermaster Elite 335 chassis. Depending on what you are looking out for in your next desktop computer, you may add an Operating System, selecting from a variety of cases right up to and including the Antec 1200 and highly rated Coolermaster HAF932 and graphics cards including the HD 4800 series and all the way up to the range topping HD 5870 and GTX 295. Our particular sample was specified as follows:
 
 
Technical Specification
Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz Processor @ 3.40GHz
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R LGA1366 Motherboard
6GB DDR3 PC3-12800 RAM
HIS Radeon HD 5870 1GB GDDR5
Antec Nine Hundred “Two” ATX Case
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA II HDD
LG 22x DVD+/-RW
Corsair TX 650W Power Supply Unit
Windows Vista Home Premium
 
 
 
Priced in at a hefty £1300, the Titan Goliath sits in a price bracket with competition from a number of brands but isn't particularly aggressive segment as such due to it being somewhat niche. On paper, it certainly doesn't seem to be doing too badly, sporting an overclocked Core i7 920 processor, a proven (albeit near bottom of the pack price wise) LGA1366 motherboard, plenty of RAM and a robust 80PLUS certified Power Supply Unit. Alas, it is time to get testing. Armed with a camera, tripod and a full arsenal of games and applications ready to be shot at mighty Goliath, who shall be defeated? Let's find out...
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-10-2009, 20:45:10

tinytomlogan
Not everyone has the time or experience to build there own gaming PC. OCUK are well aware of this and have released the Goliath prebuilt gaming PC. By Mul.

Continue Reading

13-10-2009, 07:02:22

Datamonkey
Nice review Mul,

Good to see that off the shelf pc's can be good. But near enough a 300 premium on having it built

13-10-2009, 11:01:46

VonBlade
Blimey. Are OCUK in danger of improving their quality? It's tough to fault the cable management and even their old "ramp the vcore to obtain the OC" problem seems to be missing.

Definitely though that's a serious wedge of cash for a mid-tower air-cooled machine. I'd definitely love to see a 750 or 850 Corsair in there (30 extra), a Blu-Ray reader instead of the DVD (another 30) and a 1TB minimum (another 20). I could always live without the Antec cases. They don't make one I find even remotely attractive. Ok they offer a HAF, but that's the only case if you don't want an Antec one.

And using the el-cheapo Gigabyte worries me a little. Especially for that kinda wedge. Self building I could easily slot a Asus P6TD in there, at retail pricing.

So basically it's fine as an off-the-peg product, but to this particular audience it doesn't contain many elements we'd actually choose to put in a system. Apart from the 5870 obviously. No actually only the 5870.

14-10-2009, 07:00:30

Rastalovich
No. No, no no - no.

Great review btw.

Still - NO.

14-10-2009, 08:13:41

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
No. No, no no - no.

Great review btw.

Still - NO.
LOL, Sorry what?

14-10-2009, 08:30:06

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
No. No, no no - no.

Great review btw.

Still - NO.
he means he would never buy iy lmao,but its a good review

and i 2nd that

14-10-2009, 08:35:36

Rastalovich
Cash sum versus items used for me.

14-10-2009, 08:40:33

Mul.
Fair shout.

14-10-2009, 09:39:10

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
No. No, no no - no.
Either I watch too much Family Guy, or someone else read that in Clevelands "falling out the bath during Peters shenanigans" voice too.

Please? Can't just be me.

14-10-2009, 12:00:35

Rastalovich
Have abs-o-lutely no idea what u mean m8.

However I have heard of the Family Guy, just never liked it.

14-10-2009, 12:44:23

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Either I watch too much Family Guy, or someone else read that in Clevelands "falling out the bath during Peters shenanigans" voice too.

Please? Can't just be me.
No it's not just you

14-10-2009, 16:07:13

lasher
I thought he was doing an impersonation of the bloke off Vicar of Dibley!

14-10-2009, 16:21:17

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Either I watch too much Family Guy, or someone else read that in Clevelands "falling out the bath during Peters shenanigans" voice too.

Please? Can't just be me.
Hahahaha now I read it that way too xD

14-10-2009, 20:02:05

Diablo
Great review, but still would build my own for that wedge. At least that way I can specify my own components. Maybe for the 300 difference, I might stick an EVGA Classified in there, a TB drive, a 850HX and a bluray drive instead.

20-10-2009, 16:26:22

Bungral
Nice review Mul...

Gotta say nicely written.

Pre-builts certainly aint for me but as one goes, it isn't too bad.

That said 1300 does seem like an awful lot for some reason.. Spose the 5870 takes up quite a chunk of that.

20-10-2009, 17:20:33

Mul.
Cheers Bungral.

If I remember right, it's on special offer for around 1175 at the moment?

21-10-2009, 08:34:36

Rastalovich
If there's an expectation out there that 1000+ will be paid for a "play anything at high/extreme quality", it may be time to start a business.

To that end, I'd love to see their sold unit figures.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.