Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review

Up Close - The Internals

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review

Up Close - Internals

One of the very few issues we have with the Carbide 500R was the cable routing options, so Aria have done a good job getting everything tucked neatly away as much as possible. The dangling cable by the drive-bays is for the side fan which has obviously been removed for these pictures.

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review     Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review  

Two cards of gorgeousness. Even with the rather strange power cable arrangement the cards just visually dominate proceedings. The Be Quiet PSU is one that we've always rated highly, and has plenty of efficient power for the whole Juggernaut system.

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review     Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review  

The G45 is good enough considering that all of the Z77 motherboards are solid performers. You could quibble about a GD65, but realistically the MSI is plenty. The Exceleram White Sark is a new kit to us at OC3D, but being 1600MHz @ 9-9-9-24 it is dependable if unspectacular.

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review     Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review  

A small niggle has to be the transparent nature of the PSU cables. Given how well the rest of the system blends together we'd prefer to see either some BitFenix extensions, or even a PSU that has more opaque cables.

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review     Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review  

Speaking of blending together, the combination of the white RAM, white Arctic Cooling CPU fan, and the white surrounds on the Corsair AF120 quiet edition roof fans, really looks awesome. It would be easy to just throw bits in a case when the main event (SLI GTX660Ti's) is so appetising, but Aria have gone the extra mile.

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review     Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-09-2012, 06:31:54

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...094527142l.JPG

Today we take a look at a new system from Aria packing SLI GTX660Ti's and based around the Z77 chipset.


Continue Reading

05-09-2012, 06:37:45

SnW
Do all GTX660Ti's have those power connections at the side ?!
really not good for modders IMHO...

05-09-2012, 07:26:35

Master&Puppet
To be honest that's a pretty decent build for a sensible price.

On the whole component selection is sound although I think they could have made more of that CPU overclock. I do have a little issue with providing 16gb of RAM. There's a lot of PC builds available on the market which provide i7 CPUs and 16gb of RAM and frankly it's just a marketing ploy and and a waste of money for a dedicated gamer's build. Bigger numbers aren't always useful and certainly aren't necessary.

I'd prefer to see 7950s wth 3rd party cooling in there instead of the 660s personally, especially given the price these days (at least from a retail perspective) but it's not a deal breaker.

The OCZ SSD though..for me that is. I was on the phone to Aria just this week and it was mentioned that they are still seeing high RMAs for OCZ SSDs and also that all the staff there have M4s in their own rigs. Speaks volumes to me. I can't see why they would risk the extra inconvenience for both themselves and the customer. I guess the margins must be worth the hassle and reputation.

Great to see good packaging and nice cable management too.

05-09-2012, 08:46:19

MSIRawZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Puppet View Post
To be honest that's a pretty decent build for a sensible price.

On the whole component selection is sound although I think they could have made more of that CPU overclock. I do have a little issue with providing 16gb of RAM. There's a lot of PC builds available on the market which provide i7 CPUs and 16gb of RAM and frankly it's just a marketing ploy and and a waste of money for a dedicated gamer's build. Bigger numbers aren't always useful and certainly aren't necessary.

I'd prefer to see 7950s wth 3rd party cooling in there instead of the 660s personally, especially given the price these days (at least from a retail perspective) but it's not a deal breaker.

The OCZ SSD though..for me that is. I was on the phone to Aria just this week and it was mentioned that they are still seeing high RMAs for OCZ SSDs and also that all the staff there have M4s in their own rigs. Speaks volumes to me. I can't see why they would risk the extra inconvenience for both themselves and the customer. I guess the margins must be worth the hassle and reputation.

Great to see good packaging and nice cable management too.
Thank you for the comments

The OCZ SSD issue was down to the SandForce controller issues on the older SSDs. The new Agility 4 (& Vertex 4) SSDs are nice and stable after our testings with them, and thankfully do not use a SandForce controller.

7950s we do have an alternative CF spec, bit pricier though - http://www.aria.co.uk/Systems/Gaming...roductId=51643.

This particular review system was sent before the price drops recently.

I couldn't agree more regarding the memory. Many including us do it, but as it's so cheap now (RAM), it's getting to that stage now with a system of this price - why not?

05-09-2012, 10:01:39

NRG!
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post
Do all GTX660Ti's have those power connections at the side ?!
really not good for modders IMHO...
any one with a short pcb will have them like that, same as a 670.

08-09-2012, 00:21:52

CPMFW
thats a pretty good rig for people that cant be bothered to build their own.

08-09-2012, 21:26:48

tiagojcp
I cant read the review. All the links send me to some kind of news site :/

Anyone else with this issue?

08-09-2012, 21:43:32

Josh Weston
It just sends me to OC3D's main page. Where are you being redirected to? Doesn't sound good...

09-09-2012, 09:13:04

tiagojcp
I'm being redirected to "dabs.com/learn-more/components-and-storage/amd-claim-sleeping-dogs-free-with-selected-graphics-cards-11858.html"

And I have to come to the forum to post this reply. If I try on the review, sends me to that site. And someone on facebook is having the same problem, so it isn't just me.

09-09-2012, 09:28:08

ruairi.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiagojcp View Post
I'm being redirected to "dabs.com/learn-more/components-and-storage/amd-claim-sleeping-dogs-free-with-selected-graphics-cards-11858.html"

And I have to come to the forum to post this reply. If I try on the review, sends me to that site. And someone on facebook is having the same problem, so it isn't just me.
can confirm this

09-09-2012, 09:35:14

jamesriley94
Yeh - me too

09-09-2012, 10:29:48

CPMFW
it was working yesterday...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.