Ultra Stackables

Media Card Reader/USB Hub - Presentation

Media Card Reader/USB Hub

So now we come to the media reader and USB hub. This nice little Stackable is great for photographers or those of us with an obsession for portable storage. It's also a great 6-port USB hub for easy addition and removal of USB devices. Of course, we are presented with that flat black, 'suede-rubber feeling' look and feel we've come to love. Let's take a look at the packaging...

Packaging

Once again we see the matching Stackable box, same size and set up. Like we've seen in the past, damage resistant.
 
 

Package Includes:
(1) Card Reader & 6-Port USB Hub
(1) AC Adapter
(1) USB 2.0 Cable (5 feet)
(4) Horizontal Positioning Stands
(2) Vertical Positioning Stands
(1) Manual
(1) Windows 98 Drivers CD
 
Supported Media Types

Secure Digital
Smart Media
Memory Stick Duo MagicGate
Secure Digital HC
Smart Media C
Memory Stick Duo Pro
Compact Flash I
Memory Stick
Memory Stick Duo Pro MagicGate
Compact Flash II
Memory Stick MagicGate
Memory Stick ROM
Micro Drive
Memory Stick Select Function
Magic Store
Multi Media Card
Memory Stick Pro
TransFlash
RS Multi Media Card
Memory Stick Pro Ultra II
XD
Multi Media 4.0
Memory Stick Pro MagicGate
XD - Type H
RS Multi Media Card 4.0
Memory Stick Duo
XD - Type M
 

Specifications

* USB 2.0 Interface
* 6 Port USB 2.0 Hub (480Mbps transfer speed)
* All-In-1 Media Card Reader
* DC Power: 12V


The Unit
Another Stackable, another matching flat black color. The Media Reader is a bit thinner than the external enclosures, but it still runs with the theme of them. As we've seen before, we are probided with both vertical stands and horizontal stands, depending on how you want to use it.
 
  
 
On the front we see four slots for all your media card usage, with nice little blue LEDs next to each slot to let you know when one is being used. Four 'Plug and Play' drives show up on your PC, one for each slot. The back of the unit, has 6 USB ports, and acts like a USB hub, which is a great feature because a port on your desktop is much more convenient to access than one on your actual PC. All in all, the Media Reader is great for someone constantly using portable media, or someone just looking for a bit of convenience.
 
Heat and Noise
 
Without any moving parts, and no real bulk to the Stackable, both heat and noise aren't even worth mentioning. Little to none of either are output, so if you were worried for some reason, worry no longer.
 
Now let's move onto testing some portable storage...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-01-2008, 17:44:40

MikeEnIke
We take a look at the Ultra Stackables, a few accessories with portable storage in mind.

Ultra Stackables Review

16-01-2008, 06:58:45

Mr. Smith
Woo! Loads of replies!

I think these products are a waste of money!

16-01-2008, 07:09:23

mrapoc
Looks nice but surely those with existing external hdds etc. already have what these try to innovate?

If i had the money and i needed them i may think about it - but its merely stackable accessories

16-01-2008, 07:22:30

ionicle
i think they look sweet tbh

i like stacking things

i always chose stacking hifi componants, over a full system, a seperate cd player, tape, amp etc

i think this is a very innovative idea, even if it is based on an idea from the past...

if they come out in the UK i might consider these..

buy the one at a time as i can aford them lol

good review mike

16-01-2008, 07:34:38

Mr. Smith
lol - ionicle, people generally choose stackable hi-fi's due to superior quality/sound/ability to customise the system!

Fair enough you like these reviewed items but not for me.

16-01-2008, 07:50:18

FarFarAway
And to look good

These look cool. Not for me but I can see why people would like them

16-01-2008, 08:04:25

Rastalovich
The creative industry uses these kinda things on a regular basis.

Whether a home user would use a whole stack, I dunno, but the option is there and I do tend to think, again, that the home user would have it in association with work.

Just as an example, one of our editing suites has like 6 or 7 Maxtor units, 500g+ each, daisy chained across the desk, with it`s obvious issues regarding seperate DC adaptors for each. This kinda thing would help here, they get swapped in/out a fair bit. Speed isn`t that much of an issue as they use firewire.

Average home user ? Nah, possibly as a kind of icybox idea, esata is nice tho, very nice infact. Home user would use 1 perhaps.

Nice`n neat tho.

16-01-2008, 08:04:43

PV5150
I think they look very smart too. Sure they aren't to everyone's taste, but they definitely cater for those who want to keep a consistent theme on their desk. Well done on the review too Mike, you did an excellent job!

16-01-2008, 09:45:56

Phunky
Why was there no shots of them actualy stacked?

Also i dont get whats so good about them - at first i though oooh expandablity as i guessed you could just stack and extend the first unit, but it seems for each one you add it just becomes its own unit....

16-01-2008, 10:48:50

Ham
Nice job mike.

I reckon if they all went into one connector (prob usb...) then these would be a winner. Rather than faffing about with new drive/caddy combos every time you needed more space, just grab a new hdd and one of these enclosures and whack it in the stack.

16-01-2008, 10:50:35

Phunky
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
I reckon if they all went into one connector (prob usb...) then these would be a winner.
Yes - if they did that they would have a great product, im sure it could be easily done to extend SATA drives this way.

16-01-2008, 10:54:25

Rastalovich
U mean making one connection to the pc ?

The firewire ones here can do that, u just link the docks to each other.

16-01-2008, 14:42:49

MikeEnIke
That or you can just plug the USB part into the back of the media reader. Thanks for all the kind words guys. Also, there were I think 2 pictures of them stacked, just not a page dedicated to it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.