Ultra Stackables

3.5" SATA Enclosure - Testing

HD Tach
HDTach is a free hard disk benchmarking program from SimpliSoftware. It is used to measure the Burst Speed, Average Read Speed, and Random Access Time of the hard drive. In this case, it has been used on the same hard drive both internally and in the external enclosure.
 




 

As you can see, the inclusion of the eSATA interface for the external enclosure was surely a good idea, and it offered almost equivalent average read speed as if it were internal. The burst speed did not reach  the same level as the drive reached internally, but that's respectable from an external drive. Let's move on to our next test.


Sisoft Sandra is a synthetic benchmark utility capable of reporting and benchmarking a wide range of system components. For our Seagate SATA II hard drive we ran the read speed utility both internally and in the external enclosure, three times each to ensure accurate results.





Once again we see the external eSATA connection being just a bit slower than an internal hook-up, and the access time shows the same. We can conclude that all though the external enclosure with use of eSATA is not quite on par with the internal drive, there is a negligible difference in most cases.
 
General Usage
 
The enclosure fairs well with general performance. I must note that after using the enclosure for an extended period of time, I noticed some stuttering here and there, and every so often the drive would show up 'Not Responding' for no more than 30 seconds, then would come back online for normal usage. I wouldn't consider this a huge problem, and it could possibly be isolated, but it's good to note. Other than that, I found the drive to be a great addition to my set up, and great for taking files on the road.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-01-2008, 17:44:40

MikeEnIke
We take a look at the Ultra Stackables, a few accessories with portable storage in mind.

Ultra Stackables Review

16-01-2008, 06:58:45

Mr. Smith
Woo! Loads of replies!

I think these products are a waste of money!

16-01-2008, 07:09:23

mrapoc
Looks nice but surely those with existing external hdds etc. already have what these try to innovate?

If i had the money and i needed them i may think about it - but its merely stackable accessories

16-01-2008, 07:22:30

ionicle
i think they look sweet tbh

i like stacking things

i always chose stacking hifi componants, over a full system, a seperate cd player, tape, amp etc

i think this is a very innovative idea, even if it is based on an idea from the past...

if they come out in the UK i might consider these..

buy the one at a time as i can aford them lol

good review mike

16-01-2008, 07:34:38

Mr. Smith
lol - ionicle, people generally choose stackable hi-fi's due to superior quality/sound/ability to customise the system!

Fair enough you like these reviewed items but not for me.

16-01-2008, 07:50:18

FarFarAway
And to look good

These look cool. Not for me but I can see why people would like them

16-01-2008, 08:04:25

Rastalovich
The creative industry uses these kinda things on a regular basis.

Whether a home user would use a whole stack, I dunno, but the option is there and I do tend to think, again, that the home user would have it in association with work.

Just as an example, one of our editing suites has like 6 or 7 Maxtor units, 500g+ each, daisy chained across the desk, with it`s obvious issues regarding seperate DC adaptors for each. This kinda thing would help here, they get swapped in/out a fair bit. Speed isn`t that much of an issue as they use firewire.

Average home user ? Nah, possibly as a kind of icybox idea, esata is nice tho, very nice infact. Home user would use 1 perhaps.

Nice`n neat tho.

16-01-2008, 08:04:43

PV5150
I think they look very smart too. Sure they aren't to everyone's taste, but they definitely cater for those who want to keep a consistent theme on their desk. Well done on the review too Mike, you did an excellent job!

16-01-2008, 09:45:56

Phunky
Why was there no shots of them actualy stacked?

Also i dont get whats so good about them - at first i though oooh expandablity as i guessed you could just stack and extend the first unit, but it seems for each one you add it just becomes its own unit....

16-01-2008, 10:48:50

Ham
Nice job mike.

I reckon if they all went into one connector (prob usb...) then these would be a winner. Rather than faffing about with new drive/caddy combos every time you needed more space, just grab a new hdd and one of these enclosures and whack it in the stack.

16-01-2008, 10:50:35

Phunky
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
I reckon if they all went into one connector (prob usb...) then these would be a winner.
Yes - if they did that they would have a great product, im sure it could be easily done to extend SATA drives this way.

16-01-2008, 10:54:25

Rastalovich
U mean making one connection to the pc ?

The firewire ones here can do that, u just link the docks to each other.

16-01-2008, 14:42:49

MikeEnIke
That or you can just plug the USB part into the back of the media reader. Thanks for all the kind words guys. Also, there were I think 2 pictures of them stacked, just not a page dedicated to it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.