WD VelociRaptor 600GB RAID review

AIDA64 and PC Mark Vantage

WD VelociRaptor 600GB RAID review

AIDA64

AIDA64 gives us very similar results to those we started at with HD Tune. The Kingston SSD Now V+ is very consistent across every single test.

The Western Digital VelociRaptor naturally suffers because of the slower speeds you obtain as you reach the edges of the physical disk. The start and middle of the disk are very close but there is a sharp drop-off when the head makes it to the outside. Definitely demonstrating that keeping your hard-drive under about 60% full and well defragged can have big performance benefits.

PC Mark Vantage

Away from the hypothetical performance, does the real-world actually give us the same results? We all know that what can be achieved in a homogenised world is far different from the speeds we can obtain out there at the front-lines.

Sadly this proves to be the case here with the VelociRaptor RAID setup proving pretty much the equal of the single drive, whilst the SSD is miles away in the distance, over the horizon, with its feet up sipping coffee.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-11-2010, 19:15:22

tinytomlogan
Before SSDs there was the Western Digital VelociRaptor. With price per GB seemingly stable, it's time to revisit the HDD performance King.

Continue Reading

02-11-2010, 19:28:38

dipzy
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Before SSDs there was the Western Digital VelociRaptor. With price per GB seemingly stable, it's time to revisit the HDD performance King.

Continue Reading
They still pretty amazing drives, i got a 120gb ssd for my operating system, 300gb velociraptor for my programs and games also a 2tb sata drive for my music and HD Video's

There still alot of people who would still buy them as they are becoming cheaper

02-11-2010, 19:30:29

yggdrasil
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipzy View Post

They still pretty amazing drives, i got a 120gb ssd for my operating system, 300gb velociraptor for my programs and games also a 2tb sata drive for my music and HD Video's
How dose that setup work for you?

Work well?

I am thinking of setting my system up the same way.

02-11-2010, 19:39:16

dipzy
Quote:
Originally Posted by yggdrasil View Post

How dose that setup work for you?

Work well?

I am thinking of setting my system up the same way.
It works extremely well, you know where everything is and it easy to manage files on the pc. I find that since upgrading to this setup from just one 1tb drive with everything on it, my pc has become so much responsive and storage is not a problem no more

I would recommend a setup like this to everyone

02-11-2010, 19:42:16

yggdrasil
I just would use it for large programs, games and what not and the SSD for windows and smaller programs.

I got to much data to fit on a 600GB drive 5.5TB to much

02-11-2010, 19:45:50

dipzy
Quote:
Originally Posted by yggdrasil View Post

I just would use it for large programs, games and what not and the SSD for windows and smaller programs.

I got to much data to fit on a 600GB drive 5.5TB to much
5.5tb ? that a lot of data, you would need 3 x 2tb drives or more for storage

02-11-2010, 19:49:17

yggdrasil
I got one 1tb, one 1.5TB and 2x 2TB.

But my OS is slow as heck so this 600GB 10k RPM drive would serve nicely next to a Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 60GB SSD

since I'm a Western digital fan and Mushkin seems promising

02-11-2010, 20:17:18

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Before SSDs there was the Western Digital VelociRaptor.
And 15k LVD Cheetahs

I'm not sold on these drives. I would rather buy 4 Samsung F3 and raid them.

WD need to get with the times and get some SSD going. Infact what better way to progress the Raptor than to bring out an SSD that trumps everything else?

Sadly WD lately are reminding me of Jack Horner in the movie Boogie Nights. They seem to be refusing to get with the times and it's odd Bryan mentioned VCR because WD are living in the VCR age.

It will cost them eventually. By the time they do release a SSD (and let's face it they're going to have to) the entire world will come down on them like we all did on Nvidia for a bitterly dissapointing start with the 4 series (above all price was the deciding factor on that one, at least now they're cheap enough to ignore all the flaws).

Quote:
Originally Posted by yggdrasil View Post

I got one 1tb, one 1.5TB and 2x 2TB.

But my OS is slow as heck so this 600GB 10k RPM drive would serve nicely next to a Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 60GB SSD

since I'm a Western digital fan and Mushkin seems promising
Just be careful. On SATA 3 controllers they can act up and after reading a review on them in Custom PC (though admittedly one, not Raid 0) they weren't anything special. And by the time you raid 0 them for over 400 you can buy a huge SSD.

03-11-2010, 14:15:15

steve30x
Ive been using Raid0 with a year with two 250GB HDD's and it is faster than a single HDD but when it comes to small 4k - 28k files it is a whole lot slower than a single HDD. Sometimes when I am doing a defrag I have to restart the defrag process because the HDD's get stuck on a 4K file no matter what defrag software I use. Ive always liked to get two 300GB Veloceraptors and raid them , but with my current case I cant immaging how much resonance across my computer desk that would cause. With three 7200rpm HDD's the desk resonates horribly from my HDD's
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.