Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review

Conclusion

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review

Conclusion

There are many things to love about the Aria Gladiator Juggernaut.

Let's get a few things out of the way first. Of course it's not as good value for money as it would be if you'd purchased the parts yourself and built it. We know that. No pre-built system will even be as fiscally viable as a home build. BUT, you also don't have any of the worries about a piece of hardware needing an RMA and thus delaying your build, and you get 12 months of RTB warranty which helps ease any concerns. Finally we understand that not everyone wants to build their own computer, either for time or talent reasons, so this is a great way to obtain a lot of performance for a fair price.

So is it a lot of performance? Yes it definitely is. In a couple of areas, notably CPU, it's not quite at the level we've seen from Aria themselves even with a similarly spec'd i5-2500K. The 4.2GHz Overclock is on the low side, but how much of that is a limit of the CPU and how much is the MSI Z77 G45 is up for debate. However, we understand that we're just overclocking whores here at OC3D. The clue is in the name. Realistically a 4.2GHz CPU will be enough for anyone but the most power hungry, and you wouldn't expect any more for this price, especially considering that clockspeed is so dominant to the lay person that the price of other company's systems climbs astronomically for only a 100MHz more.

The memory choice is average. 1600MHz is good enough, and Intel have got a lot of bandwidth available on the LGA1155 platform so the big capacity chosen by Aria makes for a sensible decision. It looks nice and performs well, but it wont set your hair on fire. The same cannot be said for the OCZ Agility 4 which was fast and responsive at all times, regardless of loading.

But if you choose the Juggernaut you're doing so on the basis of those two EVGA GTX660Ti's. As a single card we wondered why anyone would buy one over a GTX670, but paired up they work tremendously well. They gave us outstanding performance throughout our testing, whether it was the purely synthetic world of 3D Mark, or the actual gaming of our many eye-candy options.

A very well-rounded system that will suit anybody who wants a system for daily use that will handle anything thrown at it, the Aria Gladiator Juggernaut comes at a good price for a gaming system, looks the part, and is quiet and solidly put together. It would be very easy to assume that the two nVidia cards dominate things so much that the rest of the system will be only average, yet Aria have chosen their parts very well indeed.

If you are one of those people who wants a gaming rig without either building yourself or paying through the nose, it's highly recommended and a worthy winner of our OC3D Gold Award. It's might not quite be 'The Juggernaut, bitch', but it's damn close.

     

Thanks to Aria for supplying the Gladiator Juggernaut for review. Discuss you thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-09-2012, 06:31:54

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...094527142l.JPG

Today we take a look at a new system from Aria packing SLI GTX660Ti's and based around the Z77 chipset.


Continue Reading

05-09-2012, 06:37:45

SnW
Do all GTX660Ti's have those power connections at the side ?!
really not good for modders IMHO...

05-09-2012, 07:26:35

Master&Puppet
To be honest that's a pretty decent build for a sensible price.

On the whole component selection is sound although I think they could have made more of that CPU overclock. I do have a little issue with providing 16gb of RAM. There's a lot of PC builds available on the market which provide i7 CPUs and 16gb of RAM and frankly it's just a marketing ploy and and a waste of money for a dedicated gamer's build. Bigger numbers aren't always useful and certainly aren't necessary.

I'd prefer to see 7950s wth 3rd party cooling in there instead of the 660s personally, especially given the price these days (at least from a retail perspective) but it's not a deal breaker.

The OCZ SSD though..for me that is. I was on the phone to Aria just this week and it was mentioned that they are still seeing high RMAs for OCZ SSDs and also that all the staff there have M4s in their own rigs. Speaks volumes to me. I can't see why they would risk the extra inconvenience for both themselves and the customer. I guess the margins must be worth the hassle and reputation.

Great to see good packaging and nice cable management too.

05-09-2012, 08:46:19

MSIRawZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Puppet View Post
To be honest that's a pretty decent build for a sensible price.

On the whole component selection is sound although I think they could have made more of that CPU overclock. I do have a little issue with providing 16gb of RAM. There's a lot of PC builds available on the market which provide i7 CPUs and 16gb of RAM and frankly it's just a marketing ploy and and a waste of money for a dedicated gamer's build. Bigger numbers aren't always useful and certainly aren't necessary.

I'd prefer to see 7950s wth 3rd party cooling in there instead of the 660s personally, especially given the price these days (at least from a retail perspective) but it's not a deal breaker.

The OCZ SSD though..for me that is. I was on the phone to Aria just this week and it was mentioned that they are still seeing high RMAs for OCZ SSDs and also that all the staff there have M4s in their own rigs. Speaks volumes to me. I can't see why they would risk the extra inconvenience for both themselves and the customer. I guess the margins must be worth the hassle and reputation.

Great to see good packaging and nice cable management too.
Thank you for the comments

The OCZ SSD issue was down to the SandForce controller issues on the older SSDs. The new Agility 4 (& Vertex 4) SSDs are nice and stable after our testings with them, and thankfully do not use a SandForce controller.

7950s we do have an alternative CF spec, bit pricier though - http://www.aria.co.uk/Systems/Gaming...roductId=51643.

This particular review system was sent before the price drops recently.

I couldn't agree more regarding the memory. Many including us do it, but as it's so cheap now (RAM), it's getting to that stage now with a system of this price - why not?

05-09-2012, 10:01:39

NRG!
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post
Do all GTX660Ti's have those power connections at the side ?!
really not good for modders IMHO...
any one with a short pcb will have them like that, same as a 670.

08-09-2012, 00:21:52

CPMFW
thats a pretty good rig for people that cant be bothered to build their own.

08-09-2012, 21:26:48

tiagojcp
I cant read the review. All the links send me to some kind of news site :/

Anyone else with this issue?

08-09-2012, 21:43:32

Josh Weston
It just sends me to OC3D's main page. Where are you being redirected to? Doesn't sound good...

09-09-2012, 09:13:04

tiagojcp
I'm being redirected to "dabs.com/learn-more/components-and-storage/amd-claim-sleeping-dogs-free-with-selected-graphics-cards-11858.html"

And I have to come to the forum to post this reply. If I try on the review, sends me to that site. And someone on facebook is having the same problem, so it isn't just me.

09-09-2012, 09:28:08

ruairi.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiagojcp View Post
I'm being redirected to "dabs.com/learn-more/components-and-storage/amd-claim-sleeping-dogs-free-with-selected-graphics-cards-11858.html"

And I have to come to the forum to post this reply. If I try on the review, sends me to that site. And someone on facebook is having the same problem, so it isn't just me.
can confirm this

09-09-2012, 09:35:14

jamesriley94
Yeh - me too

09-09-2012, 10:29:48

CPMFW
it was working yesterday...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.