OCZ Vertex 120GB SATA2 SSD

CrystalDiskMark & PCMark Vantage

CrystalDiskMark

CrystalDiskMark is a free utility maintained by Japanese company Crystal Dew World. CrystalDiskMark evaluates the performance of your hard drives based on two tests – a sequential read/write test and a random read/write test. You can select the drive to test, the number of test and the size of the data to test which can be 50MB, 100MB, 500MB and 1000MB. The results displayed below have been conducted using 5 rounds of the 500MB test.

OCZ Vertex
CrystalDiskMark OCZ
WDC Caviar Black
CrystalDiskMark Caviar
WDC Velociraptor
CrystalDiskMark Velociraptor
Samsung F1
Crystaldiskmark F1 

A pattern is certainly beginning to emerge as the Vertex once again makes fun of the mechanical drives in the sequential and 512k read results beating them by around 100MB/s. The write results are slightly more evenly matched with the Velociraptor and F1 drives sharing almost identical scores, but the Vertex one again leading the pack by around 20MB/s.

Based upon the 5K chunk results produced from ATTO over on the previous page, we was half expecting the Vertex to fall short in the 4K CrystalDiskMark testing. However, once again the Vertex reigned supreme with an absolutely huge advantage over its opponents.

 

PCMark Vantage

PCMark Vantage may sound like potentially the most 'synthetic' benchmark on the market, but this couldn't be further from the truth. In a whitepaper published by Futuremark (developers of 3DMark and PCMark) they describe how PCMark mimics actual PC usage by performing application launches, web browsing, video playback, photo editing, file searching, and other day-to-day tasks. This potentially makes PCMark Vantage the most 'real world' benchmark of them all, and therefore we will be breaking down the HDD Suite benchmark into its various sections in the graphs to give you the whole picture.

The graph really speaks volumes about how much better the Vertex is than it's mechanical ancestors. While the Caviar, Velociraptor and F1 drives fight for their positions, the Vertex rockets into the lead offering performance almost 10x higher in certain areas of the benchmark. Keeping in mind that PCMark is one of the most comprehensive 'real-life' benchmarks used in our testing, it really does look like the faithful old hard drive has spun its last disk. 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-04-2009, 16:57:28

JN
"With a read speed of 250MB/s, the OCZ Vertex serves up some serious speed....just not on a platter! Check out our review inside."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...192840868s.jpg

OCZ Vertex 120GB SATA2 SSD

11-04-2009, 17:01:54

PeterStoba
Coming to a server near you soon?

Nice speeds, the price still lets them down though

11-04-2009, 17:03:51

AntiHeroUK
Great review Jim. I'm glad to see that the stutter that plagued previous SSDs has been eradicated. The price is still a little high, but it's good to see OCZ progressing with their SSD line-up.

*Checks bank balance*

11-04-2009, 17:46:04

w3bbo
Good review mate.

Great performance but surely the cost needs to come down and the capacity up for them to become viable for the mainstream.

11-04-2009, 18:13:52

°TheMadDutchDude°
Fantastic to see them coming along like this. However, prices let me down hugely and therefore I won't be getting one for at least another year. I wish the prices would come down faster and become more main stream like 500GB HDDs

11-04-2009, 18:28:18

monkey7
Price is going down, continue that trend and we might all buy one next year Very nice review, thanks for the read.

11-04-2009, 18:30:42

nepas
wow!I did not know they cost that much,have just been reading a build log where some guy has bought 8 of these babys!!would love to have a few in raid for myself

11-04-2009, 18:31:52

°TheMadDutchDude°
8!? Wow, serious speeds there. I reckon he is going to be topping 1750MB/s read/write speeds! Imagine the boot/load times! *Drools....*

11-04-2009, 18:32:54

monkey7
I hope he's put that on a PCI-e controller? :s I don't think the average northbridge is able of keeping up with that.

11-04-2009, 19:06:46

°TheMadDutchDude°
SouthBridge is the one you're after mate, the NB controlls other things

He would be stupid to run it off an onboard RAID controller! As Monkey said, I hope it is on a dedicated RAID card!

11-04-2009, 19:07:17

Thanh55
This is awesome performance, I decide to get one for my benching machine then. Very nice review Jim.

11-04-2009, 19:11:25

nepas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
I hope he's put that on a PCI-e controller? :s I don't think the average northbridge is able of keeping up with that.
yeah he has a dell perc i5 or something

12-04-2009, 04:36:30

Luigi

replacing your OS hard disk with an SSD such as the Vertex instead of spending £300 on that 'new' graphics card just makes so much more sense.



A very very valid point, something I've been thinking about for quite a while..

12-04-2009, 05:48:05

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
A very very valid point, something I've been thinking about for quite a while..
Yeah for some reason I think quite a lot of people get stuck in the FPS trap. Upgrading to new graphics cards that make absolutely no difference to the games they play (other than fraps results) instead of investing in something like an SSD.

Yes it's expensive, yes it's 1/10th of the size of an F1 which costs 1/3rd of the price, but the performance is something you can see and appreciate.

12-04-2009, 05:57:06

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Yeah for some reason I think quite a lot of people get stuck in the FPS trap. Upgrading to new graphics cards that make absolutely no difference to the games they play (other than fraps results) instead of investing in something like an SSD.

Yes it's expensive, yes it's 1/10th of the size of an F1 which costs 1/3rd of the price, but the performance is something you can see and appreciate.
And.. you only need 60gb for vista and a fair few games, which is plenty.

The way I see it, my 260 can play all the games I want to play, so upgrading will have virtually no effect apart from emptying my wallet. An SSD on the other hand, will mean that pretty much everything will be noticeably faster- that's worth having

I liked the review Jim, but my wallet didn't

14-04-2009, 12:54:52

Bungral
Jimbo... Please tell me you aren't gonna keep it in the Mac???

14-04-2009, 15:09:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Jimbo... Please tell me you aren't gonna keep it in the Mac???
Lol nah...I thought about it....then i smacked my head against the wall.

14-04-2009, 19:33:15

Rastalovich
With respect, I seen the price and didn't think it was worth digesting any further.

@ £280 for 120g, even if it went at the full bus-capable speed, it's failed immediately.

£120 for 280g is still bad. Old physical drives are going to be rolling out 2Tb drives before we know it.

In all honesty, by the time price comes down, or the tech is overlooked by something more sensible, the performance figures of the product will be completely different.

15-04-2009, 05:16:05

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Lol nah...I thought about it....then i smacked my head against the wall.
Good man.... We would have had to part ways in our friendship otherwise!

15-04-2009, 11:21:02

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Good man.... We would have had to part ways in our friendship otherwise!
Friendship remains intact. I'm waiting for them to hit retailers so I can buy another one and RAID them for some super sexy speeds

On another note, the Macbook comes out of suspend in 0.00001 seconds anyway. So no need to reduce boot times

16-04-2009, 17:17:12

Bungral
Pah.. Suspend smuhspend...

03-05-2009, 03:20:23

kimandsally
How good do you think the other drives in the range would be? We can see OCZ rate them differently but the ratings on this drive are different to reality.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.