Silicon Power E10 and M10 SSDs

Internals

Internal Shots

E10 32GB

Firstly, my word is this a pain to get into. I'm not sure if they've welded the main board into the case but it sure feels like it. The daughter board with more of the Intel NAND chips on it easily slips off, but the main board wont budge at all. Naturally we don't mind a little gentle persuasion but there comes a point where something is going to break, and it makes it hard to review if it's in bits.

         

Even more unfortunately finding the data sheet for these Intel memory chips is all but impossible. The proof will definitely be in the testing then.

M10 64GB

Unlike the smaller capacity E10, this uses the larger capacity Samsung 907 K9LBGD8U0M chips we've found on quite a few other SSDs. Although not quite as blazing as the other variant Samsung chips found it Vertex drives and the like, it should definitely mean we have very solid performance with few peaks and troughs.

These particular chips run between 2.7v and 3.6v and are first generation 32G MLC NAND chips. Similar to the E10 drive the main board is absolutely locked within the case and so it's impossible to take it out without breaking either the case or the circuit board.

      

Well that was disappointing for the chip fans amongst us. Hopefully the tests will give a clearer indication of performance.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-02-2010, 08:11:35

tinytomlogan
VonBlade quinches his thirst for reviewing hardware, this time by taking a look at some Silicon Power SSD's.



Continue Reading

08-03-2010, 18:10:16

bhaberle
I wonder how bad the degradation will be.

08-03-2010, 18:17:07

VonBlade
As they come complete with the firmware necessary to reduce wear, then no worse than any other SSD.

Although the name is not as well known, the important parts are Samsung and Intel. Nuff said.

08-03-2010, 18:29:37

bhaberle
Yeah. You can't go wrong with Samsung. They are known to do the best against degradation.

09-03-2010, 14:24:33

VonBlade
Then if you read the review you gain this information before hand. So you don't ask already answered questions

09-03-2010, 18:50:50

bhaberle
I was referring to firmware of the hard drive, not the physical parts. No need respond though. Thanks.

01-04-2010, 03:08:54

ULPResearch
Nothing about power usage of these SSD drives. Silicon Power is also silent about that on their web site. Low power usage means nothing if there is no specification. E.g. I have seen Kingston 2.5 inch SSD drives which could consume above 5Watt! You can find 5400rpm drives nowadays consuming less than 2 Watt and much less in idle state. This is significant issue for net- and notebooks.

08-12-2012, 15:02:17

Deadfire19
Are these better than todays SSDs?

08-12-2012, 17:49:24

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadfire19 View Post
Are these better than todays SSDs?
Are you a troll reviving old threads or just some spam bot? If it's the latter I won't be expecting a reply
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.