MESH Matrix II 920 (Phenom II) PC System

Test Config, Stability & Overclocking

Test Configuration

For the benchmarking stages of  today's review we are going to be placing the Matrix II alongside the recently reviewed YOYOTech Spartan 300. We must stress at this point that this is NOT a head-to-head comparison as the systems are aimed at quite different markets with the Spartan 300 being a base-unit only compared to the all inclusive package of the Matrix II. However, with both systems being based around an HD 4850 graphics card, it will certainly be interesting to see how the rest of the system performs.

Specs
 
As we will be using most of the results from the earlier YOYOTech review the suite of applications and games remains roughly the same. However, for the sake of completeness we will also be including a couple of more up-to-date games to give a better idea of how the Matrix II performs with the very latest releases.

Synthetic CPU & Memory
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• SuperPI Mod 1.4
• PCMark Vantage x64

Disk I/O Performance
• HD Tune Pro 3.10

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06
• 3DMark Vantage
• POV-Ray 3.6

3D Games
• Crysis
• GRID
• Unreal Tournament III
• Call of Duty 4
• Far Cry 2


Stability & Overclocking

MESH state that the Matrix II (and indeed all of their systems) are "turnkey", in that all you need to do is turn them on and they simply work straight out of the box. This was certainly the case for the sample system that we received, which gave us absolutely no issues at all on first boot. However, the ability to power-on first time is hardly a great test of stability and for this reason we subjected the Matrix II to an entire day's (12hrs) worth of OCCT and ATITool Artifact Scanning. At the end of the day, the system had pretty much heated the entire office, but impressively it hadn't faltered once.

Stability Passed
 
Of course, knowing that the Matrix II was fully stable at stock settings left us itching to find out just how much extra performance we could squeeze out of the Phenom II processor before things started to get a little wobbly. Unfortunately the BIOS on the ASUS M3A78 Pro didn't quite seem to get along wih the Phenom II and options such as VCore and CPU Multi had no effect. Never less, by increasing the FSB setting alone and running the memory on a divider this is what we managed to achieve:

CPU-Z Phenom II CPU-Z Phenom II
 
Interestingly the Phenom II 920 was actually capable of completing POST at 4.2GHz. But without Vcore options at the very least, there was absolutely no chance of making this stable.

Now let's move on to some benchmarks and see how the system performs at its stock speed of 2.8GHz.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-01-2009, 04:37:52

JN
"AMD's Phenom II hits the streets and we check out one of the first pre-built systems to be based around it from MESH Computers."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...102522268s.jpg

MESH Matrix II 920 (Phenom II) PC System

08-01-2009, 05:25:09

Rastalovich
(FC2 graph didn't push the YoYo stat through for me, it stayed on zero)

Have to be honest, I`m impressed by the cost and gear presented in this package.

I'm not surprized by the AMD offering mind u, as over the last week or so I`ve seen phenom based pre-build pcs popping up in a number of stores - and been shocked at what on the surface looks like real value, I`ve seen 399 for something basic`ish, but hey it still had everything with it. Decent monitor size, pleasant on the eye - and can actually do gaming/work to a more than acceptable level, considering we're talking prebuild status.

Sure, I`d seriously consider point some1 in this direction. Doubly sure I`d probably make an image of the harddrive (or switch it out) and do a fresh, non bumfph install to improve things that little %, but u have the backing of the company should anything go wrong with it.

If MESH are good c/s wize, I`d not hesitate suggesting.

08-01-2009, 05:41:46

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
(FC2 graph didn't push the YoYo stat through for me, it stayed on zero)
Yeah unfortunately neither FC2 or PCMark Vantage were available to us when testing the YOYOTech Spartan a few months ago. The results have still been included just so you can see how the Mesh II will perform in those particular apps

08-01-2009, 06:25:22

FarFarAway
Fantastic system at a great price imo.

Also makes me happy in my pants that it looks like AMD are releasing a great new CPU with some potential

08-01-2009, 07:07:22

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Fantastic system at a great price imo.

Also makes me happy in my pants that it looks like AMD are releasing a great new CPU with some potential
Yeah ditto. I really can't wait to get my hands on a decent AM2 mobo as that chip was just gagging to be overclocked but was being held back by lack of vcore/multi support on the ASUS board.

I think for the first time in a while you can go green without feeling like people on the blue team are having more fun than you are.

08-01-2009, 07:36:05

maz1989
mesh do have pretty good prices overall, but i found their customer service useless >.>

08-01-2009, 08:15:55

monkey7
Wooh 3.5gHz, nice That's going to be a hell of a clocker

Nice review Jim, and I'm looking forward to the phenom 920 with an enthusiast motherboard

08-01-2009, 08:55:05

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Wooh 3.5gHz, nice That's going to be a hell of a clocker

Nice review Jim, and I'm looking forward to the phenom 920 with an enthusiast motherboard
POSTed at 4.2GHz with no voltage adjustments, just FSB increase too. Not bad considering the last time I tried to overclock a Phenom it almost ended up taking a trip out of the window.

08-01-2009, 12:58:12

chefinal
Price looks great and i am sure they would sell a few of them cause of that fact. As well as the System must be ideal for gaming with a setup it has.

08-01-2009, 13:21:31

zak4994
Right, I'm gonna scream this in my cousin's face since he wants a new pc and was thinking of getting an Alienware.

I really think the performance shouldn't be a 8.5 but a 9.0 minimum at least imo.

Any reason not to scream this in my cousin's face?

08-01-2009, 15:13:16

maz1989
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
Right, I'm gonna scream this in my cousin's face since he wants a new pc and was thinking of getting an Alienware.

I really think the performance shouldn't be a 8.5 but a 9.0 minimum at least imo.

Any reason not to scream this in my cousin's face?
tell him to build a pc himself and it will be even cheaper

08-01-2009, 15:15:22

zak4994
He doesn't like building.

And I'm not gonna build for him either.

Already have too many projects/jobs.

08-01-2009, 15:29:53

GavX
Nice review, you have convinced me to get a Phenom II when I am less poor, I hope you are proud of yourself... there goes another few hundred Nice review, it does seem a great chip for the price and that MESH system seems great value for money even if some parts seem a bit cheapo

08-01-2009, 17:33:47

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='GavX'
Nice review, you have convinced me to get a Phenom II when I am less poor, I hope you are proud of yourself... there goes another few hundred Nice review, it does seem a great chip for the price and that MESH system seems great value for money even if some parts seem a bit cheapo
Cheers dude It's only money - think of the new hardware smell.....mmmmmm *sniiiiif* Phenom II!

09-01-2009, 10:54:18

Jaster
spittle the reason why you shuldnt scream in his face...plus dell, sorry alienware do not warrant the uber high end price...if your intelligent enough to warrant a salary that allows you to spend on alienware your intelligent enough to build yer own system (That rule does not apply to professional athletes)
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.