MESH Matrix II 920 (Phenom II) PC System

Cinebench, PCMark & Pov-Ray Results

Cinebench 10
 
Cinebench 10 is a benchmarking tool based on the powerful 3D software Cinema 4D. The suite uses complex renders to guage the performance of the entire PC system in both single-core and multi-core modes. Testing was performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest results being omitted and an average created from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
PCMark Vantage
 
PCMark Vantage is the latest benchmarking suite from Futuremark. Differing significantly from their 3DMark suites, PCMark performs a series of benchmarks designed to recreate and benchmark scenarios of a PC being used for everyday tasks. Vantage has a Vista only requirement as it actually relies on several different components from the OS in order to run correctly.
 
 
 
POV-Ray
 
POV-Ray is short for the Persistence of Vision Raytracer, a tool for producing high-quality computer graphics. The freely available software suite is bundled with a benchmarking scene that uses many of POV-Ray's internal features to heavily test the abilities of the CPU.
 
 
 
Result Observations
 
Cinebench 10 shows that it can put the power of the Phenom II quad-core to good use by scoring some very impressive results in the multi-core rendering results. Only in the single core rendering and OpenGL sections of the benchmark is it beaten by the YOYOTech system, but this is no surprise considering the YOYOTech Spartan is heavily overclocked while the MESH Matrix II is running at stock speeds.

PCMark results are also very respectable despite not having any previous results to compare to.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-01-2009, 04:37:52

JN
"AMD's Phenom II hits the streets and we check out one of the first pre-built systems to be based around it from MESH Computers."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...102522268s.jpg

MESH Matrix II 920 (Phenom II) PC System

08-01-2009, 05:25:09

Rastalovich
(FC2 graph didn't push the YoYo stat through for me, it stayed on zero)

Have to be honest, I`m impressed by the cost and gear presented in this package.

I'm not surprized by the AMD offering mind u, as over the last week or so I`ve seen phenom based pre-build pcs popping up in a number of stores - and been shocked at what on the surface looks like real value, I`ve seen 399 for something basic`ish, but hey it still had everything with it. Decent monitor size, pleasant on the eye - and can actually do gaming/work to a more than acceptable level, considering we're talking prebuild status.

Sure, I`d seriously consider point some1 in this direction. Doubly sure I`d probably make an image of the harddrive (or switch it out) and do a fresh, non bumfph install to improve things that little %, but u have the backing of the company should anything go wrong with it.

If MESH are good c/s wize, I`d not hesitate suggesting.

08-01-2009, 05:41:46

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
(FC2 graph didn't push the YoYo stat through for me, it stayed on zero)
Yeah unfortunately neither FC2 or PCMark Vantage were available to us when testing the YOYOTech Spartan a few months ago. The results have still been included just so you can see how the Mesh II will perform in those particular apps

08-01-2009, 06:25:22

FarFarAway
Fantastic system at a great price imo.

Also makes me happy in my pants that it looks like AMD are releasing a great new CPU with some potential

08-01-2009, 07:07:22

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Fantastic system at a great price imo.

Also makes me happy in my pants that it looks like AMD are releasing a great new CPU with some potential
Yeah ditto. I really can't wait to get my hands on a decent AM2 mobo as that chip was just gagging to be overclocked but was being held back by lack of vcore/multi support on the ASUS board.

I think for the first time in a while you can go green without feeling like people on the blue team are having more fun than you are.

08-01-2009, 07:36:05

maz1989
mesh do have pretty good prices overall, but i found their customer service useless >.>

08-01-2009, 08:15:55

monkey7
Wooh 3.5gHz, nice That's going to be a hell of a clocker

Nice review Jim, and I'm looking forward to the phenom 920 with an enthusiast motherboard

08-01-2009, 08:55:05

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Wooh 3.5gHz, nice That's going to be a hell of a clocker

Nice review Jim, and I'm looking forward to the phenom 920 with an enthusiast motherboard
POSTed at 4.2GHz with no voltage adjustments, just FSB increase too. Not bad considering the last time I tried to overclock a Phenom it almost ended up taking a trip out of the window.

08-01-2009, 12:58:12

chefinal
Price looks great and i am sure they would sell a few of them cause of that fact. As well as the System must be ideal for gaming with a setup it has.

08-01-2009, 13:21:31

zak4994
Right, I'm gonna scream this in my cousin's face since he wants a new pc and was thinking of getting an Alienware.

I really think the performance shouldn't be a 8.5 but a 9.0 minimum at least imo.

Any reason not to scream this in my cousin's face?

08-01-2009, 15:13:16

maz1989
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
Right, I'm gonna scream this in my cousin's face since he wants a new pc and was thinking of getting an Alienware.

I really think the performance shouldn't be a 8.5 but a 9.0 minimum at least imo.

Any reason not to scream this in my cousin's face?
tell him to build a pc himself and it will be even cheaper

08-01-2009, 15:15:22

zak4994
He doesn't like building.

And I'm not gonna build for him either.

Already have too many projects/jobs.

08-01-2009, 15:29:53

GavX
Nice review, you have convinced me to get a Phenom II when I am less poor, I hope you are proud of yourself... there goes another few hundred Nice review, it does seem a great chip for the price and that MESH system seems great value for money even if some parts seem a bit cheapo

08-01-2009, 17:33:47

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='GavX'
Nice review, you have convinced me to get a Phenom II when I am less poor, I hope you are proud of yourself... there goes another few hundred Nice review, it does seem a great chip for the price and that MESH system seems great value for money even if some parts seem a bit cheapo
Cheers dude It's only money - think of the new hardware smell.....mmmmmm *sniiiiif* Phenom II!

09-01-2009, 10:54:18

Jaster
spittle the reason why you shuldnt scream in his face...plus dell, sorry alienware do not warrant the uber high end price...if your intelligent enough to warrant a salary that allows you to spend on alienware your intelligent enough to build yer own system (That rule does not apply to professional athletes)
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.