Pioneer DVR-112 DVD-RW Drive

Conclusion

Conclusion

Overall the Pioneer DRV-112 is a solid drive. It faired well throughout the tests and has proven itself more than capable of catering to those who prefer less noise. With the drive available in 3 different fascia plate colours it will match up to nearly any case that you would find today. The fact that it's IDE shouldn't deter you either, as it still beats the tested SATA drive in some aspects.


Circling the £20 mark from Komplett and Tekheads the price is on par with every other quality burner on the market.

Pros:

Quiet
Overall Performance is good
Good price

Cons:

Poor radom access time
Does give out some rather odd noises.



Recommended Award

Thanks to Pioneer for providing this sample.

Discuss in the Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-01-2007, 10:59:56

FarFarAway
Blu-Ray is in the news a lot recently so we thought we'd best take a look at it!

Pioneer kindly sent us the BDR-101A to take a look at

Link

17-01-2007, 11:27:46

FragTek
Cool preview Kemp, good work.

17-01-2007, 12:03:07

Rastalovich
Kemp, how are the files stored on the discs ? I mean as opposed to the regular DVD format of VIDEO_ folder with vital stuffs in it etc.

If it`s the same/similar, I don`t see why the resolutions are limited.

17-01-2007, 13:17:02

FarFarAway
Well I actually meant on movie discs mate rather than the burned versions

17-01-2007, 13:29:24

PP Mguire
You say lack of movies but arent their moveis in the stores that are blu-ray?

17-01-2007, 13:31:40

FarFarAway
Pardon? Of course there are movies. WTH are you on about?

17-01-2007, 13:35:05

PP Mguire
Nvm i get what your saying now. Sorry. I thought you where saying no movies to playback, not no playback software.

17-01-2007, 13:35:33

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
Nvm i get what your saying now. Sorry. I thought you where saying no movies to playback, not no playback software.
Ahhhhh

Confuzzled me there for a minute

17-01-2007, 13:38:10

PP Mguire
Yea me to, had to go back to the link to re-read. Whooooops

17-01-2007, 13:46:38

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
Yea me to, had to go back to the link to re-read. Whooooops
Good write up. Nice to see a quick little review.

17-01-2007, 13:55:39

FarFarAway
Glad ya liked it mate

17-01-2007, 14:48:15

dave87
Shame someone had to help him with the mathematics

Nice preview tho Kemp

17-01-2007, 14:53:36

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dave87'
Shame someone had to help him with the mathematics :P

Nice preview tho Kemp
What who?

OKok, Dave and Llwyd helped me understand the maths...well: jog my crusty old mind
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.