SATA 3 SSD Roundup Review

Conclusion

Anvil SSD Benchmark Introduction

Conclusion

We know that people are paying closer attention to the IOPS result as more and more manufacturers include it in their technical specifications and advertising blurb. Now we've finally found a tool that can easily and consistently give us usable IOPS testing, what new information does it give us?

Oddly, we don't think there is much that IOPS can inform us of that isn't clear in the MB/s rating. Generally the two are linear with the lower IOPS score leading to a lower pure data transfer rate.

Probably most surprising is how varied the results can be which shows how important it is to use a multitude of testing to get a clear view of the performance of the drives under a variety of scenarios. If we just looked at AIDA64 we would think the Mushkin was the lesser drive. Crystal Disk Mark clearly favours the Intel and Corsair drives. Otherwise they are all amazingly close and there really isn't a lot between them. This further ads weight to our argument that its difficult to get a drive that clearly leads or lags across all of the benchmark results.

So of the four drives we have on test today, which gives the best results?

I think it's pretty obvious that the Intel 520 was the most consistent drive throughout all of our testing, in both the read and write benchmarks. All the other drives had strong results and weak results, but the Intel just kept churning out high scores regardless of what we threw at it and that would have to be our recommended drive of the four on test. Although it is of course worth noticing than in real-life daily usage any of these drives would be nearly inseparable and provide the performance increase that we're all so desperate for.

Thanks to Intel, Mushkin, Corsair and Kingston for providing the drives on test today.

Let us know your thoughts in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-02-2012, 04:11:41

tinytomlogan


As we bring a new benchmark to the OC3D suite of testing, we thought we'd give you a quick run through of some popular SSDs.

Continue Reading

27-02-2012, 04:43:27

airdeano
bravo... awesome review. thank you for the information, testing and evaluation. puts a better light

to the SSD market. and thatll change with the months due to more and more technology and users of SSD.

airdeano

27-02-2012, 08:02:25

Excalabur50
Nice review OC3D just keeps getting better and better

27-02-2012, 08:24:08

dugdiamond
great review VB

27-02-2012, 08:39:10

steve30x
The prices are finally coming down now and should be a reasonable in price within the next two years hopefully so it will be time to upgrade to SSD when that time comes.

27-02-2012, 08:46:05

Leerooy
Interestingly enough, I was reading an article on Tom's Hardware that took a look at Toshiba's 400GB Enterprise SSD, a $7000 USD SSD. In their testing, the Intel 520 outperformed it in many regards as well. I never really looked at SSDs and compared them but these last two articles I have read from two sites I trust have me very impressed with the Intel 520 Series, to say the least. Well done on the review.

27-02-2012, 10:32:19

badtaylorx
funny how dif. benchmarks can paint such dif. pictures.....

27-02-2012, 17:43:18

chudley
Finally a review for SSDs, all I need to do is price them up to see which one comes out on top

All prices are approx after a quick search:

Intel = 360

Mushkin - only found a price for 120gb = 170

Corsair = 280

Kingston = 300

Definately gettting bang for your buck.

27-02-2012, 17:48:36

Timbaloo
I'm not cheap, and i believe the intel 520 is one of if not the best SSD out there, but paying almost twice the money per GB compared to eg. the Mushkin Chronos is something to consider.

...

F*** me, i'll get the 520 240GB sooner or later anyway...

edit: @leerory: Companies have quite different demands in terms of reliability, as such they pay more for that than raw POWER!!!!111

27-02-2012, 18:15:33

kilobravo
Downloaded the new ssd test suite and tried it on my force gt Nice to have some other tests to compare with.

28-02-2012, 01:46:49

d6bmg
Gone through in last few minutes. Nice review.

28-02-2012, 06:32:56

Zaim
Very good review mate.

Glad I bought a Corsair Force GT 120GB the other week. Awesome drive imo.

28-02-2012, 08:49:31

Zeals
Great job, this is exactly the kind of review I am looking for when it comes to SSDs, having a whole batch of them tested at the same time. Any chance you can do the same for HDDs that are performance (7200rpm) and Eco (5400rpm) from Seagate, Samsung and WD?

28-02-2012, 17:50:33

MaXiMiZe
Great review. Makes it a helluva lot easier

13-03-2012, 14:16:08

Timbaloo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbaloo View Post

I'm not cheap, and i believe the intel 520 is one of if not the best SSD out there, but paying almost twice the money per GB compared to eg. the Mushkin Chronos is something to consider.

...

F*** me, i'll get the 520 240GB sooner or later anyway...
Forget that. Just found it for 299

15-03-2012, 22:55:21

C3mods
Current Prices in the US are:

Mushkin Chronos Deluxe - $279

Kingston HyperX Drive - $330

Kingston HyperX Kit - $350

Corsair Force GT - $330

Intel 520 Series retail- $370

Intel 520 Series OEM - $335

Price wise, the best is the Mushkin drive. As long as you don't mind getting a OEM package you can get the Intel for close to the same price as the Corsair and Kingston offerings. For the most part, most of us on here build our own computers and don't really need a retail package.

IMHO if I was going to pay extra for a drive I would get the HyperX kit, comes with the external case, screwdriver, migration software, sata and usb cables, and a 3.5" tray.

For me personally the Intel did perform the best, but I have really good luck out of corsair products and think I will continue to buy quality products they offer.

26-04-2012, 15:55:40

oshunluvr
To be fair to Mushkin; the review states "Mushkin Chronos" not "Mushkin Chronos Deluxe" which are different drives. The Deluxe model uses high-end Toshiba nand and performs better than the non-deluxe model tested here. I believe Mushkin is the only maker using the better nand in the smaller (down to 60gb) drives.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.