MSI GX660R Laptop Review

Gaming and Temperatures

MSI GX660R Laptop Review

Games

For our gaming we used 4x anti-aliasing and maximum settings on every test but Crysis which was the 0xAA Gamer settings we normally use. However if you were to use 0AA and 1920x1080 the frames stay at a minimum of 25 and average around the mid 30's. Lets remember this is a laptop and not a 5850 in a basic desktop!

It would be easy to leap upon the Metro 2033 or AvP results as being very poor but they are, as we saw on the previous page, consistently about half of what we'd expect from our bench system with twice the cores and all the power available it wishes to suck out the wall. So if you've got sensible expectations, and of course you could tweak your IQ rather than run at the high levels we have here, then the GX660R certainly can game with the best of them.

Black Ops on the train with hardcore pumping audio anybody? Thought so.

Temperatures and Battery Life

Anyone who has suffered with a poorly-cooled laptop will know how ludicrously hot they can get. The few models that have focussed on keeping temperatures under control usually do so by giving you a screaming 40mm fan that makes dogs whine and your ears bleed.

MSI have given us a choice. We can have the peace and quiet of the standard cooling, or if we're in a particularly intense situation there is a extra fan that can be used to keep things cool and the obvious expense of a bit of extra noise pollution.

It's clear that the fan does its job keeping everything considerably more under thermal control than without.

Energy is, as we all know, converted to heat. Despite the rather substantial specifications of the GX660R the battery life is much better than we anticipated. We had a joke in the office that gaming in the background of the review video would probably mean the laptop died before the video was finished but actually you can play Crysis Warhead solidly for an hour and a half from a full charge, which is hugely impressive.

More normal use should see five or six hours from a full charge. Again you have to remember the amount of oomph under the hood and this is certainly better than a lot of laptops that are considered portable only because the charger doesn't weigh too much.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-03-2011, 20:25:06

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the latest high end gaming laptop from MSI. Does it go as well as it looks? I think we all hope so!



Continue Reading

04-03-2011, 20:32:57

Delusion77
Nice to see some laptop reviews on OC3D! And to kick it of with such a firecracker!

04-03-2011, 20:36:37

dugdiamond
that's a nice lappie.

the keybard is very similar to my two brothers' lappies.

they have a Sony VAIO F12 MOE/B Intel I7-740QM and a Sony VAIO VPCF21Z1E/BI Intel i7-2630QM.

04-03-2011, 20:38:47

Tortuga
Thats a good looking laptop. When I first bought my Xps m170 i thought it was sexy as all hell. I'll never buy a big laptop again. That one looks huge, but what a great resolution.

04-03-2011, 20:43:47

SieB
It's definietly better than the old Toshiba Satellite SPA40 I have lying around somewhere. The sound on the MSI one is impressive in the vid I don't think I have ever seen a laptop with that level of sound quality before. The gaming performance was good too, it was funny seeing Crysis on Gamer I have never seen it on that setting before, it looked like a PS2 game but still, for a laptop to run it at above 30fps is good.

04-03-2011, 20:44:13

tinytomlogan
TBH fellas for £1000 theres nothing on the markets that comes close in all the areas this ones does tbh.

Its nothing short of epic IMHO

04-03-2011, 20:49:19

dugdiamond
^ i agree with tom - great review - you really showed off its' true colours (as always)

how heavy is it?

04-03-2011, 21:19:26

tinytomlogan
Its not light like my current one but its not a lappy that needs weight watchers! It really did need 50mins imho! (that was the cut down single video version )

04-03-2011, 21:33:09

Tortuga
You should slap a couple SSDs in that bad boy.

05-03-2011, 06:09:09

Xplosiv
small mistake, just in technical specifications you put cpu down as core i7

05-03-2011, 06:23:14

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

TBH fellas for £1000 theres nothing on the markets that comes close in all the areas this ones does tbh.

Its nothing short of epic IMHO
Scan are selling the same laptop & same specs but without the bluRay drive for 913£ now thatís a real bargain isnít it tom or you donít like scan for some reason ?????



http://www.scan.co.uk/products/156-msi-gx660r-i5-460m-253gh-6gb-ddr3-1tb-hdd-r0-ati-r5870-1gb-supermult-wifi-n-bt-wcam-9c-w7

05-03-2011, 06:32:11

Qubo420
Nice Laptop.

05-03-2011, 08:10:06

adamjamesroe
Very nice

05-03-2011, 12:54:09

MichaelH
A lovely laptop from MSI. Anyone even daring to compare this to AlienWare: prepare to feel my wrath.

This beats other manufacterers in many areas: including external appearance and internal specifications.

Good review OC3D...and a great laptop worthy of the OC3D gold award!

06-03-2011, 01:44:38

JCBenton
Looks fantastic for a laptop.

06-03-2011, 09:39:43

ionicle
thats mental, its gorgeous, and its rather good

06-03-2011, 14:23:16

steve30x
Ive found a replacement for my so called gaming laptop. That laptop has much better cooling than my Zepto Mythos G15 also the speakers are a thousand times better. My laptop is a C2D @ 2.4GHZ with a 9600GTm wnd its got a tiny fan cooling the lot.

07-03-2011, 05:43:37

ionicle
sounds like my dell, too powerful, but skimpt on the cooling side of things

07-03-2011, 12:30:14

Todd
Decent laptop. Expected more from that 5870, though :/

lol, Tom at around 25:50 I thought you had some special needs

07-03-2011, 17:18:10

steve30x
Check this out. Ebuyer is trying to say that this laptop is discontinued lol http://www.ebuyer.com/product/237490 I saving for one of these laptops.

09-03-2011, 05:59:52

DiogoPRT
Hi there Tinytomlogan!

I have a question for you!

How do you do the benchmark for Black Ops? Is there any tool?

Thanks (;

09-03-2011, 06:14:15

dugdiamond
hi

the way most game benchmarks are done are like this:

get hold of a copy of FRAPS here

then find a point in the game that has alot of AI, physics, particle systems, or volumetric lighting

create a save point

then,

run the game, from the same save point, with various settings and/or overclocking the graphics card(s), for the same amount of time.

you will be looking for lowest FPS and highest FPS (frames per second) during this time. the average is the two numbers added together and divided by 2.

09-03-2011, 06:23:33

DiogoPRT
Should I move during the bench?

09-03-2011, 06:36:15

dugdiamond
if you notice in TTL benchmarks, he plays the same parts of a game and tries to do exactly the same things every time.

nobody is perfect at this type of benching, it is only supposed to be a guide and a comparison

sure... you can move. it is best to. just try and do the same moves for each test. but, remember this: it is hard to keep track of the FPSs when you are doing TOO much moving about and stuff

09-03-2011, 07:07:41

DiogoPRT
Ok, I'll try to do that! Thank you! (;

12-03-2011, 09:25:17

mgally
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

TBH fellas for £1000 theres nothing on the markets that comes close in all the areas this ones does tbh.

Its nothing short of epic IMHO
Have you seen this Tom, granted not as good quality chasis as the MSI but plenty of bang for buck

http://www.pcpro.co....on-erazer-x6811

12-03-2011, 13:55:53

steve30x
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgally View Post

Have you seen this Tom, granted not as good quality chasis as the MSI but plenty of bang for buck

http://www.pcpro.co....on-erazer-x6811
The specs on that laptop arent near as good. The screen resolution is 1366 x 768 and its only got 4GB of ram , Its only got one HDD and the sound isnt as good. I would much rather the MSI becauyse it looks better and is much better. The only thing I would change is the graphics card.

12-03-2011, 20:10:47

mgally
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post

The specs on that laptop arent near as good. The screen resolution is 1366 x 768 and its only got 4GB of ram , Its only got one HDD and the sound isnt as good. I would much rather the MSI becauyse it looks better and is much better. The only thing I would change is the graphics card.
I take your point that the specs are not as good as the MSI, but if you have a lower budget and want a gaming laptop then it may do the job for some ppl. If I had the cash I woud probably buy the MSI over most other £1000 + lappies.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.