Ultra Stackables

Ultra Stackables Conclusion

Conclusion
 
With all the different computer accessories out on the market, USB hubs, external enclosures, and media readers are almost always mismatched and look rather ugly when all connected. Ultra Products has solved this problem with the Stackables. These small little accessories, great for the storage junkie on the go, have proven to be quite on par with other accessories, with the added bonus of looks.
 
All units tested performed as well as one can expect, and therefore would be a great addition to any setup. I personally found these to perform quite well and were very convenient when transferring files or bringing pictures and other files anywhere I went. They aren't particularly portable in the size department, but just because they won't fit in your pocket doesn't mean they can't be moved around. The media reader was great for uploading pictures onto my PC, and it really could take just about any kind of portable media you could imagine. Everything was USB 2.0 compatible for maximum compatibility with all systems, and Windows 98 drivers were even included.
 
The Stackables can be bought from Ultra, and the price varies depending on what setup you want, but the setup reviewed costs a total of about $220, and they don't seem to be readily available in the UK as of yet.
 
Pros
- Matching so they all fit in on our desk.
- Great eSATA performance
- Great for use on the go.
- Media reader reads almost all kinds of portable media, and includes a USB hub.
- Customizable to your personal needs and taste.
 
Mediocre
- Perfomance on par with other accessories of their type.
 
Cons
- SATA enclosure wasn't always consistent during general use.
- PSU did not match the other Stackables.
 
 
 
Overclock3D would like to thank Ultra for providing the Stackables for review
 
Discuss in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-01-2008, 17:44:40

MikeEnIke
We take a look at the Ultra Stackables, a few accessories with portable storage in mind.

Ultra Stackables Review

16-01-2008, 06:58:45

Mr. Smith
Woo! Loads of replies!

I think these products are a waste of money!

16-01-2008, 07:09:23

mrapoc
Looks nice but surely those with existing external hdds etc. already have what these try to innovate?

If i had the money and i needed them i may think about it - but its merely stackable accessories

16-01-2008, 07:22:30

ionicle
i think they look sweet tbh

i like stacking things

i always chose stacking hifi componants, over a full system, a seperate cd player, tape, amp etc

i think this is a very innovative idea, even if it is based on an idea from the past...

if they come out in the UK i might consider these..

buy the one at a time as i can aford them lol

good review mike

16-01-2008, 07:34:38

Mr. Smith
lol - ionicle, people generally choose stackable hi-fi's due to superior quality/sound/ability to customise the system!

Fair enough you like these reviewed items but not for me.

16-01-2008, 07:50:18

FarFarAway
And to look good

These look cool. Not for me but I can see why people would like them

16-01-2008, 08:04:25

Rastalovich
The creative industry uses these kinda things on a regular basis.

Whether a home user would use a whole stack, I dunno, but the option is there and I do tend to think, again, that the home user would have it in association with work.

Just as an example, one of our editing suites has like 6 or 7 Maxtor units, 500g+ each, daisy chained across the desk, with it`s obvious issues regarding seperate DC adaptors for each. This kinda thing would help here, they get swapped in/out a fair bit. Speed isn`t that much of an issue as they use firewire.

Average home user ? Nah, possibly as a kind of icybox idea, esata is nice tho, very nice infact. Home user would use 1 perhaps.

Nice`n neat tho.

16-01-2008, 08:04:43

PV5150
I think they look very smart too. Sure they aren't to everyone's taste, but they definitely cater for those who want to keep a consistent theme on their desk. Well done on the review too Mike, you did an excellent job!

16-01-2008, 09:45:56

Phunky
Why was there no shots of them actualy stacked?

Also i dont get whats so good about them - at first i though oooh expandablity as i guessed you could just stack and extend the first unit, but it seems for each one you add it just becomes its own unit....

16-01-2008, 10:48:50

Ham
Nice job mike.

I reckon if they all went into one connector (prob usb...) then these would be a winner. Rather than faffing about with new drive/caddy combos every time you needed more space, just grab a new hdd and one of these enclosures and whack it in the stack.

16-01-2008, 10:50:35

Phunky
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
I reckon if they all went into one connector (prob usb...) then these would be a winner.
Yes - if they did that they would have a great product, im sure it could be easily done to extend SATA drives this way.

16-01-2008, 10:54:25

Rastalovich
U mean making one connection to the pc ?

The firewire ones here can do that, u just link the docks to each other.

16-01-2008, 14:42:49

MikeEnIke
That or you can just plug the USB part into the back of the media reader. Thanks for all the kind words guys. Also, there were I think 2 pictures of them stacked, just not a page dedicated to it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.