Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 750 GB SATA Hard Drive

Test Setup

Test Setup

For this test I will use the following Test Setup:


AMD 64 3200+ Venice @ 2.55GHz
DFI LANPARTY UT Sli-D motherboard
Mushkin Redline PC4000 running at 255 x 10 1:1 3-3-2-5
HDD: OS - 160gb Hitachi Deskstar SATA II
Sound: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power: PCP&C 510 SLi
Case: Coolermaster stacker with a lot of additional cooling

The drives I will be using will be:

160gb Hitachi Deskstar SATA II (in addition to the OS drive)

2 x 40gb Hitachi Deskstars in RAID 0

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 750 GB


I will test this using SiSoft Sandra, PC Mark 05, HD Tach. I will also transfer a 1.91GB file from the OS drive to each drive and time this. Each test was repeated three times for consistancy and the results averaged.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-07-2005, 04:11:19

balilu
"... ..for the amount of money you are paying you are getting a drive that is one of the fastest drives available as well as the largest in capacity, which in my opinion is worth paying a premium price for."

http://hi-techreviews.com/reviews/7K500/hitachi.html

07-07-2005, 04:33:42

bloodthirst
yes and its also sata II

ay from the picture in the link.... im not very familiar with sata but that looks ide?

07-07-2005, 05:13:03

limqareb
do all mobo support it?

07-07-2005, 06:08:40

bloodthirst
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
do all mobo support it?
SATA II im pretty sure most chipsets already support it

07-07-2005, 09:49:25

balilu
your right the one in the pic is the IDE Version but there is also the SATA II Version.

All mobos support it even if it is sata 2 and the mobo is only sata 1 but int that case it lacks the features of sata 2

07-07-2005, 10:01:54

bloodthirst
yeah all tho i cannot really see any major bennifits of sata II compared to sata I

08-07-2005, 04:38:19

balilu
NCQ is one of the best achievements sata 2 has

08-07-2005, 05:16:59

Dav0s
someone wana explain what NCQ is?

08-07-2005, 05:38:59

bloodthirst
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Dave'
someone wana explain what NCQ is?
yeah i know im confused about it as well

08-07-2005, 05:42:28

bloodthirst
okk well i just googled NCQ hard drive technology and it seems to be when

NCQ technology allows drives to prioritize a PC's data requests.

08-07-2005, 07:10:21

balilu
look at this you don't need to turn the page

08-07-2005, 07:13:07

Dav0s
cheers bal! repped u cos that was interesting

08-07-2005, 07:38:11

bloodthirst
yeah i think it deserves some reps as well it was very interesting well deserved

08-07-2005, 09:06:19

balilu
thnks guys
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.