Aria Gladiator HD2-K Review

Up Close

Aria Gladiator HD2-K Review

Up Close

The HD2-K is housed in the excellent Corsair 650D chassis which is a fantastic starting point for any rig. Good air cooling performance is important in any system, and certainly one with twin GPUs. The black internals really marry well to the black Be Quiet cooler so it all looks gorgeous through the window. Cables are extremely tidy, the NZXT extensions helping Aria to route them through the many cut-outs of the 650D so everything is sleek as you like.

Aria Gladiator HD2-K Case Review     Aria Gladiator HD2-K Cable Tidy Review  

Twin HD6870s provide the graphical prowess of the HD2-K and also look great against the Sabertooth, where you can see how much prettier the ASUS Thermal Armor makes the whole rig look.

Speaking of looks the all-black Be Quiet Dark Power perfectly matches the rest of the system.

Aria Gladiator HD2-K HD6870 CF Review     Aria Gladiator HD2-K Be Quiet Review  

With everything being so black it's a bit of a disappointment to see the rainbow effect from the PSU connectors.

Round the back there is definitely no lack of connection options with the multiple headers on the rear of the Sabertooth, the two XFX HD6870s and the ASUS Xonar soundcard.

Aria Gladiator HD2-K Be Quiet PSU Review     Aria Gladiator HD2-K Back Panel Review  

Round the front we have the superb Samsung BH123L Blu-Ray drive which is a Lightscribe DVD writer and Blu-Ray reader. 

Obviously having cable extensions allows for the front to be very tidy, but equally there is a lot of extra cable that needs to be hidden away and Aria have done a good job in tucking them all round the back.

Aria Gladiator HD2-K Blu Ray Review     Aria Gladiator HD2-K Rear Cables Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-06-2011, 06:31:18

tinytomlogan
In the market for an all-in-one system stuffed with the latest hardware? Aria.co.uk might have just what you're after.



Continue Reading

20-06-2011, 07:32:11

BigIan88
Monster of a machine and not that different from my current setup

Is 1.4v a 24/7 safe voltage for an i5 2500k?

20-06-2011, 07:51:38

dugdiamond
nice rig for the bucks

would be even better underwater

well done aria

20-06-2011, 07:59:22

adamjamesroe
Nice Looks, great performance and competative price- Nice rig Aria!

20-06-2011, 08:03:23

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigIan88 View Post

Monster of a machine and not that different from my current setup

Is 1.4v a 24/7 safe voltage for an i5 2500k?
About as high as Id say to go for a retail system yes matey.

20-06-2011, 08:11:07

marsey99
Brains sure can build a nice looking system can't he

20-06-2011, 11:56:24

SieB
Very nice, Aria does it again

20-06-2011, 12:34:33

badtaylorx
if i lived in the uk and didnt happen to build my own rigs....id be there in a flash with a bundle a cash

21-06-2011, 09:46:33

SG12004
nice system

21-06-2011, 14:54:23

Brains1969
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsey99 View Post

Brains sure can build a nice looking system can't he
I can't take credit for this system. It was a joint effort from MR. Rawz himself and our System Dept. leader (Paul C)

I'm looking forward to building these though

23-06-2011, 15:05:49

amagriva
Quote: "would be even better underwater"

Aria means air...

17-07-2011, 18:42:05

Gooseh
Hi, bought one of these systems, clocked at 4.7 It came in at 1200. Iassume it was a return or something so I got a bit of a deal.

Anyway, its a good system. Though Ive had my problems with it. Firstly the secondary HDD wasnt connected or initialised for use. That's a bit shabby imho.

Also Ive suffered frequent of crashes & BSOD's when using it. Its completely frozen with monotonous regualarity whilst watching blu-ray discs & while gaming requiring a full power off at the plug. It suffers from the sleep problem that afflicts these sort of systems & while pressing buttons trying to 'wake up' the system I've had bios reports of overclock fail. Oh and & well, its a bit noisy. Especially if you turn the fans up on the graphics cards but that might just be me, I guess its what youre used to. I usually build my own.

On the plus side it does run at a very good lick & games look stunning on my TV when it's buzzing away happily.

But.the worst thing about this system isnt the system itself but the.you guessed it.customer services. Or lack of it.

12 days after emailing 4 named members of Aria staff (from their website forum) & the generic customer services address Im yet to get a reply....from anyone, apart from the automated well try & reply within a day drivel ofc.

So Im just going to assume I built this thing myself & sort out its problems, Im used to it but if youre after a problem free expensive games station & you're thinking of buying just be aware that after youre money has gone out of your account more than likely youll be on your own unless you know what you're doing. You could always ring the 60p per minute technical services number. I daresay thay have someone on hand to respond to you.

Having spent 1200 or even 1400 if you did at the full price youd be entitled to expect to be treated a little better than that. I dont recall customer services being all that unavailable when they were emailing me & calling me to arrange the purchase & delivery.

Just a word of truth from a(nother) slightly disgruntled customer, and it's not the first time for me either but I won't go into that.

Peace, and have fun.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.