Seagate Pocket Drive 5.0GB

Introduction

Introduction

Seagate is a name familiar with all in the technology world for their vast range of storage systems. Today I will be looking at one of Seagate's newest creations, the Seagate 5GB Pocket Hard Drive. These "elegant, palm-sized drives can fit in your pocket, yet they safely store large business files, music, photos, videos and more. You can even password-protect your files".
These days the transfer of data from PC to PC or from home to work is becoming more and more important, the answer for some time now has always been discs or flash drives, but as the world progresses the storage limitations and fragility of these methods is more and more becoming a hindrance. Enter the Pocket Hard Drive

Packaging

The packaging for the drive is fairly basic and clearly aimed towards shops and retail outlets with the device completely visible and plenty of details selling the capabilities of the drive.

packet frontpacket back

Fortunately Seagate have not sacrificed protection in the name of aesthetics with this raised edge protecting the contents from falls from the shop shelf.

Packet side

The inside of the packet contains a set of quick instructions and information on compatible operating systems, a utilities disc with optional software and a separate plastic pouch with the drive, a silicon crystal pouch and a security tag

packet side

Overall the packaging suits the product and its market nicely.

Lets take a look at the drive itself....

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-09-2006, 08:30:52

llwyd
Its up and its my first review, so aim all constructive critisizm this way and ill get it sorted asap. enjoy the read

Here

12-09-2006, 08:33:04

Ham
Good job.

Theres two page 6 buttons though.

And i want my flash drive back.

12-09-2006, 08:35:58

Trippledence
Shame the drive shows as removable storeage rather than a harddrive, like my iRiver does.

Good review llwyd; got the link from the RSS feed anounce



Breaking news from Overclock3D.Net | Technology News, Reviews & Articles!

(1) Review: Seagate Pocket Drive 5.0GB

!news oc3d 1

-SamNeilBot- ......title(1): Review: Seagate Pocket Drive 5.0GB

-SamNeilBot- description(1): Posted By: llwyd. Post Date: 2006-09-12 13:27:40.

-SamNeilBot- .......link(1): http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=106&page=1

12-09-2006, 08:41:01

llwyd
lol hold your horses boys and girls, its not meant to be active yet

12-09-2006, 09:50:46

FarFarAway
All good now

12-09-2006, 16:51:30

Raven
Kempez, the first image on page 5 cannot be enlarge as the other pictures.

firefox ask me if i want to save the image or open it.

otherwise it looked good

13-09-2006, 02:36:37

PV5150
Well done Llwyd on a very respectable review. The only criticism I'd make if I may, is the quality of some of the pics. Some seem a little hazy or just out of focus. And when taking pics where there is reflective plastic; try taking a pic on a slight angle so the flash doesn't appear in the middle of the pic. But, an awesome first effort regardless...Keep up the good work

13-09-2006, 14:02:52

dave87
Nice one llwyd, good review. Still not something I would carry due to its capacity - for documents - 1gb flash stick - for bulkier files there are better (40gb) Hard Drives that are as easily carried.

Dave
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.