Super Talent 128GB SATA II SSD

Introduction

Introduction
 
Super Talent Technology, located in the heart of Silicon Valley, San Jose, California needs no introduction.  Manufacturers of DDR, DDR2 and DDR3 memory modules and Flash based storage devices for computers and consumer electronics.  Having been in the industry for over 20 years Super Talent's electrical, mechanical and software engineering teams develop leading-edge Dram and Flash memory solutions for a wide variety of applications.  The company currently holds over 200 patents on DRAM and Flash module design and manufacturing processes, making Super Talent one of the worlds leaders in patent holders in the Industry.
 
Today I have the pleasure of taking a look at one of the latest SSD Drives, the FTM28GX25H; a 128GB SATA II SSD drive.  Within this review I will be measuring the drives performance and seeing how it matches up to its competitors.
 
First off a few specifications taken from the manufacturers website:
 
Physical Specifications
Form Factor 2.5’’
*Capacity 128GB
Dimension 69.85mm x 100.20mm x 9.50mm
SATA Interface Serial ATA-II
NAND Flash MLC
Power Supply 5.0Vcc ± 5%
Package Complete metal housing
* Usable capacity may be less than specified after formatting.

Environmental Specifications
Operating Shock 1500G
Operating Vibration 16G
Operating Temp. 0°C to +70°C

Performance Specifications 
Sequential Read Max 260MB/Sec
Sequential Write Max 195MB/Sex
Internal Cache 64MB

Reliability Specifications
MTBF +1,000,000 hours
Data Reliability Built-in EDC/ECC function
Data Integrity 10 years

Endurance Specifications
Read Unlimited
Write 70.1 years @ 50GB write-erase/day 
 
As you can see the specifications certainly look good on paper, the drive is based on MLC technology, while not being as fast as SLC it helps keeps the costs down for us the end user and as long as the performance is there then its a win win situation for all involved.
 
Lets take a look at the packaging and the drive itself shall we? 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-09-2009, 04:48:00

JN
"Is the noise of your current HDD driving you mad? Thinking of buying an SSD but dont know which to get? Perhaps Super Talents FTM28GX25H could be what your looking for. Read on to find out." - by Wes

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...162100259s.jpg

Super Talent 128GB SATA II SSD

25-09-2009, 08:04:00

VonBlade
SSDs are easily the most desirable piece of hardware around. Silent, super fast, cool. This one is fast and reasonably priced. What's more to ask?

It scores 10 on the VB want-o-meter.

25-09-2009, 08:13:24

Rastalovich
In a climate where we often see the judgement of particularly graphic cards as a matter of /fps, despite the performance. Would it be a reasonable request to add /G at the bottom of the comparison table for the range of tested drives ?

Could be a good inclusion in cpu comparisons also being as, looking from the gaming pov, anything above a 3.2g (or so) P4 is regarded as a "minimum" requirement.

25-09-2009, 08:59:56

Datamonkey
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
In a climate where we often see the judgement of particularly graphic cards as a matter of /fps, despite the performance. Would it be a reasonable request to add /G at the bottom of the comparison table for the range of tested drives ?

Could be a good inclusion in cpu comparisons also being as, looking from the gaming pov, anything above a 3.2g (or so) P4 is regarded as a "minimum" requirement.
Hi Rasta,

Its a good idea and something i was going to include with this review, but as I was unable to find a uk price for the drive it would be unfair to just convert the $ to as we know that just does not happen when it comes to pc hardware. If i can find a uk price in the future its something I will be sure to include

VB,

100% Agree with you fella, now I would love to find out how they would perform in a raid 0 setup Will have to wait until their available in the uk though.

29-09-2009, 11:44:28

Bungral
When you say /G do you mean per GB???

If it's to be likened to the /FPS comparison, then surely it would need to be /Read & Write speed.

Think I know what I'm getting at.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
In a climate where we often see the judgement of particularly graphic cards as a matter of /fps, despite the performance. Would it be a reasonable request to add /G at the bottom of the comparison table for the range of tested drives ?

Could be a good inclusion in cpu comparisons also being as, looking from the gaming pov, anything above a 3.2g (or so) P4 is regarded as a "minimum" requirement.

29-09-2009, 11:54:32

Datamonkey
Hi Bungral

Nope /G should b3 cost per Gb as in Gigabyte.

Pound cost per Gigabyte.

Say a 128Gb drive costs 300 that would be 128 divided by 300 giving you an approc cost of 2.34 per Gigabyte for the drive

Hope thats makes sense. Doing as per read/write speed wouldnt work.

Cheers

29-09-2009, 16:17:44

Bungral
Yeah that's what I said... /GB

But my point is that if take the ratio on the GFX card which is basically the cost divided by the performance, then doing /GB isn't really cost by performance. It's cost by capacity.

I get that HDD's are generally considered on their capacity, but then it's difficult as performance should be factored in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Datamonkey'
Hi Bungral

Nope /G should b3 cost per Gb as in Gigabyte.

Pound cost per Gigabyte.

Say a 128Gb drive costs 300 that would be 128 divided by 300 giving you an approc cost of 2.34 per Gigabyte for the drive

Hope thats makes sense. Doing as per read/write speed wouldnt work.

Cheers

30-09-2009, 05:59:22

Rastalovich
Yeah cost per gb is the way to go.

It's arguable that the gfxcard's primary concern is to put up a display, but it's critiqued on fps amongst other things.

All things being equal, a hard drive's primary concern is to store information, it's speed to do so may well be it's critique.

However if the gfxcards had 128m of memory on the one hand and 1g on the other, the matter that the 128m model ran crysis on a 320x200x8 screen at 2000fps would be neither hear no there.

30-04-2010, 09:13:03

rrjwilson
UK shop selling this? or do we import and wait 4 months but get t cheaper :S

Oh and I have Super Talent DDR3 2000MHz Dual Channel RAM its the fricking shiznit. 2016MHz on AIR :O summer will stop this though and it will return to 2005MHz

18-05-2010, 17:22:58

hadesan
Will oc3d be doing any reviews of the PCI-Express based SSD storage?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.