Ultra Stackables

3.5" PATA Enclosure - Presentation

3.5" IDE External Enclosure

Moving on to our next item, a matching external enclosure, but this time we have an IDE interface. This one's for those of use who don't have an extra SATA hard disk lying around, but have an IDE hard drive about. We once again have a matching enclosure that fits in perfectly with the theme of the Stackables, and is in fact identical to the SATA enclosure from the front side. Let's take a look at the packaging...

Packaging

As we've seen before, we have another small but damage resistant box for this enclosure. Just so you know, there is a cardboard piece inside which gives every included bit it's own nice little compartment.
 
 


Package Includes:
(1) 3.5" HDD Enclosure
(1) AC Adapter
(1) USB 2.0 Cable (5 feet)
(1) FireWire Cable (5 feet)
(4) Horizontal Positioning Stands
(2) Vertical Positioning Stands
(1) Manual
(1) Windows 98 Drivers CD
Includes Hardware

Specifications

As provided by Ultra:

* Plug and Play USB 2.0 and Firewire Interface
* Support 3.5" ATA 133/100/66 Hard Drives
* Maximum Capacity Supported: 750 GB
* 30mm Cooling Fan
* Front LED Indicators
* Dual External Firewire Ports
* USB 2.0 Transfer Rate: 480Mbps
* Firewire Transfer Rate: 400Mbps
* DC Power: 12V

The Unit

The matching flat black color once again. The look is the same as the SATA enclosure with different connections in the back. Included are those vertical stands for use of this without the stack, and horizontal stands which are little pads that work as feet and fit nicely into any Stackable below it, or even on the desk.
 
 
 

The front once again has the familiar LED lights for power and access and is indistinguishable from the SATA enclosure. When it comes to the connections, are two FireWire connections which allow you to DaisyChain up to 3 devices together, which is great if you have multiple PATA enclosures. Then, for those of us without FireWire, there is of course the USB 2.0 slot which can be used just about anywhere.

Just like the SATA enclosure, we are presented with an easy to open case with the ability to fasten it down with screws after installation of your hard drive. Inside are a 4 pin molex connector and an IDE connection.

Heat

Once again we have the included 30mm fan and front gill slits, which allow air to flow nicely through the small enclosure. This keeping the drive at a nice operating temperature that you can leave on for hours without worry.

Noise

Once again, no different than the SATA enclosure. Of course, we can hear the drive at an audible level, but it is in now way intruding, and no quieter than you would expect. The fan on the enclosure, is generally unnoticeable and quiet.

Now let's take a look at the testing on the next page...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-01-2008, 17:44:40

MikeEnIke
We take a look at the Ultra Stackables, a few accessories with portable storage in mind.

Ultra Stackables Review

16-01-2008, 06:58:45

Mr. Smith
Woo! Loads of replies!

I think these products are a waste of money!

16-01-2008, 07:09:23

mrapoc
Looks nice but surely those with existing external hdds etc. already have what these try to innovate?

If i had the money and i needed them i may think about it - but its merely stackable accessories

16-01-2008, 07:22:30

ionicle
i think they look sweet tbh

i like stacking things

i always chose stacking hifi componants, over a full system, a seperate cd player, tape, amp etc

i think this is a very innovative idea, even if it is based on an idea from the past...

if they come out in the UK i might consider these..

buy the one at a time as i can aford them lol

good review mike

16-01-2008, 07:34:38

Mr. Smith
lol - ionicle, people generally choose stackable hi-fi's due to superior quality/sound/ability to customise the system!

Fair enough you like these reviewed items but not for me.

16-01-2008, 07:50:18

FarFarAway
And to look good

These look cool. Not for me but I can see why people would like them

16-01-2008, 08:04:25

Rastalovich
The creative industry uses these kinda things on a regular basis.

Whether a home user would use a whole stack, I dunno, but the option is there and I do tend to think, again, that the home user would have it in association with work.

Just as an example, one of our editing suites has like 6 or 7 Maxtor units, 500g+ each, daisy chained across the desk, with it`s obvious issues regarding seperate DC adaptors for each. This kinda thing would help here, they get swapped in/out a fair bit. Speed isn`t that much of an issue as they use firewire.

Average home user ? Nah, possibly as a kind of icybox idea, esata is nice tho, very nice infact. Home user would use 1 perhaps.

Nice`n neat tho.

16-01-2008, 08:04:43

PV5150
I think they look very smart too. Sure they aren't to everyone's taste, but they definitely cater for those who want to keep a consistent theme on their desk. Well done on the review too Mike, you did an excellent job!

16-01-2008, 09:45:56

Phunky
Why was there no shots of them actualy stacked?

Also i dont get whats so good about them - at first i though oooh expandablity as i guessed you could just stack and extend the first unit, but it seems for each one you add it just becomes its own unit....

16-01-2008, 10:48:50

Ham
Nice job mike.

I reckon if they all went into one connector (prob usb...) then these would be a winner. Rather than faffing about with new drive/caddy combos every time you needed more space, just grab a new hdd and one of these enclosures and whack it in the stack.

16-01-2008, 10:50:35

Phunky
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
I reckon if they all went into one connector (prob usb...) then these would be a winner.
Yes - if they did that they would have a great product, im sure it could be easily done to extend SATA drives this way.

16-01-2008, 10:54:25

Rastalovich
U mean making one connection to the pc ?

The firewire ones here can do that, u just link the docks to each other.

16-01-2008, 14:42:49

MikeEnIke
That or you can just plug the USB part into the back of the media reader. Thanks for all the kind words guys. Also, there were I think 2 pictures of them stacked, just not a page dedicated to it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.