Samsung 830 SATA3 SSD 256GB Review


Samsung 830 SATA3 SSD 256GB Review


Using the graphing feature of AIDA64 to test the ability of the controller, cache and NAND itself to deliver consistent results we think it's fair to say that in Linear testing they are unbelievable consistent. Even by SSD standards this is a very flat Read graph.

Samsung 830 SATA3 SSD 256GB Review  


Writing is even more consistent. Normally there are some dips as the controller switches between each memory chip, but with such a huge amount of cache onboard, and utilising nothing but Samsung products, the 830 is as flat as a pancake and as smooth as the butter you'd pour over them.

Samsung 830 SATA3 SSD 256GB Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-12-2011, 06:14:54


Samsung provide the NAND chips for nearly all the SSDs on the market. Cutting out the middle-man we look at a Samsung branded model.

Continue Reading

05-12-2011, 06:20:58

i wonder if samsung can come up with a spinpoint equivalent ssd that i mean achieve the same success with a low price and a good drive???

05-12-2011, 10:59:10

I personally don't see samsung shifting alot of SSD's until the per gig ratio comes down alot, Personally I would spend up to 100 on a good boot drive, but I think 300 is asking a bit much. Especially when you consider a 80gig SSD and a terabyte can be had for the same money(even at today's stupid prices), and makes more sense for most people.

05-12-2011, 12:02:52

id go for a 64 gb boot drive, and a 2tb storage drive

i dont see much point in any bigger than that in SSD until OS's get bigger ...

05-12-2011, 14:01:43

It's a terrific looking drive. I hope to see more from them

05-12-2011, 14:10:22

No ancient storage media will ever see my system again

I just love the speed and the silence too much

05-12-2011, 18:20:40

Samsung drives have come a long way it used to be a Seagate that was recommended for machines now it's Samsung I just hope with the changes in the company that the quality and reliability don't drop off.

05-12-2011, 18:29:58

Performance numbers aren't always needed for consideration when SSDs are so fast anyway. At least not to those of us who are carefree about the absolute best records in test results. For day to day performance, as long as it's stable and efficient is all that matters and not to mention that it looks fantastic too. It's definitely one to consider when looking at the many choices of SSDs out available now when upgrading from a regular hard drive. I'd definitely consider it as a future upgrade if it is available in the future.

18-03-2012, 18:09:09

Does the Samsung have any kind of TRIM or BGC support when it is put in raid0?

18-03-2012, 18:38:53

I thought Samsung got bought out by seagate ?

Or was that just for mechanical drives ?

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.