OCZ Vertex 120GB SATA2 SSD

Dummy File Creation & Peazip

Dummy File Creation

When performing manual "file copy" benchmarks, the performance of the drive that the files are being copied from can directly and negatively affect the results of the drive they are being copied to. This is something that needs to be taken into consideration when benchmarking high performance hard disks such as the OCZ Vertex SSD as it's performance easily exceeds that of a standard hard disk. Therefore, to test the write performance of each storage device a freeware utility called Dummy File Creator was used to generate files directly to each of the hard disks. The first 16GB benchmark writes a collection of files ranging in size from 1GB to 100KB, whereas the 100GB benchmark writes a single file of exactly that size to the disk.

Starting off with the 16Gb random files test, we can see that the Vertex manages to complete the creation over a minute faster than most of the drives, with the exception of the Velociraptor which still looses out by just under 50 seconds. In the 100GB file creation the gap widens further with the Vertex completing the benchmark in just under 14 minutes, whereas the Velociraptor takes just over 18 minutes and the Caviar Black more than 20 minutes.

 

Peazip De/Compression

To simulate the compression of various types of files, a folder containing a collection of 200 text documents filled with a combination of compressible and non-compressible contents in file sizes varying from 1KB to 100MB was copied to each of the hard disks. This folder was then compressed and decompressed using a utility called Peazip which provided an accurate "time taken" reading in milliseconds.

Interestingly there is very little difference between any of the file compression results indicating that possibly CPU performance was a limiting factor, or that there wasn't enough compressible files in the folder to give the disk drives a proper workout. The decompression results separate the drives a little more with the Vertex completing the task in just over 15 seconds with the Velociraptor and other drives finishing in between 22-24 seconds.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-04-2009, 16:57:28

JN
"With a read speed of 250MB/s, the OCZ Vertex serves up some serious speed....just not on a platter! Check out our review inside."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...192840868s.jpg

OCZ Vertex 120GB SATA2 SSD

11-04-2009, 17:01:54

PeterStoba
Coming to a server near you soon?

Nice speeds, the price still lets them down though

11-04-2009, 17:03:51

AntiHeroUK
Great review Jim. I'm glad to see that the stutter that plagued previous SSDs has been eradicated. The price is still a little high, but it's good to see OCZ progressing with their SSD line-up.

*Checks bank balance*

11-04-2009, 17:46:04

w3bbo
Good review mate.

Great performance but surely the cost needs to come down and the capacity up for them to become viable for the mainstream.

11-04-2009, 18:13:52

°TheMadDutchDude°
Fantastic to see them coming along like this. However, prices let me down hugely and therefore I won't be getting one for at least another year. I wish the prices would come down faster and become more main stream like 500GB HDDs

11-04-2009, 18:28:18

monkey7
Price is going down, continue that trend and we might all buy one next year Very nice review, thanks for the read.

11-04-2009, 18:30:42

nepas
wow!I did not know they cost that much,have just been reading a build log where some guy has bought 8 of these babys!!would love to have a few in raid for myself

11-04-2009, 18:31:52

°TheMadDutchDude°
8!? Wow, serious speeds there. I reckon he is going to be topping 1750MB/s read/write speeds! Imagine the boot/load times! *Drools....*

11-04-2009, 18:32:54

monkey7
I hope he's put that on a PCI-e controller? :s I don't think the average northbridge is able of keeping up with that.

11-04-2009, 19:06:46

°TheMadDutchDude°
SouthBridge is the one you're after mate, the NB controlls other things

He would be stupid to run it off an onboard RAID controller! As Monkey said, I hope it is on a dedicated RAID card!

11-04-2009, 19:07:17

Thanh55
This is awesome performance, I decide to get one for my benching machine then. Very nice review Jim.

11-04-2009, 19:11:25

nepas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
I hope he's put that on a PCI-e controller? :s I don't think the average northbridge is able of keeping up with that.
yeah he has a dell perc i5 or something

12-04-2009, 04:36:30

Luigi

replacing your OS hard disk with an SSD such as the Vertex instead of spending £300 on that 'new' graphics card just makes so much more sense.



A very very valid point, something I've been thinking about for quite a while..

12-04-2009, 05:48:05

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
A very very valid point, something I've been thinking about for quite a while..
Yeah for some reason I think quite a lot of people get stuck in the FPS trap. Upgrading to new graphics cards that make absolutely no difference to the games they play (other than fraps results) instead of investing in something like an SSD.

Yes it's expensive, yes it's 1/10th of the size of an F1 which costs 1/3rd of the price, but the performance is something you can see and appreciate.

12-04-2009, 05:57:06

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Yeah for some reason I think quite a lot of people get stuck in the FPS trap. Upgrading to new graphics cards that make absolutely no difference to the games they play (other than fraps results) instead of investing in something like an SSD.

Yes it's expensive, yes it's 1/10th of the size of an F1 which costs 1/3rd of the price, but the performance is something you can see and appreciate.
And.. you only need 60gb for vista and a fair few games, which is plenty.

The way I see it, my 260 can play all the games I want to play, so upgrading will have virtually no effect apart from emptying my wallet. An SSD on the other hand, will mean that pretty much everything will be noticeably faster- that's worth having

I liked the review Jim, but my wallet didn't

14-04-2009, 12:54:52

Bungral
Jimbo... Please tell me you aren't gonna keep it in the Mac???

14-04-2009, 15:09:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Jimbo... Please tell me you aren't gonna keep it in the Mac???
Lol nah...I thought about it....then i smacked my head against the wall.

14-04-2009, 19:33:15

Rastalovich
With respect, I seen the price and didn't think it was worth digesting any further.

@ £280 for 120g, even if it went at the full bus-capable speed, it's failed immediately.

£120 for 280g is still bad. Old physical drives are going to be rolling out 2Tb drives before we know it.

In all honesty, by the time price comes down, or the tech is overlooked by something more sensible, the performance figures of the product will be completely different.

15-04-2009, 05:16:05

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Lol nah...I thought about it....then i smacked my head against the wall.
Good man.... We would have had to part ways in our friendship otherwise!

15-04-2009, 11:21:02

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Good man.... We would have had to part ways in our friendship otherwise!
Friendship remains intact. I'm waiting for them to hit retailers so I can buy another one and RAID them for some super sexy speeds

On another note, the Macbook comes out of suspend in 0.00001 seconds anyway. So no need to reduce boot times

16-04-2009, 17:17:12

Bungral
Pah.. Suspend smuhspend...

03-05-2009, 03:20:23

kimandsally
How good do you think the other drives in the range would be? We can see OCZ rate them differently but the ratings on this drive are different to reality.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.