Ultra Stackables

3.5" SATA Enclosure - Presentation

3.5" SATA External Enclosure

First up is the SATA External Enclosure, here we have a matching (of course) external enclosure for those of us who need a bit of storage on the go. It fits 3.5" internal hard drives, and obviously supports SATA interface. This is great for anyone with a large media collection or if you just need to back up large amounts of files on a regular basis. Let's move on to the packaging...

Packaging

Just like the other Stackables, we are presented with a nice small box that's relatively damage resistant.





Package Includes:
(1) 3.5" HDD Enclosure
(1) AC Adapter
(1) USB 2.0 Cable (5 feet)
(1) eSATA Cable (6 feet)
(4) Horizontal Positioning Stands
(2) Vertical Positioning Stands
(1) Manual
(1) Drivers (Windows 98)
and hardware (screws)

The Unit

The unit is aesthetically pleasing with a nice black color to it. One nice thing included with this Stackable, and every Stackable are the vertical stands, just in case you would like to use your Stackable alone, it is held up nicely on it's side. It also includes its own power adapter for using it alone.
 



As for the front of the enclosure, we see two rows of LED light, the blue to let us know when the unit is getting power, and the red to let us know when the hard drive is being accessed. When it comes to connections, the enclosure comes with an eSATA PCI adapter which fits nicely into an open PCI slot and then connects directly to an open SATA port on your motherboard; however, if you can't use the eSATA, you are not out of luck, Ultra has also included a USB 2.0 Port so you can use your external enclosure just about everywhere. Also included is, of course, a power switch.
 


The enclosure slides apart easily, so it's no problem to open up and install a hard drive, and after installation you can screw the case on so it doesn't come apart by accident. Inside we find a SATA power and a data connector with six screw points to install your drive.

Heat

When it comes to heat, the enclosure includes a nice 30mm fan to keep air moving through, and little 'gill' slots on the front to take air from. Of course, warm air is output by the fan, but the hard drive never gets hot enough to overheat, and is kept only warm to the touch. It would be nice to have a small temperature sensor, but it's not to be expected.

Noise

The noise output by the enclosure is no more than one would expect from an external enclosure, and Ultra did a good job making including a quiet fan. Although I do not currently have the equipment to measure exact noise levels, I will say the the unit is quiet, and surely not distracting.

Now let's move onto the testing on the next page...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-01-2008, 17:44:40

MikeEnIke
We take a look at the Ultra Stackables, a few accessories with portable storage in mind.

Ultra Stackables Review

16-01-2008, 06:58:45

Mr. Smith
Woo! Loads of replies!

I think these products are a waste of money!

16-01-2008, 07:09:23

mrapoc
Looks nice but surely those with existing external hdds etc. already have what these try to innovate?

If i had the money and i needed them i may think about it - but its merely stackable accessories

16-01-2008, 07:22:30

ionicle
i think they look sweet tbh

i like stacking things

i always chose stacking hifi componants, over a full system, a seperate cd player, tape, amp etc

i think this is a very innovative idea, even if it is based on an idea from the past...

if they come out in the UK i might consider these..

buy the one at a time as i can aford them lol

good review mike

16-01-2008, 07:34:38

Mr. Smith
lol - ionicle, people generally choose stackable hi-fi's due to superior quality/sound/ability to customise the system!

Fair enough you like these reviewed items but not for me.

16-01-2008, 07:50:18

FarFarAway
And to look good

These look cool. Not for me but I can see why people would like them

16-01-2008, 08:04:25

Rastalovich
The creative industry uses these kinda things on a regular basis.

Whether a home user would use a whole stack, I dunno, but the option is there and I do tend to think, again, that the home user would have it in association with work.

Just as an example, one of our editing suites has like 6 or 7 Maxtor units, 500g+ each, daisy chained across the desk, with it`s obvious issues regarding seperate DC adaptors for each. This kinda thing would help here, they get swapped in/out a fair bit. Speed isn`t that much of an issue as they use firewire.

Average home user ? Nah, possibly as a kind of icybox idea, esata is nice tho, very nice infact. Home user would use 1 perhaps.

Nice`n neat tho.

16-01-2008, 08:04:43

PV5150
I think they look very smart too. Sure they aren't to everyone's taste, but they definitely cater for those who want to keep a consistent theme on their desk. Well done on the review too Mike, you did an excellent job!

16-01-2008, 09:45:56

Phunky
Why was there no shots of them actualy stacked?

Also i dont get whats so good about them - at first i though oooh expandablity as i guessed you could just stack and extend the first unit, but it seems for each one you add it just becomes its own unit....

16-01-2008, 10:48:50

Ham
Nice job mike.

I reckon if they all went into one connector (prob usb...) then these would be a winner. Rather than faffing about with new drive/caddy combos every time you needed more space, just grab a new hdd and one of these enclosures and whack it in the stack.

16-01-2008, 10:50:35

Phunky
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
I reckon if they all went into one connector (prob usb...) then these would be a winner.
Yes - if they did that they would have a great product, im sure it could be easily done to extend SATA drives this way.

16-01-2008, 10:54:25

Rastalovich
U mean making one connection to the pc ?

The firewire ones here can do that, u just link the docks to each other.

16-01-2008, 14:42:49

MikeEnIke
That or you can just plug the USB part into the back of the media reader. Thanks for all the kind words guys. Also, there were I think 2 pictures of them stacked, just not a page dedicated to it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.