MSI GT70 Dragon Edition Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

MSI GT70 Dragon Edition Review  

Introduction

Like so many hardware items, laptops have split into two very distinct camps. On one side of the fence we have the kind of models that appear in adverts on the television, shouting loudly about their 1GHz processors and whopping 50GB of storage space at only £500 for the 12" version.

On the other hand, and definitely in the camp that today's review falls into, we have the behemoths. The gaming monsters. Stuffed to the gills with extraordinary power and truly blurring the lines between the performance of a desktop and a laptop.

MSI have quietly been producing some seriously high specification laptops and it's about time we put one through the OC3D tests and discovered if it's possible to move from the desk to the train without losing gaming performance. Thanks to some extremely competitive pricing we've gone straight to the top-of-the-range model, the GT70 Dragon Edition, available for a very acceptable £1700.

Technical Specifications

The specifications read like a who's who of high-end mobile hardware. The Core i7-3630QM is a quad-core running at a standard 2.4GHz but with a serious overclock available, which we'll get to soon enough. The screen is a full HD 1080 number, and the eye-candy is provided by the nVidia GTX675MX GPU.

There are loads of storage options available, and our test system comes with 2x64GB SSD's in RAID, along with a big storage drive for all your media. THX Dynaudio sound keeps everything sounding amazing, and the inclusion of a Killer DoubleShot network and wireless solution ensures that you never get the dreaded death by ping.

CPU3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM Processor
OSWindows 8
ChipsetIntel® HM77
MemoryDDR3 1600MHz, SO-DIMM x 4 slots, Max: 32GB (8GB x 4)
LCD Size17.3" full HD (1920x1080) LED backlit, Anti-glare
GraphicsnVIDIA Geforce GTX675MX 3D Graphic Card
Graphics VRAM4GB GDDR5
HDD (GB)2x64GB SSD in RAID0 + 750GB SATA
Optical DriveBD Writer / Blu-ray / DVD Super Multi
AudioSound by Dynaudio, Channel: 7.1
WebcamHD Webcam(30fps@720p)
Card ReaderSD(XC/HC)/MMC/MS(PRO)/xD
LANKiller™ DoubleShot configuration (Killer™ Wireless-N 1202 paired with Killer™ E2200)
Wireless LAN802.11 b/g/n
Bluetooth4.0
D-Sub (VGA)1
HDMI1(v1.4)
USB 2.0 port2
USB 3.0 port3
eSATA1
Mic-in/Headphone-out1/1
Line-in1
Keyboard102 keys
AC Adapter180W
Battery9 cells
Dimension428 x 288 x 55mm
Weight (KG)3.9

   

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-01-2013, 06:25:58

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at a full-specced laptop from MSI, the GT70 Dragon Edition. Does it spit fire or just smoulder beneath its pile of gold?


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...115051135l.JPG


Continue Reading

07-01-2013, 06:49:44

Ghosthud1
thank god they stepped in the MX chips, the old fermi 670's are awful in laptops.

Basically a 560ti desktop card in a laptop , wish I wasn't a student as these things come at high cost

07-01-2013, 07:06:50

dugdiamond
nice laptop
it seems there is a new contender for the Viao

07-01-2013, 07:14:44

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post
nice laptop
it seems there is a new contender for the Viao
Not a chance, Im getting another Vaio!

07-01-2013, 07:35:48

dragoonk
Love the dragon on it the most, awesome performance but with that money I would prefer taking the time to build the rig I been dreaming of for years.

Awesome laptop though, and it looks fantastic, probably the prettiest gaming laptop I have seen and the custom color lighting for the keyboard is very impressive, you don't get that much flexibility.

I would give it 9/10 .

Tanks for the review OC3D

07-01-2013, 08:23:18

SPS
Good review. Personally I would never pay that much for a laptop, but great performance none-the-less.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Not a chance, Im getting another Vaio!
Is it just the look of the Vaios you like?

07-01-2013, 08:55:57

critical
Why do all these "Gaming" laptops all have the track pad where it is rather than to the right of the keyboard? Makes no sense to me and it will be tricky to game on it without an external mouse which defeats the object

07-01-2013, 09:47:38

badtaylorx
i have to admit i havent read over a laptop review in a LOOOOOOONG time....and i must say, I am not impressed!!!(with performance,not the review....that was good)

07-01-2013, 11:09:28

DwarfAdigginAhole
Hmmmm, I wonder how this would stack up against OriginPC's EON17s.

07-01-2013, 12:52:56

Writer's Block
Nice laptop, but that would be a decent chink towards my xeon system - if that's what I go for.

07-01-2013, 16:27:28

Mgutierrez33
Not a bad laptop at all. I would go for that over any Alienware any day (as I type this on an M11X R2... I WAS DESPERATE ). Only issue I have with laptops that size is their weight; I buy a laptop, I don't necessarily want it to weigh a ton (to me, a ton is more than 9 lbs), or eat batter life... This unit, it seems, covers at LEAST one of those angles, which is shocking considering the level of hardware on tap.

08-01-2013, 17:13:36

Koolzy
A very powerful laptop. With beefed hardware, that puts this machine among the best laptops out there. Nice review.

08-01-2013, 18:14:23

TnTblow
I would like to point out that on page 5 CPUz shows i7-3630QM and on pages 1 and 8 it is stated that it is an i7-3960QM.

15-01-2013, 18:21:51

blair
price is still a little steap the Clevo P170Em is still more powerful at that price.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.