Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 750 GB SATA Hard Drive

BenchMark - HD Tach

HD Tach

HD Tach is a benchmark that is designed to test hard drive speed. As noted before I tested each drive three times to check for consistency, and averaged results. I am posting the graphs for you to see for yourselves as the HD Tach graphs are pretty relevant.

Here are the scores for the Hitachi Deskstar 7K160:

hitachi deskstar HD tach

HD Tach for the RAID 0 array using 2 x Hitachi Deskstar 7K250:

deskstar RAID 0 array

And the results of the Seagate 7200.10 750 GB:

seagate 7200.10 750

As you can see, the Seagate drive had a higher average read and burst speed than the Deskstar drive. The Hitachi drive did have a slightly lower access time, but this was not significant at all. For such a huge drive the Seagate performed admirably against what is considered one of the fastest 7200 RPM drives on the market.

* Please note that the HD Tach results seem somewhat low for all drives. I am currently investigating this.

Revised Results:

HD Tach

The results look a lot closer to what they should be. All of the other results were accurate.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-07-2005, 04:11:19

balilu
"... ..for the amount of money you are paying you are getting a drive that is one of the fastest drives available as well as the largest in capacity, which in my opinion is worth paying a premium price for."

http://hi-techreviews.com/reviews/7K500/hitachi.html

07-07-2005, 04:33:42

bloodthirst
yes and its also sata II

ay from the picture in the link.... im not very familiar with sata but that looks ide?

07-07-2005, 05:13:03

limqareb
do all mobo support it?

07-07-2005, 06:08:40

bloodthirst
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
do all mobo support it?
SATA II im pretty sure most chipsets already support it

07-07-2005, 09:49:25

balilu
your right the one in the pic is the IDE Version but there is also the SATA II Version.

All mobos support it even if it is sata 2 and the mobo is only sata 1 but int that case it lacks the features of sata 2

07-07-2005, 10:01:54

bloodthirst
yeah all tho i cannot really see any major bennifits of sata II compared to sata I

08-07-2005, 04:38:19

balilu
NCQ is one of the best achievements sata 2 has

08-07-2005, 05:16:59

Dav0s
someone wana explain what NCQ is?

08-07-2005, 05:38:59

bloodthirst
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Dave'
someone wana explain what NCQ is?
yeah i know im confused about it as well

08-07-2005, 05:42:28

bloodthirst
okk well i just googled NCQ hard drive technology and it seems to be when

NCQ technology allows drives to prioritize a PC's data requests.

08-07-2005, 07:10:21

balilu
look at this you don't need to turn the page

08-07-2005, 07:13:07

Dav0s
cheers bal! repped u cos that was interesting

08-07-2005, 07:38:11

bloodthirst
yeah i think it deserves some reps as well it was very interesting well deserved

08-07-2005, 09:06:19

balilu
thnks guys
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.