MSI GX660R Laptop Review

The Light

MSI GX660R Laptop Review

Up Close

From the outside the MSI is fairly unassuming. It looks very similar to many other laptops you'll have seen.

However, once you open it up it's clear this is a very different beast indeed. Certainly this isn't your average combination of keyboard, touch pad and nothing much else.

MSI GX660R Laptop Review     MSI GX660R Laptop Review  

Straight away we can see that things aren't normal. Look at the quality of that hinge and air vent. Plus the two USB 3.0 ports show we're not in "free with a phone" territory here.

The other side has the second of the two USB 2.0 ports. It's a nice touch to see one on either side rather than the limiting factor of all one side or at the back. We also have the audio inputs and outputs, although as we'll get to in a minute they might not be used much.

MSI GX660R Laptop Review     MSI GX660R Laptop Review  

So much to cover. Firstly it's a joy for those of us who touch type to see a decent sized keyboard. Normally the left hand shift/tab/caps keys are reduced to single key size and cause no end of productivity slow down. Demonstrating the design focus on being a serious gaming rig is also a large part with tab and left-shift used in almost all games somewhere. The highlighting of the WASD keys is further evidence of this, even if it is overkill.

So most of us have experience of laptops, even if we've never owned one, and it's not revealing any secrets to say that listening to an idiot playing music on their phone speaker up the back of the bus is preferable to most laptop audio experiences. Not here. Those two red-ringed speakers are incredible. The quality has to be heard to be believed and even then you'll be hunting round the room for a hidden Denon system somewhere. That isn't the hyperbole it might appear either.

With a willingness to give it the beans this out-performs any average HDTV speakers. We could write a whole review about the audio quality alone but we've a lot to get through.

MSI GX660R Laptop Review     MSI GX660R Laptop Review  

Few companies want to advertise the more wobbly aspects of their products so the use of two logos and those red highlights should give you some idea of the confidence MSI have in the audio quality of the GX660R.

MSI GX660R Laptop Review     MSI GX660R Laptop Review

Visually you have a plethora of output options to choose from if you wish to move your display elsewhere.

Speaking of the display, one thing we've always hated about CRT monitors was their reflectivity. As TFT/LCD panels took over we all breathed a sigh of relief that seeing yourself in a mirror should no longer be an issue, but lately it seems manufacturers are starting to make their screens reflective again. This needs to stop.

It's bad enough with a static desktop rig, but a Laptop, designed for moving about all over the place, it's truly a pain in the posterior. Just in case you wonder if we're over-emphasising something, here is one of the shots we took during the review process. Irritating.

MSI GX660R Laptop Review     MSI GX660R Laptop Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-03-2011, 20:25:06

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the latest high end gaming laptop from MSI. Does it go as well as it looks? I think we all hope so!



Continue Reading

04-03-2011, 20:32:57

Delusion77
Nice to see some laptop reviews on OC3D! And to kick it of with such a firecracker!

04-03-2011, 20:36:37

dugdiamond
that's a nice lappie.

the keybard is very similar to my two brothers' lappies.

they have a Sony VAIO F12 MOE/B Intel I7-740QM and a Sony VAIO VPCF21Z1E/BI Intel i7-2630QM.

04-03-2011, 20:38:47

Tortuga
Thats a good looking laptop. When I first bought my Xps m170 i thought it was sexy as all hell. I'll never buy a big laptop again. That one looks huge, but what a great resolution.

04-03-2011, 20:43:47

SieB
It's definietly better than the old Toshiba Satellite SPA40 I have lying around somewhere. The sound on the MSI one is impressive in the vid I don't think I have ever seen a laptop with that level of sound quality before. The gaming performance was good too, it was funny seeing Crysis on Gamer I have never seen it on that setting before, it looked like a PS2 game but still, for a laptop to run it at above 30fps is good.

04-03-2011, 20:44:13

tinytomlogan
TBH fellas for £1000 theres nothing on the markets that comes close in all the areas this ones does tbh.

Its nothing short of epic IMHO

04-03-2011, 20:49:19

dugdiamond
^ i agree with tom - great review - you really showed off its' true colours (as always)

how heavy is it?

04-03-2011, 21:19:26

tinytomlogan
Its not light like my current one but its not a lappy that needs weight watchers! It really did need 50mins imho! (that was the cut down single video version )

04-03-2011, 21:33:09

Tortuga
You should slap a couple SSDs in that bad boy.

05-03-2011, 06:09:09

Xplosiv
small mistake, just in technical specifications you put cpu down as core i7

05-03-2011, 06:23:14

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

TBH fellas for £1000 theres nothing on the markets that comes close in all the areas this ones does tbh.

Its nothing short of epic IMHO
Scan are selling the same laptop & same specs but without the bluRay drive for 913£ now thatís a real bargain isnít it tom or you donít like scan for some reason ?????



http://www.scan.co.uk/products/156-msi-gx660r-i5-460m-253gh-6gb-ddr3-1tb-hdd-r0-ati-r5870-1gb-supermult-wifi-n-bt-wcam-9c-w7

05-03-2011, 06:32:11

Qubo420
Nice Laptop.

05-03-2011, 08:10:06

adamjamesroe
Very nice

05-03-2011, 12:54:09

MichaelH
A lovely laptop from MSI. Anyone even daring to compare this to AlienWare: prepare to feel my wrath.

This beats other manufacterers in many areas: including external appearance and internal specifications.

Good review OC3D...and a great laptop worthy of the OC3D gold award!

06-03-2011, 01:44:38

JCBenton
Looks fantastic for a laptop.

06-03-2011, 09:39:43

ionicle
thats mental, its gorgeous, and its rather good

06-03-2011, 14:23:16

steve30x
Ive found a replacement for my so called gaming laptop. That laptop has much better cooling than my Zepto Mythos G15 also the speakers are a thousand times better. My laptop is a C2D @ 2.4GHZ with a 9600GTm wnd its got a tiny fan cooling the lot.

07-03-2011, 05:43:37

ionicle
sounds like my dell, too powerful, but skimpt on the cooling side of things

07-03-2011, 12:30:14

Todd
Decent laptop. Expected more from that 5870, though :/

lol, Tom at around 25:50 I thought you had some special needs

07-03-2011, 17:18:10

steve30x
Check this out. Ebuyer is trying to say that this laptop is discontinued lol http://www.ebuyer.com/product/237490 I saving for one of these laptops.

09-03-2011, 05:59:52

DiogoPRT
Hi there Tinytomlogan!

I have a question for you!

How do you do the benchmark for Black Ops? Is there any tool?

Thanks (;

09-03-2011, 06:14:15

dugdiamond
hi

the way most game benchmarks are done are like this:

get hold of a copy of FRAPS here

then find a point in the game that has alot of AI, physics, particle systems, or volumetric lighting

create a save point

then,

run the game, from the same save point, with various settings and/or overclocking the graphics card(s), for the same amount of time.

you will be looking for lowest FPS and highest FPS (frames per second) during this time. the average is the two numbers added together and divided by 2.

09-03-2011, 06:23:33

DiogoPRT
Should I move during the bench?

09-03-2011, 06:36:15

dugdiamond
if you notice in TTL benchmarks, he plays the same parts of a game and tries to do exactly the same things every time.

nobody is perfect at this type of benching, it is only supposed to be a guide and a comparison

sure... you can move. it is best to. just try and do the same moves for each test. but, remember this: it is hard to keep track of the FPSs when you are doing TOO much moving about and stuff

09-03-2011, 07:07:41

DiogoPRT
Ok, I'll try to do that! Thank you! (;

12-03-2011, 09:25:17

mgally
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

TBH fellas for £1000 theres nothing on the markets that comes close in all the areas this ones does tbh.

Its nothing short of epic IMHO
Have you seen this Tom, granted not as good quality chasis as the MSI but plenty of bang for buck

http://www.pcpro.co....on-erazer-x6811

12-03-2011, 13:55:53

steve30x
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgally View Post

Have you seen this Tom, granted not as good quality chasis as the MSI but plenty of bang for buck

http://www.pcpro.co....on-erazer-x6811
The specs on that laptop arent near as good. The screen resolution is 1366 x 768 and its only got 4GB of ram , Its only got one HDD and the sound isnt as good. I would much rather the MSI becauyse it looks better and is much better. The only thing I would change is the graphics card.

12-03-2011, 20:10:47

mgally
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post

The specs on that laptop arent near as good. The screen resolution is 1366 x 768 and its only got 4GB of ram , Its only got one HDD and the sound isnt as good. I would much rather the MSI becauyse it looks better and is much better. The only thing I would change is the graphics card.
I take your point that the specs are not as good as the MSI, but if you have a lower budget and want a gaming laptop then it may do the job for some ppl. If I had the cash I woud probably buy the MSI over most other £1000 + lappies.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.