Cyberpower Infinity Achilles GT System Review

Introduction and System Specifications

Cyberpower Infinity Achilles GT System Review 

Introduction

It's been quite a couple of weeks in the hardware world. Just when you thought it was safe to finalise your list of desired hardware nVidia appeared with the stunning GTX780 and Intel rapidly followed up by releasing their 4th Generation CPUs and the Z87 chipset.

In one fell swoop most of us were left looking enviously at the benchmark results, and disappointingly at our own hardware which suddenly seemed obsolete. With a graphics card that makes even a GTX680 seem ponderous and a new CPU that requires a new motherboard, perhaps the time is is perfect to refresh your entire system.

Cyberpower are a big name on the other side of the pond and have been recently gaining ground on these shores. With a huge range of systems, the capability to customise them with any hardware of your choosing, and none of them being over-priced just because it's prebuilt, it is the perfect time to see what is available if you want to purchase a completely state-of-the-art system.

Today we're looking at their Infinity Achilles GT model which, like all their systems, comes with a 3 year warranty and telephone support from some of the most customer friendly tech people on the end of a phone.

System Specifications

Even if you're the type of person who only check in with what's current every now and again, you'll still nod appreciatively at the specifications of the Infinity Achilles GT. Top line, overclocked, 4th Generation CPU cooled by a custom water loop, best single-GPU card on the market, blazing SSD, bucket loads of memory all wrapped up in a great case. Even if you sat down with a blank cheque we think you'd struggle to put together a better system for a sensible price. Of course if any part of it isn't to your taste then Cyberpower will happily swap for alternate hardware. As always we'd recommend sticking with Windows 7 instead, but that's personal taste.

Intel Core i7-4770K @ 4.6GHz
Palit GTX780 3GB
16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2133MHz
Gigabyte Z87X-D3H
Samsung 840 250GB
1TB Sata III HDD
Blu Ray Writer
Corsair CX750
Corsair Vengeance C70
Cyberpower Advance CPU Watercooling
Windows 8 64 bit

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-06-2013, 06:34:57

tinytomlogan
Water cooled 4770K, a GTX780 all prebuilt and overclocked. We take a look at the Cyberpower Infinity Achilles GT system.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...124018274l.JPG



Continue Reading

17-06-2013, 07:44:24

SPS
For that price I am surprised to see a CX series PSU and a non-pro edition of the Samsung 840.

17-06-2013, 07:52:43

SeekaX
not a fan of the colors. not at all.

17-06-2013, 08:01:20

Greenback
The price isn't to bad for a prebuilt just did a comparison getting stuff from aria and an Xspc rs240 750 kit and it only works out about 114 cheaper doing it your self. So a well deserved gold for cyberpower, and a good write up Bryan

17-06-2013, 09:16:34

Initialised
Cyberpower have something like 3 million combinations of hardware so if you want different coloured fans, a different case, modular PSU, a different SSD just change it.

17-06-2013, 09:34:07

AMDFTW
beasty

17-06-2013, 11:47:06

seumasbeathan
Would have been nice to see an AX series psu, but for the money and the fact that is is a pre-built system, this thoroughly deserves the Gold.

17-06-2013, 13:34:14

VonBlade
I agree that for the extra 20 you'd be better off going with the faster write speeds of the Samsung Pro. The CX/AX debate is less important. If you're building yourself then the AX has plenty of benefits in ease of build, but the CX is more than enough for this system at half the price.

As we all know from speccing our own systems that you can always get a little better for a little more, but before you know it you've added 200 to the bill. You have to draw the line somewhere and I'm not convinced that a AX would have a noticeable benefit. Certainly the fan of the CX never span up under heavy loading which is realistically the only thing that matters giving that we're barely using half it's capacity.

Glad you enjoyed the review.

17-06-2013, 15:08:07

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
I agree that for the extra 20 you'd be better off going with the faster write speeds of the Samsung Pro. The CX/AX debate is less important. If you're building yourself then the AX has plenty of benefits in ease of build, but the CX is more than enough for this system at half the price.

As we all know from speccing our own systems that you can always get a little better for a little more, but before you know it you've added 200 to the bill. You have to draw the line somewhere and I'm not convinced that a AX would have a noticeable benefit. Certainly the fan of the CX never span up under heavy loading which is realistically the only thing that matters giving that we're barely using half it's capacity.

Glad you enjoyed the review.
I'd say that CX and AX are both sides of the scale tbh, AX is generally overkill but we enthusiasts love them. I was thinking a HX or even a TX, or maybe another brand.

But yeah good review nonetheless VB

18-06-2013, 02:09:14

Chuckers
Damn those Haswell chips are hot, even with custom loops.

Nice write up, I don't like the colour scheme and I think the fun of having water cooling is doing it yourself to match a theme so this sort of build isn't something I'd consider but fair play to Cyberpower for doing it properly.

As for the use of the Corsair CX PSU, it would be good to see one of the better quality units in there but CX 750w isn't a bad choice at all so that's fair enough.

Seeing all those air bags takes me back, the first and only pre-built I bought was from Cyberpower and I had great fun scaring my family by jumping on the air bags to make them pop

01-07-2013, 07:43:41

trigg89
Nice review! although I am a bit confused why they did heaven @ 8XAA? Bit of a weird one as most comparisons are with it maxed out @ 16

01-07-2013, 08:10:19

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by trigg89 View Post
Nice review! although I am a bit confused why they did heaven @ 8XAA? Bit of a weird one as most comparisons are with it maxed out @ 16
Heaven only goes to 8

01-07-2013, 09:18:10

trigg89
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Heaven only goes to 8
ah fair sorry was looking at anisotrophy settings.

In that case how is the 780 getting nearly 80 fps? My 780 OC'd at 1227mhz boost & mem at just under 7000mhz effective, with a 2700k@5ghz + 16 gb DDR3@1886mhz gets 62 fps? Also every vid/other review i have seen online i have seen gets around the 60's too. This with everything maxed @1080.

How is it 20 fps higher?

Is it done with unigine heaven 4.0? I am sure i am missing a trick here but just cant figure it out XD
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.