Super Talent 128GB SATA II SSD

Test Setup

Test Setup
 
Well this being my first SSD review, and well drive review for OC3D, I will be using some results from previous OC3D reviews for comparison.  My test system is identical to Rich Weatherstone's who has carried out most of (if not all of) our previous drive reviews.  The test system used was fully optimised for compatability and performance for testing the SSD drive and comprised of the following components:
 
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ Stock Speed
Motherboard: Gigabyte UD4P X58
Memory: 6GB Corsair XMS2 1600Mhz
SATA Controller: On-board ICH10R Southbridge
Chipset Drivers: Intel 9.1.0.1007
Operating System: Windows Vista x64 Ultimate SP1 + most recent Updates
 
As Rich has previoulsy pointed out, most people will be upgrading to an SSD drive from mechanical based drives and with that in mind I have used results from some of his previous reviews to compare the Super Talent FTM28GX25H to.  A brief rundown of their specfications can be seen below.
 
 Super Talent FTM28GX25HOCZ SummitOCZ VertexWD VelociraptorSamsung F1WD Caviar Black
 Read Seek Time <0.1ms <0.1ms <0.1ms4.3ms 8.9ms 12.2ms 
 Write Seek Time <0.1ms <0.1ms <0.1ms 4.7ms 8.9ms 12.2ms
 Average Latency <0.1ms <0.1ms <0.1ms 5.5ms 4.17ms 4.17ms
 Read Transfer Rate 260MB/sec 220MB/sec 250MB/sec 120MB/sec 175MB/sec 106MB/sec
 Write Transfer Rate 195MB/sec 200MB/sec 180MB/sec 120MB/sec 175MB/sec 106MB/sec
 Capacity 128GB 250GB 120GB 300GB 1TB 750GB
 Cache 64MB 128MB 64MB 16MB 32MB 32MB
 
As you can see the Super Talent FTM28GX25H has quite some competition, admitedly its from the other 2 SSD drives, but I thought it worth while including some results from mechanical drives also.  At the time of compiling this review, there were no updated firmware available for the Super Talent SSD.  But to keep the review and comparisons fair I have used exactly the same settings as Rich had.
  • Super Fetch: Off
  • Indexing: Off
  • Search indexing: Off
  • Defrag: Off
  • Sata Mode in BIOS was set to IDE for all hard drives
  • All drives formatted with a 4096 cluster size
  • Enhanced Performance was enabled in device manager for all hard drives
 
Testing Methodology
 
There are many ways to test a HDD or SSD drives performance, unfortunatley not many actually equate into real world performance.  As with previous testing carried out at OC3D HQ HDTune Pro results were proving to be unreliable at best for the SSD drives.  HDTach results, which once again is not the best utility for testing an SSD drives performance can be seen below.
 
 
This resulted in a sustained read speed of 220 MB/sec which while being 40MB/sec below the manufacturers stated read speed looked promising.  We will have to see how it performs in the other tests we have lined up.  To keep further testing fair I will be stealing I mean using Rich's rather full on set of tests. 
 
Synthetic Benchmarks
ATTO Disk Benchmark v2.34
PCMark Vantage HDD benchmarks
CrystalDiskMark 2.2.0f

File Write & Manipulation
Random file creation (15GB)
Sequential file creation (100GB)

OS & Gaming
Windows Vista Startup time.
Windows Vista Shutdown time.
Unreal Tournament III map load time.
 
Carry onto the next page for some real testing.   
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-09-2009, 04:48:00

JN
"Is the noise of your current HDD driving you mad? Thinking of buying an SSD but dont know which to get? Perhaps Super Talents FTM28GX25H could be what your looking for. Read on to find out." - by Wes

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...162100259s.jpg

Super Talent 128GB SATA II SSD

25-09-2009, 08:04:00

VonBlade
SSDs are easily the most desirable piece of hardware around. Silent, super fast, cool. This one is fast and reasonably priced. What's more to ask?

It scores 10 on the VB want-o-meter.

25-09-2009, 08:13:24

Rastalovich
In a climate where we often see the judgement of particularly graphic cards as a matter of /fps, despite the performance. Would it be a reasonable request to add /G at the bottom of the comparison table for the range of tested drives ?

Could be a good inclusion in cpu comparisons also being as, looking from the gaming pov, anything above a 3.2g (or so) P4 is regarded as a "minimum" requirement.

25-09-2009, 08:59:56

Datamonkey
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
In a climate where we often see the judgement of particularly graphic cards as a matter of /fps, despite the performance. Would it be a reasonable request to add /G at the bottom of the comparison table for the range of tested drives ?

Could be a good inclusion in cpu comparisons also being as, looking from the gaming pov, anything above a 3.2g (or so) P4 is regarded as a "minimum" requirement.
Hi Rasta,

Its a good idea and something i was going to include with this review, but as I was unable to find a uk price for the drive it would be unfair to just convert the $ to as we know that just does not happen when it comes to pc hardware. If i can find a uk price in the future its something I will be sure to include

VB,

100% Agree with you fella, now I would love to find out how they would perform in a raid 0 setup Will have to wait until their available in the uk though.

29-09-2009, 11:44:28

Bungral
When you say /G do you mean per GB???

If it's to be likened to the /FPS comparison, then surely it would need to be /Read & Write speed.

Think I know what I'm getting at.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
In a climate where we often see the judgement of particularly graphic cards as a matter of /fps, despite the performance. Would it be a reasonable request to add /G at the bottom of the comparison table for the range of tested drives ?

Could be a good inclusion in cpu comparisons also being as, looking from the gaming pov, anything above a 3.2g (or so) P4 is regarded as a "minimum" requirement.

29-09-2009, 11:54:32

Datamonkey
Hi Bungral

Nope /G should b3 cost per Gb as in Gigabyte.

Pound cost per Gigabyte.

Say a 128Gb drive costs 300 that would be 128 divided by 300 giving you an approc cost of 2.34 per Gigabyte for the drive

Hope thats makes sense. Doing as per read/write speed wouldnt work.

Cheers

29-09-2009, 16:17:44

Bungral
Yeah that's what I said... /GB

But my point is that if take the ratio on the GFX card which is basically the cost divided by the performance, then doing /GB isn't really cost by performance. It's cost by capacity.

I get that HDD's are generally considered on their capacity, but then it's difficult as performance should be factored in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Datamonkey'
Hi Bungral

Nope /G should b3 cost per Gb as in Gigabyte.

Pound cost per Gigabyte.

Say a 128Gb drive costs 300 that would be 128 divided by 300 giving you an approc cost of 2.34 per Gigabyte for the drive

Hope thats makes sense. Doing as per read/write speed wouldnt work.

Cheers

30-09-2009, 05:59:22

Rastalovich
Yeah cost per gb is the way to go.

It's arguable that the gfxcard's primary concern is to put up a display, but it's critiqued on fps amongst other things.

All things being equal, a hard drive's primary concern is to store information, it's speed to do so may well be it's critique.

However if the gfxcards had 128m of memory on the one hand and 1g on the other, the matter that the 128m model ran crysis on a 320x200x8 screen at 2000fps would be neither hear no there.

30-04-2010, 09:13:03

rrjwilson
UK shop selling this? or do we import and wait 4 months but get t cheaper :S

Oh and I have Super Talent DDR3 2000MHz Dual Channel RAM its the fricking shiznit. 2016MHz on AIR :O summer will stop this though and it will return to 2005MHz

18-05-2010, 17:22:58

hadesan
Will oc3d be doing any reviews of the PCI-Express based SSD storage?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.