Scythe Kama Connect 2

Installation

Installation
 
Installation of the Scythe Kama Connect 2 is as easy as connecting your chosen hardware, inserting the power plug and USB cable into a spare USB port and switching it on. You can see that I chose to use a trusty old Pioneer DVR-A06 CD/DVD drive and a Seagate 7200.10 80GB SATA II hard disk drive.
 
The blue LED that you can see shines steady and is indicative of power getting to the unit, the red LED shows HDD activity.
 
Scythe Kama Connect 2 Scythe Kama Connect 2_2
 
One thing that does warrant a mention here though is that the supplied USB cable may be too short (setup dependent of course). For those of you who have the desk space available and have your chassis on the desk itself, then you should be fine. However, for those who have their chassis sitting on the floor, you may run into trouble when trying to get the cable to stretch that far. Owners of notebooks shouldn't encounter any problems.
 
Let's head over the page to see how we're going to test the Scythe Kama Connect 2...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-01-2008, 08:17:47

PV5150
Looking for ways of accessing your storage drives externally and on the run? Scythe may have something of interest for you then...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...065925420s.jpg

Scythe Kama Connect 2

29-01-2008, 08:21:13

Toxcity
Very well written review Matt!

Looks to be a good idea as well.

29-01-2008, 17:23:18

ali_james
Honestly can't they think of another damn name, everything they make is called a Kama Connect, Kama Bay, Kama Meter.

Nice review anyhow

Looks a very neat idea as you said.

Cheers!

29-01-2008, 17:25:18

markkleb
LOL, silly name GREAT product!

Nice job guys.

29-01-2008, 18:41:20

Pseudonym
Nice review, and for that kind of price, i might get one myself.

Shame there's no firewire as my usb is playing up thinking its 1.1 and restarting explorer.

29-01-2008, 21:58:23

MikeEnIke
It's a great idea, i know i wish i had one for the many hard drives i have lying around. Nice review too Peeves.

30-01-2008, 03:07:06

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback guys it's much appreciated. The Kama Connect 2 is certainly a handy little item, and one that could possibly be further improved by including firewire too.

30-01-2008, 03:18:56

JN
Good review mate. I think I will actually go and buy one of these because I cant count the number of times I've had to install friends/family hard disks in my machine to get their data off when their PC's have fooked up.

30-01-2008, 04:06:39

PV5150
Thanks Jim. The Connect 2 would be perfect for that application, please let me know what you think if you get your hands on one

30-01-2008, 07:08:25

Rastalovich
Great review. Nice bit of kit tbh. At the price it is, I`d look to get one just to have it handy.

There firewire options or esata ?

hehe u could use one of these on that new Macbook that has nothing.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.