Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review

Up Close

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review

Up Close

Opening the very sturdy cardboard container we find another layer of cardboard on top. Given how often it rains in England it's nice to have that bit extra security, should your delivery driver end up in a deluge.

With that out of the way we have an awesome bit of dense foam protecting the Juggernaut itself. Both top and bottom have loads of space around them, and it's very thick. Although we wouldn't recommend it, we think you could probably drop this down the steps and it would be none the worse for wear. Exceptional packaging ensuring your prized purchase will arrive in mint condition.

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review     Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review

One thing we always like to see is the inclusion of the various manuals and accessories from the hardware in the machine. It's a small element, but given that most users will buy a prebuilt system as a starter, and eventually upgrade it, it's nice to have the cables and things that are otherwise a pain to source.

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review     Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review  

Our review system came with the fantastic CM Storm Xornet, probably the best value for money mouse on the market at the moment. 

The Carbide 500R case comes in the hugely popular white, which is the colour de rigueur of everything since the i-devices first appeared.

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review     Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review  

We loved the Carbide 500R when we reviewed it at the tail end of 2011 and it's still a very solid performer. The blend of white externals and black internals might be reminiscent of a humbug, but it's a pleasing aesthetic. There is plenty of airflow through the case for applications such as this, and the whole thing is solidly built. 

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review     Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review  

Although the GD45 isn't replete with a wealth of connectivity options, there is still enough for the requirements of nearly everyone, and certainly all we'd expect at such a low price. We never tire of seeing two cards filling the PCI brackets up. As nice and technically clever as a dual-GPU card is, it will never replace the visual glory of two single cards.

Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review     Aria Gladiator Juggernaut System Review    

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-09-2012, 06:31:54

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...094527142l.JPG

Today we take a look at a new system from Aria packing SLI GTX660Ti's and based around the Z77 chipset.


Continue Reading

05-09-2012, 06:37:45

SnW
Do all GTX660Ti's have those power connections at the side ?!
really not good for modders IMHO...

05-09-2012, 07:26:35

Master&Puppet
To be honest that's a pretty decent build for a sensible price.

On the whole component selection is sound although I think they could have made more of that CPU overclock. I do have a little issue with providing 16gb of RAM. There's a lot of PC builds available on the market which provide i7 CPUs and 16gb of RAM and frankly it's just a marketing ploy and and a waste of money for a dedicated gamer's build. Bigger numbers aren't always useful and certainly aren't necessary.

I'd prefer to see 7950s wth 3rd party cooling in there instead of the 660s personally, especially given the price these days (at least from a retail perspective) but it's not a deal breaker.

The OCZ SSD though..for me that is. I was on the phone to Aria just this week and it was mentioned that they are still seeing high RMAs for OCZ SSDs and also that all the staff there have M4s in their own rigs. Speaks volumes to me. I can't see why they would risk the extra inconvenience for both themselves and the customer. I guess the margins must be worth the hassle and reputation.

Great to see good packaging and nice cable management too.

05-09-2012, 08:46:19

MSIRawZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Puppet View Post
To be honest that's a pretty decent build for a sensible price.

On the whole component selection is sound although I think they could have made more of that CPU overclock. I do have a little issue with providing 16gb of RAM. There's a lot of PC builds available on the market which provide i7 CPUs and 16gb of RAM and frankly it's just a marketing ploy and and a waste of money for a dedicated gamer's build. Bigger numbers aren't always useful and certainly aren't necessary.

I'd prefer to see 7950s wth 3rd party cooling in there instead of the 660s personally, especially given the price these days (at least from a retail perspective) but it's not a deal breaker.

The OCZ SSD though..for me that is. I was on the phone to Aria just this week and it was mentioned that they are still seeing high RMAs for OCZ SSDs and also that all the staff there have M4s in their own rigs. Speaks volumes to me. I can't see why they would risk the extra inconvenience for both themselves and the customer. I guess the margins must be worth the hassle and reputation.

Great to see good packaging and nice cable management too.
Thank you for the comments

The OCZ SSD issue was down to the SandForce controller issues on the older SSDs. The new Agility 4 (& Vertex 4) SSDs are nice and stable after our testings with them, and thankfully do not use a SandForce controller.

7950s we do have an alternative CF spec, bit pricier though - http://www.aria.co.uk/Systems/Gaming...roductId=51643.

This particular review system was sent before the price drops recently.

I couldn't agree more regarding the memory. Many including us do it, but as it's so cheap now (RAM), it's getting to that stage now with a system of this price - why not?

05-09-2012, 10:01:39

NRG!
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post
Do all GTX660Ti's have those power connections at the side ?!
really not good for modders IMHO...
any one with a short pcb will have them like that, same as a 670.

08-09-2012, 00:21:52

CPMFW
thats a pretty good rig for people that cant be bothered to build their own.

08-09-2012, 21:26:48

tiagojcp
I cant read the review. All the links send me to some kind of news site :/

Anyone else with this issue?

08-09-2012, 21:43:32

Josh Weston
It just sends me to OC3D's main page. Where are you being redirected to? Doesn't sound good...

09-09-2012, 09:13:04

tiagojcp
I'm being redirected to "dabs.com/learn-more/components-and-storage/amd-claim-sleeping-dogs-free-with-selected-graphics-cards-11858.html"

And I have to come to the forum to post this reply. If I try on the review, sends me to that site. And someone on facebook is having the same problem, so it isn't just me.

09-09-2012, 09:28:08

ruairi.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiagojcp View Post
I'm being redirected to "dabs.com/learn-more/components-and-storage/amd-claim-sleeping-dogs-free-with-selected-graphics-cards-11858.html"

And I have to come to the forum to post this reply. If I try on the review, sends me to that site. And someone on facebook is having the same problem, so it isn't just me.
can confirm this

09-09-2012, 09:35:14

jamesriley94
Yeh - me too

09-09-2012, 10:29:48

CPMFW
it was working yesterday...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.