Silicon Power E10 and M10 SSDs

Synthetic and Gaming Benchmarks

Synthetic and Gaming Benchmarks

Everest Ultimate Edition

Everest Ultimate is, as our regular readers will know, one of our favourite applications for testing all our hardware. The Random read test we've used here has given some curious results compared to the tests on the previous page.

Everest also gives us a nice graph showing the variations in read speeds throughout the test. As you can see the E10 is much more like a race engine in that it has a higher overall speed, but many more peaks and troughs, but the M10 is, although slower, far more consistent throughout the entire test.

Dirt 2

To test the loading speeds 5 timing runs were made between pressing "race" and the screen going from the loading screen to the race intro, using the first Rally Cross event at Battersea. The fastest and slowest were discarded and an average taken. Although the differences between the two drives is only half a second, it definitely felt much faster than that. But that is why we time things and test things rather than go with gut feelings.

Modern Warfare 2

Call of Duty : Modern Warfare 2 was tested in the same way as Dirt 2, using a save game at the start of the level select training mission. Timed from "continue game?" to the loading bar disappearing.

Crysis Warhead

Finally Crysis Warhead. As this takes a lot longer to load than Dirt 2 and Modern Warfare 2, and time differences should be exaggerated and sure enough the E10 shines being 2.5 seconds faster than the M10.

Ok. So let's draw a conclusion from all this.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-02-2010, 08:11:35

tinytomlogan
VonBlade quinches his thirst for reviewing hardware, this time by taking a look at some Silicon Power SSD's.



Continue Reading

08-03-2010, 18:10:16

bhaberle
I wonder how bad the degradation will be.

08-03-2010, 18:17:07

VonBlade
As they come complete with the firmware necessary to reduce wear, then no worse than any other SSD.

Although the name is not as well known, the important parts are Samsung and Intel. Nuff said.

08-03-2010, 18:29:37

bhaberle
Yeah. You can't go wrong with Samsung. They are known to do the best against degradation.

09-03-2010, 14:24:33

VonBlade
Then if you read the review you gain this information before hand. So you don't ask already answered questions

09-03-2010, 18:50:50

bhaberle
I was referring to firmware of the hard drive, not the physical parts. No need respond though. Thanks.

01-04-2010, 03:08:54

ULPResearch
Nothing about power usage of these SSD drives. Silicon Power is also silent about that on their web site. Low power usage means nothing if there is no specification. E.g. I have seen Kingston 2.5 inch SSD drives which could consume above 5Watt! You can find 5400rpm drives nowadays consuming less than 2 Watt and much less in idle state. This is significant issue for net- and notebooks.

08-12-2012, 15:02:17

Deadfire19
Are these better than todays SSDs?

08-12-2012, 17:49:24

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadfire19 View Post
Are these better than todays SSDs?
Are you a troll reviving old threads or just some spam bot? If it's the latter I won't be expecting a reply
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.