Scythe Himuro Hard Disk Cooler

Conclusion

Conclusion Scythe Himuro
 
So how did the Scythe Himuro perform in today's review?
 
The build quality of the Scythe Himuro is very good and it certainly looks the part in my opinion. The slick looking black Aluminium enclosure and large cooling fins would certainly lend itself well to a HTPC build, where passive and quiet are predominantly the key. I really like the look of the Himuro over and above the Scythe Quiet Drive.
 
Unfortunately in today's testing, the Scythe Himuro failed to provide the cooling performance that we had expected. As a result the dream remains unrealised. That's not to say that the Himuro won't provide effective cooling for your HDD, it's just that Scythe has an uphill battle trying to market a cooler that doesn't provide better temperatures than the stock, uncooled equivalent. However, if silence is more your thing and slightly elevated temperatures isn't an issue then you may well consider the Scythe Himuro.
 
In conclusion, when we consider the Scythe Himuro's performance as a whole it begs the question of whether it's worth the asking price of 20 Quid. Given the elevated temperatures during today's testing I'm inclined to say no. However, if the Himuro's good looks and near silent operation appeal to you then it's your call.
 
The Scythe Himuro Hard Disk Cooler can be purchased from Quietpc.com for £19.99 inc. 17.5% VAT.
 
The Good
+ Build Quality
+ Looks
+ Significantly reduces HDD noise
+ Relative ease of installation
 
The Mediocre
* Slightly lacking in accessories
 
The Bad
- Elevated temperatures
 
OC3D Reviewed Award
 
Overclock3D would like to thank Scythe EU for providing today's review sample
 
Discuss the Scythe Himuro in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-07-2008, 06:28:14

PV5150
Will the stylish Scythe Himuro deliver reduced operating temperatures for your HDD's?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...151836587s.gif

Check out the review

13-07-2008, 06:55:21

w3bbo
Nice review PV. Seems that if you have a noisy HD (Raptors?) then this might be worth considering but for quiet drives there is little point to it.

I'm not keen on losing a number of drivebays to fit them either.

13-07-2008, 07:02:07

PV5150
Thanks mate. Yeah the Himuro certainly works better at quietening them down than cooling them. Disappointing considering it's marketed predominantly as a HDD cooler

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
I'm not keen on losing a number of drivebays to fit them either.
Agreed

13-07-2008, 07:05:36

PV5150
Thanks mate. Yeah the Himuro certainly works better at quietening them down than cooling them. Disappointing considering it's marketed predominantly as a HDD cooler

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
I'm not keen on losing a number of drivebays to fit them either.
Agreed

13-07-2008, 07:32:07

Silentsnake
that is disappointing lol... its as if they thinkthat they can stick fins on anything and say look this will cool this part down...

agree with webbo

btw nice review

16-07-2008, 16:36:21

Luigi
Ooh nice review

Although, my only gripe, Im sure the heat is on the bottom of a HDD?

03-03-2014, 12:03:00

HandsomeVoice
Hi, I have a question about Scythe Himuro
Once it is installed in the computer, it seems like the Himuro can slide around because of the feet?
Even after the feet are screwed into the computer can the Himuro still slide back and forth? That would be bad

03-03-2014, 12:07:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by HandsomeVoice View Post
Hi, I have a question about Scythe Himuro
Once it is installed in the computer, it seems like the Himuro can slide around because of the feet?
Even after the feet are screwed into the computer can the Himuro still slide back and forth? That would be bad
Sadly dude this was reviewed 6 years ago so you wont be able to get an answer from the reviewer, hes not even around anymore
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.