Samsung 830 SATA3 SSD 256GB Review

ATTO and Conclusion

Samsung 830 SATA3 SSD 256GB Review

ATTO

The ATTO disk benchmark shows how quickly the 830 gets into its stride. You hardly have to increase the block size at all before it's maxing the read and write speeds, and the read speed in particular just keeps getting quicker and quicker.

Samsung 830 SATA3 SSD 256GB Review

Conclusion

To a certain degree you could look at the Samsung 830 and think that it's exceptional, just not quite as blistering as some of the Sandforce SSDs around. However pure performance doesn't tell the whole story.

For a start it looks gorgeous. We can't think of many SSDs we'd rather have at the heart of our systems than the Samsung 830. The attention to detail is exquisite from the packaging, to the outstanding Samsung Magician software, which covers every possible requirement you could have. The drive itself is robust and the all-black looks are sure to find favour with nearly everyone.

The consistency is great too. Only when handling really tiny blocks, 4K or below, does it lack a little bit of performance, but above that it really kicks into gear and rolls out some very high speeds indeed. It's not all about gaudy numbers though. As much as the Sandforce controller is the fastest on the planet, it's not the easiest and most stable controller to work with. The Samsung Y040 is far easier to live with on a daily basis and more robust.

Pricing is good too. Available for around £300 you're getting a huge amount of performance in a gorgeous looking, well designed drive with customer support from one of the biggest names on the planet. Only its abilities with very small file sizes and some slight lack of absolute speed at the top end stop it from receiving our Gold Award, and for this reason we're giving it our OC3D Silver Award. Although it's only a shade away from getting Gold.

   

Thanks to Samsung for providing the 830 for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-12-2011, 06:14:54

tinytomlogan


Samsung provide the NAND chips for nearly all the SSDs on the market. Cutting out the middle-man we look at a Samsung branded model.

Continue Reading

05-12-2011, 06:20:58

badtaylorx
i wonder if samsung can come up with a spinpoint equivalent ssd drive.....by that i mean achieve the same success with a low price and a good drive???

05-12-2011, 10:59:10

f0x.
I personally don't see samsung shifting alot of SSD's until the per gig ratio comes down alot, Personally I would spend up to 100 on a good boot drive, but I think 300 is asking a bit much. Especially when you consider a 80gig SSD and a terabyte can be had for the same money(even at today's stupid prices), and makes more sense for most people.

05-12-2011, 12:02:52

ionicle
id go for a 64 gb boot drive, and a 2tb storage drive

i dont see much point in any bigger than that in SSD until OS's get bigger ...

05-12-2011, 14:01:43

Solidarity
It's a terrific looking drive. I hope to see more from them

05-12-2011, 14:10:22

Timbaloo
No ancient storage media will ever see my system again

I just love the speed and the silence too much

05-12-2011, 18:20:40

Excalabur50
Samsung drives have come a long way it used to be a Seagate that was recommended for machines now it's Samsung I just hope with the changes in the company that the quality and reliability don't drop off.

05-12-2011, 18:29:58

CocaCola
Performance numbers aren't always needed for consideration when SSDs are so fast anyway. At least not to those of us who are carefree about the absolute best records in test results. For day to day performance, as long as it's stable and efficient is all that matters and not to mention that it looks fantastic too. It's definitely one to consider when looking at the many choices of SSDs out available now when upgrading from a regular hard drive. I'd definitely consider it as a future upgrade if it is available in the future.

18-03-2012, 18:09:09

PaalAndre
Does the Samsung have any kind of TRIM or BGC support when it is put in raid0?

18-03-2012, 18:38:53

FTLN
I thought Samsung got bought out by seagate ?

Or was that just for mechanical drives ?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.