MSI GT70 Dragon Edition Review

CPUz and Storage Speed

MSI GT70 Dragon Edition Review

Windows 8 - Storage Speed

Windows 8 was clearly designed primarily for the touch-screen/social-network/share-my-life-online generation and not for anyone who actually uses their computer. There is a tendency to go to the "they've changed it, so it sucks" cupboard, but Windows 8 unquestionably follows the Microsoft trend of following an incredible OS with a truly risible one. Everything that was awesome about Windows 7 .. isn't. In fact we'd prefer to go back to Vista if we were forced to change from 7.

Let's give one example then we'll go back to the Dragon Edition. See that People icon? What does it do? Let's click it and find out. Ahh it's for connecting your Live account to the computer. Okay we don't want to do that, so click cancel. What happens? Do you return to the Start screen? Nope. You go to a "you need to sign in" screen in which your options are "Try again". That's it. That's your options. Alt+F4 has never been used as much as it was testing this.

Meanwhile back at the ranch, the speed of the built in RAID array is outstanding. Very nearly 1GB/s. You wont be left hanging around waiting for anything to happen on the MSI GT70 that's for sure.

MSI GT70 Dragon Edition Review     MSI GT70 Dragon Edition Review  

CPUz

As well as coming with a beefy i7-3630QM CPU which runs at 2.4GHz at standard, you can hit the Turbo button and gain a whopping overclock, with the CPU topping out just shy of 3.2GHz. Hugely impressive, and nearly as impressive is this doesn't affect the temperature of the Dragon Edition very much, but obviously has an impact on the battery life. Alongside the mighty CPU is 16GB of DDR3 running at 1600MHz. This doesn't lack for horsepower.

MSI GT70 Dragon Edition Review     MSI GT70 Dragon Edition Review 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-01-2013, 06:25:58

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at a full-specced laptop from MSI, the GT70 Dragon Edition. Does it spit fire or just smoulder beneath its pile of gold?


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...115051135l.JPG


Continue Reading

07-01-2013, 06:49:44

Ghosthud1
thank god they stepped in the MX chips, the old fermi 670's are awful in laptops.

Basically a 560ti desktop card in a laptop , wish I wasn't a student as these things come at high cost

07-01-2013, 07:06:50

dugdiamond
nice laptop
it seems there is a new contender for the Viao

07-01-2013, 07:14:44

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post
nice laptop
it seems there is a new contender for the Viao
Not a chance, Im getting another Vaio!

07-01-2013, 07:35:48

dragoonk
Love the dragon on it the most, awesome performance but with that money I would prefer taking the time to build the rig I been dreaming of for years.

Awesome laptop though, and it looks fantastic, probably the prettiest gaming laptop I have seen and the custom color lighting for the keyboard is very impressive, you don't get that much flexibility.

I would give it 9/10 .

Tanks for the review OC3D

07-01-2013, 08:23:18

SPS
Good review. Personally I would never pay that much for a laptop, but great performance none-the-less.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Not a chance, Im getting another Vaio!
Is it just the look of the Vaios you like?

07-01-2013, 08:55:57

critical
Why do all these "Gaming" laptops all have the track pad where it is rather than to the right of the keyboard? Makes no sense to me and it will be tricky to game on it without an external mouse which defeats the object

07-01-2013, 09:47:38

badtaylorx
i have to admit i havent read over a laptop review in a LOOOOOOONG time....and i must say, I am not impressed!!!(with performance,not the review....that was good)

07-01-2013, 11:09:28

DwarfAdigginAhole
Hmmmm, I wonder how this would stack up against OriginPC's EON17s.

07-01-2013, 12:52:56

Writer's Block
Nice laptop, but that would be a decent chink towards my xeon system - if that's what I go for.

07-01-2013, 16:27:28

Mgutierrez33
Not a bad laptop at all. I would go for that over any Alienware any day (as I type this on an M11X R2... I WAS DESPERATE ). Only issue I have with laptops that size is their weight; I buy a laptop, I don't necessarily want it to weigh a ton (to me, a ton is more than 9 lbs), or eat batter life... This unit, it seems, covers at LEAST one of those angles, which is shocking considering the level of hardware on tap.

08-01-2013, 17:13:36

Koolzy
A very powerful laptop. With beefed hardware, that puts this machine among the best laptops out there. Nice review.

08-01-2013, 18:14:23

TnTblow
I would like to point out that on page 5 CPUz shows i7-3630QM and on pages 1 and 8 it is stated that it is an i7-3960QM.

15-01-2013, 18:21:51

blair
price is still a little steap the Clevo P170Em is still more powerful at that price.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.