Samsung 840 Pro SSD Review

Anvil MB/s

Samsung 840 Pro SSD Review

Anvil MB/s

The Anvil all-in-one benchmark is now up to RC5, and we're not sure if the big drop in write performance is part of the change in software or that Anvil doesn't 'like' the 840 Pro. Certainly nothing we've seen so far would lead us to believe the write performance is this bad. The read score continues the fine results of previous tests, and the sequential write tests are fine. The small 4K QD16 write result is anything but good though.

Read

 

Write

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-12-2012, 05:00:29

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the next generation of SSDs from Samsung, the 840 Pro.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...151041819l.JPG


Continue Reading

21-12-2012, 07:39:50

PCTwin
I bought the 250GB basic a couple of weeks ago and was running comparisons with the Kingston HyperX and corsair GT and you've pipped me to the post again
I also found the same results with anvil and wandered what was going on
Brill review as always Bryan

22-12-2012, 04:04:23

gligoran
Great review! Are you planning to do one on the non-pro version of the 840?

I was thinking about buying the 830, but the sellers are apparently running out of stock. While 840 Pro seems to be a great drive, is it really worth the extra 60 compared to the non-pro 840 or the 30 over the 830? I'm taking about the 256/250GB versions.

22-12-2012, 12:48:11

Anthrax27
Nice review
Still waiting for my first SSD
hopefully in 2013 now.

23-12-2012, 05:28:16

PsyTech
That is synchronous or asynchronous NAND?

23-12-2012, 06:06:14

Spiderz
Lasts forever in a day (supposedly) and blisteringly fast? Think I found my SSD of choice when I eventually get one.

Good review as always

26-12-2012, 19:31:56

clearstand
Thanks for the review, ive been trying to find some good HD to replace my old one.

31-12-2012, 21:19:18

Diffracted
Great review. I currently have the 64GB 830 series for my OS which is very small when having 16 GB ram. I reduced the page file to 4GB and freed lots of GB by changing sleep settings, but I really don't want to have to mess with that in the first place. So I'm playing games from my 1tb WD green LOL. Thinking of upgrading my OS drive to 120GB and playing games from the 64GB one.

11-01-2013, 13:34:48

Ulchar
Sorta wish I didn't get a 830 256GB now so i could get this...

11-01-2013, 13:41:54

Diffracted
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulchar View Post
Sorta wish I didn't get a 830 256GB now so i could get this...
I just got the 120gb 840. you wont see much difference in the basic ones.

11-01-2013, 17:42:59

SuB
this review got me to buy 2 of the 256 gb 840 pros lurving them

17-01-2013, 07:04:06

Jaaaykx
Great review TTL!

19-01-2013, 00:08:45

Dragon_Orb
Love the review, it has helped me out immensely, so thank you. I was kind of undecided between this and the Corsair Neutron GTX but after reading both reviews I think I'll go with this one, in the Pro flavour.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.